December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Unicycle Messenger

by Sanguine - 48 Hour Compo Entry

About:

In Unicycle Messenger you experience the flow of unicycling in cities.

The point is to earn as much money as possible so that you can unlock fancy new unicycles.

Controls:

WASD/Arrow keys to move.
R to go to start position if you're stuck in a wall somehow.
3 to toggle 3D effect, do this if the game is lagging for you.
Escape to quit.

Made in Game Maker 8.1

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#74Audio3.53
#185Fun3.38
#262Mood3.13
#354Overall3.18
#451Graphics3.00
#475Innovation2.95
#882Theme2.10
#1231Coolness42%

Comments

rubna says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:07pm

Entrancing game! Loved the soundtrack :D Also dancing buildings. Getting stuck in walls is kind of a bummer, but not too big of a problem, really. Good job man :P

Capitals says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:50pm

Nice soundtrack and graphics.

mortl8324 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:03pm

My highest rated game at the moment. Really fun. Getting high speeds felt amazing. wish there was a bit more space to play around at high speeds.

ludotrix says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:13pm

Controls are a bit finicky and the zooming effect could be smoother. I like the audio.

X-0r says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:17pm

My favorite one: The off-road (almost extreme) version :P
And of course the final one... I just loved going off-track as shortcuts ^_^

I never coded in GameMaker, but you might want to check the x/y speed of your unicycle as it crashes into a building - and let it bounce off with that speed instead of getting it stuck...

Anyhow, was fun to play :)

KeyMaster says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:24pm

Really cool game! Good graphics and really nice soundtrack (reminded me of dustforce). Sadly the controls were very difficult and I got stuck in walls often. Otherwise, really cool game that I'd like to see more of.

Rothens says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:25pm

It's a very entertaining entry. I loved the soundtrack.

PTSnoop says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:05pm

The soundtrack and graphical style really served together to create a good atmosphere. One or two minor quibbles (I got stuck on buildings a few times, and I'm not sure what it is that You Only Get One of... wheels on your unicycle?) but overall, a very good game.

funselektor says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:04am

I liked it, the game has a clean simple look.
For fixing that getting stuck problem (assuming you're in Box2D), you could just change the restitution value of boxes to stop the unicycle from being halfway though.

Moosefly says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:11am

I just had to play this, since we also thought about making a unicycle game :D. My only gripes with it are the fact that the camera is a bit quirky (especially when going off-road) and that the physics are a bit wonky (I would've loved to see how a Drag Race Unicycle would've fared against one of those cars!). Good job!

Dr. Mo says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:11am

"Makes me seasick. This camera is a sin against God." -Jdetan

The way the buildings bob up and down like that...I'm sorry, but this game actually gave me a headache too. Good job submitting a game, but this really didn't play well at all.

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:37pm

This is a really nice entry; just moving the unicycle around is a joy, and the soundtrack is excellent.

pighead10 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:52pm

Got stuck in walls a lot. Felt a bit cramped at high speeds, but was otherwise fun. Where was the theme?

pighead10 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:54pm

Got stuck in walls a lot. Felt a bit cramped at high speeds, but was otherwise fun. Cheap use of the theme though.

natpat says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:01pm

Once I got a grip on the quirky camera and the controls, this game became a joy to play. Managing to get from one building to another, smoothly gliding round corners whilst avoiding the pesky cars and buildings - that was fun. If the building collision had been improved it would have been perfect.

Azzar says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:55pm

It's amazing how such simple gameplay becomes so addicting and engaging. Getting stuck in building is a tad frustrating at times, but that is somewhat fixed by the restart button. Leaves a really nice impression

mmickyman says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:35pm

Good fast feeling, I like that the building are moving, a little psychedelic vibe.
The camera could give motion sicness I guess ahah.

Atridas says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 3:21pm

Nice concept. A little hard to control and you get stuck a little too often, but good overall.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]