December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Polytonia Music

by Robinerd - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Ever dreamt about composing a masterpiece?

Use your great sense of timing to progress the music. Don't get a single key wrong as you keep on adding new instruments.

Instructions:
Use left and right mouse buttons to click or hold the yellow targets, as shown by the in-game guide.
Click a target when a ball is inside to play the note.
Play all notes in a streak without any single miss to unlock the next instrument.
Complete all instruments to finish the masterpiece.

Edit 2013-12-17 14:30 GMT:
Changed two glitchy notes in the drums which were very hard to pass.

Edit 2013-12-21 8:40 GMT:
Fixed a bug that caused incorrect note timing on some computers.

------ More music by me: ------
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UevKO2A1Ukc&list=PL8A7AA96C850C5E3B



Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#4Audio4.20
#47Fun3.72
#105Overall3.65
#157Mood3.37
#237Innovation3.30
#298Humor2.76
#504Graphics2.92
#613Theme2.66

Comments

DJLad97 says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 4:21pm

Really, enjoyed that. Not sure if you're adding it but a scoring system would be cool. (Did you make the song your self - I like it)

Robinerd says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 11:51pm

Hey, glad to hear you like it, and thanks for trying it out! Scoring system could be an option, but so far I'm thinking of it more like an experience rather than a competitive element. But who knows!
And the song is my work, started to work on it at the right beginning of this ludum dare, and recorded in musagi. And I'm still working on more parts.
Thanks again!

Cosrnos says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:05am

I love that song! I couldn't get past the drum sounds though because I would click too quickly D: I like it though and I like the idea of playing all instruments and just looping them!

Masadow says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:35am

Very good ! The masterpiece is great ! I really enjoyed going through the end :)

However, it was a bit frustrating to wait until the end of the instrument when you missed the first note ^^

SilentBunny says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:52am

great tunes

mcgraw says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:52am

That was cool! Great work!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:00am

The most beautifully frustrating game I have played yet. Oh, the slow decent into madness upon missing an early note. I laughed. I cried. I nearly threw my mouse. A-, I get the theme tie but I don't feel it is that strong.

Bloated Hippo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:04am

I really enjoyed this as well!

mactinite says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:10am

Oh my, this game was awesome. For me it was very hard. But I couldn't stop playing because the tune was so wonderful. Excellent job. :)

ashen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:10am

Very clever and tailor made for a mobile/tablet version. When the accompanying music starts it gets really addictive and relaxing. Excellent.

Artguy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:44am

Damn, this is possibly the most fun rythm game I've ever played. Please do continue working on this, I'd love some more songs. Also a mobile version would be fantastic.

jamiedoughty says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:45am

Great fun!

Tao says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:54am

Thoroughly enjoyable.

kookoon says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:58am

Feel like to be Rob Hubbard.
You and your game are awesome!

Thein says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:06am

As a big fan of rhythm games, I really enjoyed this! The controls were challenging and fun. Good work!

feizenbara says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:10am

Nice game, really frustrating sometimes, but in a good way. I wish you put some real music notes on the blue/pink circles :-)

TheCze says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:21pm

Excellent game! I really like the idea, artstyle and audio. Pretty tough song though!

Diamonde says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:22pm

This is perfect. Super polished and quite challenging gameplay. The song is indeed a masterpiece :D

Lustdante says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:00pm

Simply marvelous.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:12pm

Oh jesus I have no reflex...
Took me forever to get past the second level. Very satisfying to get it right, but right after the purple ones just murdered me.
Awesome game!

scriptorum says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:26pm

Very nice! Really enjoyed this. Good tune. The level of challenge ramps up very well. Great job.

anvoz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:50pm

Interesting game. Nice sounds.

Gravedrinker says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:32pm

What a nice idea. I love rhythm games and this feels very nice when you pull it off. The challenge also ramps up well.

ossah says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:42pm

Cool idea. Really enjoyed this. Nice and tough! Loved the seamless music integration.

LatFoued says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:46pm

I love rythm games, and this is pretty good. Good job sir

jillytot says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:36pm

Cute. I think it would be good to add different input alternatives to the mouse, unless mouse movement had more to do with the way you interacted with the notes.

stenol says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:18pm

Awsome game. I enjoy it. It's hard sometime but it's a pretty fine game. GRatz.

Nick Weihs says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:51pm

Pretty cool, programmatic music works really well. I had some trouble click on things though, even in the first couple of segments

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:07pm

Fun choice of music and excellent difficulty progression, well done!

Arkrothe says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:30pm

I liked the gameplay, and the 8 bit music is also pretty nice, but i think the difficulty is quite unforgiving, and the high iteration between two plays of the level disengaged me from the game.

JALgames says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:05pm

Like that game. But graphics are a bit pixelish (not bad in general, but it doesn't look pixel-artish eigther but just rendered in low-resolution). Sound and music are nice, although i didn't make it through the second level

Robinerd says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:55pm

Thanks everyone for your good feedback and suggestions! I hope to keep on working on this and add more songs and a hotkey to restart the current level. Will also experiment with alternate input methods and improved graphics. Thanks!

Hyde Wyvern says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:10am

WOAAAAAA I the funniest game I've played so far!! I loved it, it's like nothing I've played before! fantastic, I got really involved on my masterpiece

JavadocMD says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:54am

Loved the quill-and-parchment aesthetic!

gmfk07 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:45am

Quite an interesting and fun music game! The one-life system makes it difficult, but because you start at the beginning of the short little tune, it doesn't take long to catch up :3

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:18am

Verry Cool and much fun to play it! It's raining stars for you :)

ian_snyder says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:54pm

Awesome entry, very original. I'm a sucker for music games, and even though I'm terrible at this I think you've done a really amazing job here. Well done!

michail says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Awesome! Great concept and execution, very hard at the end but the final song was worth it. The best entry I have played so far :)

Zerkruemler says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:33am

Really great game! I like it very much. It also seems to be very solid developed and stable.
Some ideas from my side:
I would like to have keyboard control. Mouse clicking (and moving) is not my idea of a rythm game
I don't understand the difference of up and down. At least the music does not reflect different pitch levels.
The difficulty is quite hard, but I think this is ok to have a challenge.
Really good work!

Muciojad says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:21pm

It's pretty cool and challenging, but is frustrating when bullet escapes me even though I click without interruption ;)
Overall it's very good music-based game, great job ;)

radmars says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:29am

This is awesome! I love it when people do rhythm games for LD. Pretty brutal that you have to get it perfect though :P

Jgpicatoste says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:08am

It's really really cool (I liked the graphics and presentation a lot), but I think you could have worked some more on the concept. I can't rate this the highest of all rhythm games in this LD edition, but it's surely the one who has the most potential.

Diptoman says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:37am

Cool rythm game, enjoyed it. Though a restart button would have been really nice :|
The art's cool too. And of course, I liked the music very much!

GFM says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 12:17am

My main complaint about this is game is that it felt random to me.
The notes were indeed on the right time, but being a long or a blue/purple note didn't seen to matter, nor the stave on which the note was. Being a LD game, I can see many reasons for those... but since it's a rhythm game, with great focus on it's music, I felt annoyed by those facts...

The song was nice, though. :)

Jan 6, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Nice Idea! Really challenging and a bit frustrating... especially after the second round! Sometimes i thought i was sure that i got my clicking right but still the notes just went by...

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]