December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Last Minute Christmas Chopping

by Notch - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A game made in Dart using WebGL and Web Audio. Should run fine on most modern browsers, but you need to manually enable WebGL in Safari to get it to run.

Santa has forgotten about Christmas, and needs to gather wood for his elves, so they can make the gifts in time. But Santa only has ONE minute to do so!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#95Humor3.44
#120Graphics3.83
#158Overall3.50
#186Mood3.31
#197Fun3.35
#384Innovation3.06
#432Audio2.65
#494Theme2.87
#1795Coolness0%

Comments

GravityScore says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 6:15pm

Fun and well themed for this time of year! Had great fun playing it.

ArthurMaker says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 6:16pm

Awesome game fun whould rate 1000/1000p

Dec 15, 2013 @ 6:18pm

Great game, definitely going to check out Dart as I've been looking into doing web games & JS isn't cutting it for me.

ashen says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 6:24pm

What a fun game, excellent presentation! For some reason my arrow keys didn't show instructions the first time I played so I didn't know what I was doing. Next time they did, and got the idea.

Really like the lighting effects, getting darker as you go and the torch lighting at the end. Nice and smooth too, Chrome only at 9% on my desktop PC. Straightforward use of the actual theme, but the snowy Christmas theme is really great.

psychopsam says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 6:53pm

Truly amazing. Like an Atari game mixed with Space Harrier. Awesome work. Well done.

Elite6809 says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 6:57pm

Looks the part but gameplay-wise isn't great. You need a great deal of luck with the random generation to get anywhere above 700 points before the minute is up. The tentacles? Goop? stuff seems a little out of place as well and I'm not quite sure what benefit collecting it does. However it is fun to play a bit and it's very impressive that it's done in Dart and HTML5.

Notch says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 7:29pm

The tentacles are because of Cthulhu, of course. To use the goop, and to get closer to being able to beat the game, hold the jump button and tap the chop button.

CaptainNakou says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 8:40pm

The game and the graphics are really cool.
But I think the concept is not that original.
But you're still the best programmer I've ever seen in my entire life.

Flyinpig5 says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 9:22pm

I think it looks great, but it's basically spamming S while using arrow keys

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Hahahaha, very cool!
I played it alteast 10 times, and only won a couple, it's pretty time consuming.

The art is fantastic, you always do a good job on art :)

"This is Player. Santa used up Player's time. But Player is cool with that"

hahahaha, nice, nice.
-ENDESGA

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 10:32pm

Compelling. The controls felt very tight and nicely tuned with a real pop to them. Very readable graphics and the sound adds a sense of gravitas to proceedings. Jolly and complete, thanks!

Donutttt says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 10:55pm

Always nice to see a Christmas game :) the controls are easy and the game is fun... and very addictive.

dbro says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 11:00pm

Very well done (but of course)

alvarop says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:57am

So hard.I made child sad :'(

ppelle says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:18am

Great!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:18am

Really nice game ! Congrats !

oxysoft says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:05am

Very nice game, also impressive considering you made this in ~24 hours

MrBlade says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:18am

I played the early version of this game that you posted on Twitter, I think that this game is really fun, although I am having terrible performance issues? I am sure it's my end, but I am only getting like 3FPS at best. The older version that you put up on Twitter played fine though. Nice work. (I did not rate this game as I feel the performance on my machine is not an accurate representation of this game.)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:40am

Cool ! I love the theme, It was really nice to watch you coding the game. Awesome work :)

voidqk says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:48am

fun game! I couldn't beat it, though... perhaps a strategy I am missing :-).

has a nice finished quality to it -- I love the subtle animations on the title screen... even just having the snow fall adds a nice mood.

Please rate mine, if you have the time.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:55am

Grats notch that was a pretty awesome aside from the fact that I suck at collecting wood :)

Blinked says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:58am

Saw some of your stream while I was making my game, nice job, the final product turned out pretty good. My biggest complaint would be that the game isn't all that 'fun' as it's pretty much just key spamming, but I really like the actual look of the game.

Also, the sounds didn't work on Firefox for some reason, had to switch to Chrome to hear them.

