December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Story of Your Life

by MatrixBai - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Every one have only one life and there are many choices. So I create this game, simple UI based game.

I cut some planed features ( family, special event) and narrative choice feedback because out of energy and poor English written skill. The music is from Rheyne ( https://soundcloud.com/rheyne/rheyne-ambient-jam-3 ).

Thank you guys for providing such good suggestions, see you next LD and I'll make a more interesting game :-)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#414Audio2.68
#483Mood2.78
#521Theme2.82
#538Innovation2.85
#566Humor2.09
#806Overall2.61
#926Fun2.09
#956Graphics1.81

Comments

MrTedders says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:47am

Very nice story. A maybe a few less presses between dialouge

ViliX says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:50am

It was quite funny and inovative.

Tyro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:52am

Interesting. There are a few typos (like "woking" instead of "working"), but it does what it's supposed to. Great effort.

Bloated Hippo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:54am

I had a pretty sad ending.

ehtd says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:56am

Nice game. With more choices it could be better.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:09am

It had great storyline.

caranha says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:31am

Thanks for rating my game. Can you provide a binary (download) version of your game please?

Unfortunately, the Unity web plugin does not work yet on unix, but the downloadable version does :-)

I'll come again later. Cheers!

Lacutis says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:44am

Really interesting take on the theme. Played it a few times just to see some of the different outcomes.

Mekuri says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:25am

Interesting idea, although it quickly just turned into clicking buttons. I liked the music, it added a nice mood. The game felt solid, except for a few typos and such.
Nice work.

Dmitrix says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:43am

Woah... interesting. Makes you think about life.

KEFIR says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:54am

Linux version works perfectly. Very interesting idea and beautiful music.

drkrunk says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:59am

I liked this one, it was interesting and kind of insightful. Very good job, I like games that make you think.

Fenixin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:08am

The mood in this game is great. Innovative. Make you think a little bit.

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:22pm

The background music adds much to the mood, really well-chosen, I like it. However, the whole process is a bit repetitive, maybe adding some random event will make the gameplay more dramatic.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:20am

Wow, that really put me into a pensive mood. Good job!

caranha says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:33pm

Thanks for the linux build!

That was an interesting game, but maybe a bit too ambitious for Ludum dare? The problem of these simulations is that they are heavily dependent on the interface and the balancing of the options.

One thing I would do to remedy this a bit more easily is to make the game MUCH shorter - So the player can try to explore different directions more easily.

Also having the attributes available as numbers, instead of energy bars, maybe would attract more engagement from the player - as it is now it is a bit hard to get engaged.

Thanks for the game, and see you next LD!

steamgirl says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:57pm

Good attempt and a good idea, but it was a bit boring to play, (you probably had loads more stuff you wanted to put in). It's like a really trimmed down version of Kudos, a game which I've enjoyed a lot in the past. Good job and getting it finished! :)

Lancelot Gao says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:31am

i dead as a performer with some friends and little money. And i like the ending :P

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:08pm

Too close to reality. The truth hurts!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]