December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ring of Oil

by quadtree - 48 Hour Compo Entry

*** IMPORTANT ***
Be sure to unzip all the files in the ZIP file in the same place so the JAR can find the "robots" subfolder. Simply running the JAR from inside the ZIP file will cause a crash when you click "Tournament" in game.

Enter a single robot into the Ring of Oil Tournament, and try to survive all the rounds. Remember, there are no repairs or rearms, so whatever you go in with is all you have. If you want, you can also try your hand at creating new robots in the workshop.

Controls:
A-D/Arrow Keys: Move left or right
1-9: Activate module groups (configurable in the editor)
Mouse: Aim arms, if you have any
Escape: Go back
Return: Go forwards

This game requires a recent Java Runtime. One can be downloaded from www.java.com if you don't have one.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#97Fun3.56
#108Innovation3.61
#134Overall3.56
#477Audio2.56
#493Graphics2.94
#816Theme2.28
#1259Coolness41%

Comments

MrBlade says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:05am

Cannot play, upon clicking enter after reading the text on the tournament option, the game closes. Seems polished.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:00am

Crashes when I press start "enter to being"

aneeslol says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:32am

I probably spent way to much time playing this...hilarious fun.

flatgub says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:28am

I really enjoyed it, but the way punching a blade caused my arm to fall off was irritating. I liked the editor too!
-Flatgub

mortus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:05pm

I just keep playing this game instead of rating the others! You are a devil! My favorite game so far, without a question!

If you'd managed a text export/import feature for player designed robots, it would be a hit!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:33pm

In the second round things went into a jumble and became unplayable.

Toby Simone says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:39pm

Great game! I played it for a while and then realized how long I had been crushing robots :D! One thing though, I won and the robots freaked out for about 3 seconds, and then I had to fight again. A bug, perhaps?

Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:24am

I kept playing the robot turnies. Very addicting fun game, however I didnt really build any robots... XD I included this game in my Ludum Dare Compilation series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/EqAXn91dGLM

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:43am

Fun game!

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:00am

Well, sometimes the robot break just after being dropped on the floor. Most of the time I've just won the battle on points after doing no damage to the opponent.. weird

mortus says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:20am

If you do care, here's my collection of favorite robots, you can win most rounds with them.

Rapid Shooter:
http://img14.imageshack.us/img14/5498/oi78.png

Static Slasher:
http://img837.imageshack.us/img837/7383/inly.png

Despite its name and lack of wheels, static slasher is quite mobile actually and is yet to be beaten at least once in my experience. The other robot still loses sometimes against heavy-shooting opponents.

minibutmany says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:13pm

Yeah, the game crashes for me too when I press "Enter to begin"

minibutmany says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:22pm

Ok I got it to work!
This game has some serious bugs,
but with some work this could be seriously awesome!
Great job dude!

quadtree says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:28pm

Thanks for the comments. To answer a couple questions:

The crash when pressing enter "to begin" will happen when you don't unzip the JAR along with its data files into the same place. When you start the tournament, it tries to seed your opponents but can't find any. If I had it to do over I'd probably have it display a more descriptive error message.

The super-speed matches are AI-vs-AI matches. Since it is a 8 way single elimination tournament, there are 7 matches, 4 quarterfinals, 2 semifinals and 1 final. You can only ever play in one of each, for a total of 3, so the remaining 4 matches are played in 64x speed.

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:39pm

Love the sound effects of metal upon metal. Would be cool to control the arms with up/down rather than mouse, it was hard to swing the mace / blade with any force.

rnlf says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:43pm

This is amazingly complex for a compo entry. If you kill the bugs in it, it might become something great.

Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:42am

I love the spastic, between-battle cutscenes.

f7f5 says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:56am

This is a great job for 48hrs. I finally managed to win a tournament with plenty of luck and after playing for too long :)

You just need to polish the gameplay in order to have hit: sometimes robots would rebound after being dropped and fall on their side, sometimes I'd just win without any contact, and sometimes I'd get shot to pieces before I could do anything.

Nice work with the graphics and audio as well!

mcapraro says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 6:31am

great job! love the concept

KEFIR says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 6:35am

I running it on Linux and it crushed when I hit enter after instructions.. too bad it looks very interesting...

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]