Croze says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:11am

I made chlid so happy, and it only took me exactly 60 seconds :) Pretty good game, I like the 2d-3d art style, really repetitive though

DrooobE says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:18am

Overall, I enjoyed it. I found it to be a little repetitive, but still quite fun. Good job :D

mcgraw says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:21am

Hey Notch! Great work this weekend! Thanks so much for streaming your effort! :)

DaanVanYperen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:22am

Pretty hard game!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:22am

Game was grate (as always). Interesting concept too. Only problem is it is way to hard.

Bogden says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:36am

Fun, but the controls hurt my hands!

GaTechGrad says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:44am

So this is what Santa is doing the other 364 days of the year. :D

dcolgan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:09am

Seems you must mash pretty hard to win. Impressive technical scores though.

jugglerrob says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:40am

Nice idea but the gameplay seems a bit repetitive.

Thein says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:46am

It's pretty difficult to keep up with the sun, but the game is really good in every other respect. The graphics are very impressive!

caranha says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:48am

Hey Notch!
+ The 3D runner looked quite awesome.
+ Liked the instructions in the beginning.
+ Loved the Night effects. Reminded me of Enduro!

- No sound? awww :-(
- This game gave me carpal tunnel syndrome :-P Maybe holding S you can continuously attack?

Thanks for the game!

KayZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:18am

Thanks Notch. I've been doing games in Dart for a little bit more than a year and I felt quite lonely with a maximum of only one or two other people creating games in Dart. Thanks to your stream and this game it'll probably be different at the next Ludum Dare.

Also thanks for your stream. Seeing that you still kept coding when I wanted to sleep made me stay up and keep coding too. Thanks to that I was able to finally finish a game in this LD.

Last but not least, this game encourages me to take a dive into WebGL :).

stayg0lden says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:01am

Fun game, but my wrist hurts from failing to much.

Kettlecorn says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:40am

I like the visual style and atmosphere. The snow particles are a nice touch.

The gameplay itself is a bit monotonous, but perhaps with refinement it could be enjoyable. I feel like the density of objects makes it tough to see ahead and to plan, which makes the game feel a bit frustrating at times, but of course we can't always have what is ideal given 48 hours!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:41am

It's really nice but also repetitive to mash those buttons all the time. But I had fun for a few plays.

D-e-X says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:23am

Game looks great as usual, however nice it looks and how smoothly it goes, there's very little replay value on there. There's no achievement feedback except for how many points you got and if you made the goal (which is incredibly hard, actually too hard). It quickly becomes boring although random placement, a really effortless addition to make this the *fun* game it could've been would be progressing onto new "levels", small variations in landscape, maybe some basic NPCs as hinders, upgrades or such, just something that tells you your effort is worth it! (Some new stimuli goes a long way!) You had loads of time to spare, so I don't see why you wouldn't try to make the game less minimalist, objectively speaking. On the other hand though, you made this game in a lot less than 48 hours, so it's still a tremendous achievement, but like I said, some very minimal additions could've made it that much more enjoyable because it's a fun concept. :)

So to sum up:

+ Graphics (incl. fx)
+ Humor (dry)
+ Overall feels and looks somewhat high-end.
+ Creative

- Overboard difficult to win.
- Painful controls
- Buggy collision resolution and world ticks.
- No rewards, variation or some sort of dynamic.
- Can't restart the run if I know I won't win.
- No replay value

supremefist says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:40am

Nice one, notch! Good game, but really difficult :)

Thijsku says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:45am

Nice game

crockid5 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:45am

Nice :)

gupta_shvm says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:21am

This is really good! The lighting and snow effects are awesome. Controls feel good as well!

mortl8324 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:47am

Funny game. Not a lot of content, but very polished for what it is.

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:49am

Great game! But I do miss some sounds and music.

capnramses says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:01am

webgl - nice choice! well done on getting a game in 3d within 2 days!

juxiliary says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:11am

Nice game. I think games like this are funnest without a fixed time. I prefer having one life or an extendable time limit. That way your high score depends more on skill rather than on how the trees generated.

