December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Bieb-Ar and the Chamber of Eternity

by Cambrian_Man - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This 'classic gem' from 1988's hero bears a striking similarity to a certain pop singer, don't you think? There's something fishy going on here. I found it at a garage sale and ported it to HTML5 for your enjoyment.

Unfortunately, the attack button is broken and you only get one life, but that's how it goes. I found a cheat code, though, and apparently there are more. Arrows move, X jumps, and if you hold down C and tap 'up up up up' you get a few seconds of high jumping. If you really want a challenge, press C at the start, then you only get one hit and if you die, you're sent to the beginning of the game. Brutal.

Known bugs:
Pausing the game doesn't reset the timer on the fireballs.
Restarting after completing the game crashes it. But really, why would you want to? Just reload the page.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#184Graphics3.64
#271Audio2.95
#275Mood3.11
#312Humor2.72
#511Innovation2.90
#536Fun2.81
#584Overall2.91
#820Theme2.27
#1571Coolness22%

Comments

rezoner says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:51pm

Great art and arcade machine concept. Pretty confusing and actually you could fix that sword button (:

xgeovanni says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:43pm

Couldn't figure out the invincibility code.

IHateATMFees says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:01pm

Got stuck in section 2...spent awhile trying to figure out the invincible code to no avail...was there a clue I missed?

01010111 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:38pm

Pretty great game, entering in codes to progress is a fun concept.

somepx says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:48pm

Crazy and fun - you're great Cambrian_Man! ;)

Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:57am

Funny game ! The cheat mechanics is a very good idea ;)

Nice job !

Dr. Mo says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:59am

My friend and I both had trouble getting this game to run. Also, a cheat code isn't a cheat code if it's mandatory to beat the game. On the bright side, good job pulling off a tile engine and scrolling in HTML5. That's hard!

Cambrian_Man says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:14pm

Dr. Mo, can you describe what was wrong and what browser/OS you were using? The tile/scrolling is all Phaser, really. I do realize that it's not REALLY a cheat code, it's just part of the conceit that this is a Japanese arcade game of an American cartoon from 1988 starring Justin Bieber. ;)

greytram says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Cool graphics! Reminds me of Barbarian/Lionheart :-)
And you managed tu put Bieber in it!

xrm0 says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 12:25pm

Great graphics

Jan 4, 2014 @ 4:24am

Really nice graphics! I included this game in my Ludum Dare 28 compilation video, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/UY85Y9qNh3Q

loxo says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 6:40pm

I like the graphics, the audio and the idea with the cheat codes. But couldn't figure out invincibility. The game is pretty challenging I think, but maybe I missed something. After several deaths I gave up.

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 10:27pm

I like the playable character in this.

Jezzamon says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 12:55am

Wow, I really like the concept of this! It's fun! Don't fit with the theme hugely though. You really made the game look like an arcade game, too.

I wonder what the invincibility code is...

Jezzamon says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 12:56am

Oh, I just figured it out! :D
Right after I beat it

Xanjos says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 1:22am

Loved the retro arcade presentation and the rather clever use of "cheat codes" to progress through the game.

Alex Higgins says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 1:33am

Really cool mechanic! Great grunting! A bit too hard though, I thought (although I admit platformers were always my worst genre).

Benjamin says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 2:02am

I finished it ! You really have a nice shadow-of-the-beast-ish mood on this one. The music is great I love your entry, I just wish you had more time to animate those scary monsters...

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]