December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Button Metroidvania

by mokesmoe - 48 Hour Compo Entry

R - Respawn
Esc - Quit

Any other key to do everything else.

Made with Gamemaker Source.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#9Innovation4.14
#71Theme3.75
#247Overall3.32
#297Fun3.18
#822Graphics2.21
#840Mood2.22

Comments

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:17am

Interesting concept. The difficulty ramps up way too fast and becomes a bit frustrating. But I'm sure if I was more skilled I could have enjoyed it more!

Kettlecorn says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:29am

Overall pretty great! A lot of clever mechanics here, and it is undoubtedly a one-button metroidvania. I did give up eventually, but I played for about 20-30 minutes first.

Nice job!

ob6160 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:26pm

Very fun game, got me caught on for a while :D

cjacobwade says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:08pm

I got stuck at the part where you have to jump up a bunch of single blocks. It's fun, but I could never really got a good handle on the controls.

Venks says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:26am

I do like me a good challenge. Took a few tries, but I think I did pretty nicely after some time learning the game.

cudabear says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:28am

This is a unique take on a platformer. It's very difficult, but I was able to make some progress. It would be nice if there was some audio to provide feedback when actions are performed.

CNIAngel says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:28am

A interesting ans strange way to interpret the theme. It got hella weird to play the farther I got in it. Good job overall.

Photon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:25am

Pretty nifty idea here! It actually works moderately well. I ended up quitting on the one part with all the one block platforms, but all in all you manage to accomplish a lot with only a single button. Even if its a little cryptic at times, still a great job on this game!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:47am

Good game! I managed to beat it, but it was a bit frustrating.

I would change the bullets so that they fire whatever direction you're going when they're fully charged, rather than the direction you're going when they start to charge. Sound would have been nice, too. But still, good job!

TheWhiteLlama says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:48am

The concept is very innovative. I like it. Some parts of the map get very frustrating and I gave up after some minutes trying to get over the large canyonc with lava on the ground.

Moosefly says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:05am

Bah, played for quite long (even got the thingy at the end of the single-block-nightmare-climb) and then jumped down into the lava at the four single block jump part. Of course I had forgotten about the R button and just closed the game thinking I couldn't escape the situation...

Even though I'm not really a fan of platformers, I am intrigued by single button games and this one managed to give the mechanic a run for its money! Well done!

The graphics were really barebones and the game could've used some sound effects and maybe music, but overall I still liked it.

Bruno Massa says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:36am

high points on innovation!

Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:00am

I love the idea, but I personally became so frustratingly confused. Haha.
Really cool though. :D

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:21am

Interesting gameplay! Thanks for the fluid physics.

Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:32am

Very interesting, but REALLY hard game. I really like the concept, but I ended up raging when the section with the one-block wide platforms showed up.

Dec 24, 2013 @ 10:42am

Interesting experimental concept! Got me playing for a while, but man, that's hard! :)

01rafael says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 4:24am

exactly what I like! Just one button to controll evetything! take 5 stars! )))

Jan 4, 2014 @ 10:43pm

At first I thought this was a joke game, but once I got a couple of powerups I realised that this is a pretty cool idea. It is incredibly hard, but I can't tell whether that's bad game design or just me being stupid.

Graphics are a bit basic, and some sounds would be fun, but it's a very cool concept. High scores on innovation and theme. I might come back to it later to see whether I can get any further.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]