Others have said it's pretty hard, but I found it rather easy, won first time. I guess that not everyone picked up on how to use goop (hold a and tap s).

granut100 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:32am

Good game! I really like the style of it. Reminds me a lot of Temple Run.

cwkx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:44am

I liked that you tried an interesting perspective and an ambitious genre, so gave 5's in innovation, humor and mood (Christmas!). The weakest parts were the audio and theme (3's) but overall it was good and fun (4's) :) While the time spent on the effects is very cute, I think additional gameplay mechanics should have been introduced instead to make it more fun, such as up-down for speed, upgrades, or better score/point rewards. It'd be nice to have some background ambient sound/music, even if just blowing/whistling in a mike to represent cold wind. Great for entering :)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:52am

Really detailed (graphics, menu mostly). Looks great.
Nice audio.

Needs preventDefault on keydown to prevent type-to-search in Firefox!

Overall a pretty sweet game.

Neonian says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:54pm

So funnny and so much fun :D !

zorfmorf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:21pm

Good game, good polish!

Rahazan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:23pm

No sound it seems (firefox).

Spit Tex says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:33pm

Fun game, but in the help menu you should explain what the goop does, still don't quiet understand what it does, either way good job

bentog says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:45pm

Excellent game! Would be even better with music.

X-0r says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:46pm

Down with the tentacles!!!

alvarop says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:39pm

Good game. Although it's just spamming a button!

Nik Sudan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:06pm

The game looked great, but in terms of gameplay I didn't think that it was the best. At times I was hitting A and S randomly, which made me progress further than I was before, when I was trying to play properly. Some music would have made it a lot more engaging too!

zhugolaf says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:42pm

fun

ovenchips says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:45pm

A nicely polished game. Hard to gauge depth and I would have lurved to hear a Christmassy jingle in the background. Otherwise, a merry old time was had playing this baby. :)

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:01pm

Pretty solid game, but it would have been nice to have some strategy other than spamming the attack button the whole way.

marccspro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:39pm

Very funny game !

MaxguN says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:55pm

Short, simple, efficient. I liked it :)

lincore says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Wow... the implementation was probably easier than I think but that looks very impressive and polished. Can't beat it though, I'm a bad Santa :~)

loxo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:25pm

I like the awesome graphics and the great atmosphere. Due to your interpretation of the theme the game is really short, multiple levels or stages would have been nice. Maybe santa has to chop wood around the world. But the only thing really missing for a christmas game is a christmas song.

ziomorti says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Cool and really polished game. I think the theme was kind of.. "forced in" but I loved the humor so I forgive you...

recursor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:16pm

Gathering the wood and killing the tentacles is pretty fun. I wish there was more to do, but I like the feel of the controls as well as the art in the game.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:17pm

Hands got tired trying to beat this, great game!

Coblynau says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:24pm

Well rounded game; music would have made audio perfect. Good fun, could imagine it in an arcade.

somepx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:28pm

This is incredible given time costraints - really top notch! (no pun intended) ;)

Broxxar says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:59pm

Considering your recent tweets about how many sprites you can render and still pull 60 fps, I'm disappointed that my screen was not filled with more sprites!

Well done, a stellar little game.

BradleySmith says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:01pm

Really smooth controls and a lot of fun to play, quirky idea too. :)

mckoss says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:07pm

Watching Notch create this on twitch.tv was the best part.

Team-KwaKwa says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:09pm

I had expectations and Notch delivers!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:26pm

Difficulty is a bit high but this is a good game notch. Well done!

minibutmany says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Overall very well put together, the graphics were very nice, but I didn't find that I could play it more than a few rounds without getting bored.

joekinglake says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:32pm

Great entry, would love to hear some frantic music behind this. The graphics are fantastic too!

AMSmirnov says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Very good small game from a great master. Thank you for interesting live coding.

Korwegian says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:10pm

Poor, poor Child... No presents for you.

madmaw says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:24pm

I prefer TypeScript (which I used for my entry), but it's good to see a big name using a JS transpiler.

Udell Games says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:26pm

Simple but fun, and the graphics are great for the time limit. Nice stuff, but it got a little repetitive after a while.

Capitals says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:33pm

Only notch would make a game with trees.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:07am

Nice graphics and an interesting mechanic. Good going.

sprawl says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:35am

Great presentation and art. Fun gameplay and very interesting.

Dmitrix says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:04am

Awesome

HeroesGrave says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:03am

Great game.

Bloated Hippo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:31am

Love it!

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:07am

It was a neat game. I really liked the concept but I wish you'd have had more time to put in sound.

rosa89n20 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:25am

My god! That's such fun game! and Hard!!! I can beat ridiculous fishing, but this one... man...

bluemanshoe says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:35am

Overall, very good. Game play a bit repetitive though.

NikinCZ says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:20am

Nice experience - not just beacuase you are Notch :)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:32am

Solid game, get's a bit repetetive

Lo-X says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:28am

Well, the theme reminds me a bit of 10sec one. It was hard to everyone to came up with very original ideas. The game lacks a bit of fun and music. I like pixel art graphisms. It serves tour game well.

SiENcE says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:38am

Nice idea with the daylimit and i like that you choose dart to implement it. I think LudumDare is always good to learn new things.

finefin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:12pm

a nice little game with nice mechanics. but I didn't expect anything else from THE indie game hero!

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:15pm

I like the pixel style. :-) Funny and small game. :-)

bach says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:47pm

I enjoyed this :)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:14pm

Fun game!

Daniel Debert says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:15pm

I liked it but it wasn't enough :c

SunShiranui says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:28pm

Good game, but it's a bit too difficult.

JALgames says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:57pm

Nice game, but I didn't like the controls too much. Arrow up would be much more intuitive for jumping. But anyway, this game is very good.

pusheax says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:48pm

I made a child sad several times, then looked at screenshot where he was happy. It was enough for me.

RoseNinja says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:04pm

a fun christmas game awesome

Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Very pleasant, too difficult for me.

BrothersT says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:50pm

Awesomely themed, great visuals, and a real challenge. Child says thumbs up!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:42pm

A fun game that shows your technical expertise with pixels. Good luck and Merry Christmas!

FelixNemis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:01pm

Very nice game, good use of the theme. Very nice difficulty as well, and fun to play, though I'm still not sure what exactly the goop does.
Also nice title.
Good luck and keep at it!

Royal Railway says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:14pm

It's a game! Sorry to say, but I wonder how much the lack of music brings down my general score. No music gives a low audio rating, of course, but it also decreases the mood a bit, since the graphics and especially the lovely effect of nightfall approaching were really quite pretty, and in the end it also brings down the fun - a catchy track could have done so much for a game like this.

Along with graphics, on the other hand, I gave you a high score on the humour – you had me at the game's title.

I must say, you really should've made the up arrow key be the jump button instead. My brain didn't work properly when it came to jumping and chopping with the same hand, for some reason.

A game, I suppose. Music, and at least to my sloppy brain, better controls, would've boosted the score, definitely. Perhaps you could do what I did about the music this time around, if you want to work on your own but can't make music, which was to let Wolfram Alpha generate some for me: http://tones.wolfram.com/generate/

gamepopper says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:23pm

Liked the 3D graphics used, and I found the obviously simplified grammar amusing. However in my opinion, using time as a way to connect the theme a weak concept.

Mechatodzilla says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:23am

Nice entry! I had fun with it.

Jade649 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:02am

How do you play it?

Korwegian says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:20am

It took me a while to realize how essential goop was to winning the game, but I finally beat it with 53 seconds!

leparlon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:24am

Sh*t I keep making child sad.
Amazing how well is runs though.. only dart and html5, nice work.
5 for graphics, mood and audio.

Cory Martin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:26am

I don't like the graphics much at all; the color choices are very unappealing. I don't find the gameplay to be fun either. I like Christmas though.

Colorvade says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:35am

I find the gameplay and aesthetics really underwhelming. It's a complete package that functions well, but there's not much to think about in-game, and as mentioned above, the colors are either overly saturated or not at all, with no hue-shift in the shading.

I hope this doesn't come off as 'hating' simply because you're Notch, I have a ton of respect for your work.

Lythom says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:28am

D-e-X already gave you a good feedback so I won't repeat what was told. Just a note about sounds : they end to be really annoying. I'm not sure how to fix it, but maybe a more quiet sound for the jump and a stronger visual feedback would allow the same comprenhension without the annoyment.
Good overall, I liked it. Thanks for the game !

yosh says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:33am

Really cool little game! (And bravo for being a Dart pioneer).

Loved the art of the game. Are the purple trees a reference to Day of the Tentacle?

What could be improved:
- more entity types
- stupid AND/OR catchy music

Also, in a totally different topic, I Love you Notch <3

dsoft20 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:27am

Nice game but a bit difficult.

daredevildave says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:54am

OK, it's nice. First couple of play throughs I was thinking this is impossible. I'll never get that much wood. Then I read the instructions :-D

So a nice little added depth by adding the goop.

I like it. Also good classic Notch art-style.

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:12pm

Very well played. That's an addictive game. I played several times, and I will again !

Jinz says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:48pm

Not the best product made by you, but still awesome.. :D

fullmontis says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:36pm

Amazing amount of polish for such a short development time. Game feels very smooth and is fun to play.

Erkberg says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:20am

Pretty fun and flawless game, but I really suck at it. ;)

Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:26am

Notch make game. I like game, I rate game. Now Notch play and rate my game :)

This was a lot of fun and has neat mechanics. I've yet to make the damned child happy, but I'm trying...900 so far.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:31am

Ok, child is happy. Christmas is saved. Whew.... :)

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:03am

Love the look and the sound effects... seems super hard, though. I don't get the purple trees--is that a secondary goal?

henrykun says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:32am

Very nice concept and polished. I like the graphics and sounds and as well, the gameplay is good although I think it's hard. How did you decide where to put every object? is it generated ramdonly?.

Adam Tea says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:50am

It's so hard! Can't get enough wood!!

madflame991 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:57pm

Truly funny and entertaining! Really liked your English.

brogrammers says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:19pm

it doesn't work on firefox

Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Great polish here. Looks and feels great, though it's punishingly difficult to win (I didn't).

There's a game-breaking bug when playing in my default browser, though. You're not preventing key events from bubbling, so they trigger typeahead find for me in Firefox. The first time I hit 'a', it brings up the search box, taking focus away from the game. To fix, just call .stopPropagation() and .preventDefault() on the key events you want to consume. It's an easy thing to overlook. =)

No sound in Firefox on OS X. Looks like the game doesn't even try to load the WAV files?

-mildmojo

Mago says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:13pm

Simple but fun. I liked the graphics and the sound.

nyytroh says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:43pm

oh gawd! I can't smash keyboard faster

psychomonster says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:08pm

Hey Notch. Cool game. Saw the stream... but I suck at your game... Like webGL... hmhhmhm okay I try to beat your game again ^^

glovecat says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:19pm

Good entry. A fun game with simple controls. Poor children :(

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:37pm

Hey Notch! Your game is very nice. Can you tell me where have you leaned Dart and WebGL? Thanks in advance

sfdnetwork says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:07pm

Simple. But Very Fun Indeed. Well Done Sir.

samooJAM says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:58am

Nice webgl graphics! And I really enjoyed the twitch stream.

gre says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:52pm

This is tough!
Nice game.

tobbez says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:42pm

I like the game, the trick to winning is to know exactly what you need to do to kill the tentacles and to use the gloop when you have it. Very well polished game.

CustomPhase says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:21pm

Im sorry, but i dont find it any good. Its an ok game, dont get me wrong, but nothing too interesting.

Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:28am

Super fun game, great job!

Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:01am

Quite funny, but very difficult to win. I could just be terrible at it though. Solid entry! :)

MystFire says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:55pm

I really liked the game, but it's also incredibely hard :(

kibertoad says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:03pm

in the beginning it looks really fun, but actual gameplay is too erratic without much variety. and yes, I'd make a terrible Santa.

Harsay says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:13am

It's a very fun to play game but poorly connected with theme :<

Super Hamster says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 6:18pm

A very interesting game but a bit complicated.

tnerb says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:19pm

The goop seems a little OP
but I really like the artwork!

ViliX says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 10:25pm

This is one of the best entries! You might be the winner of this LD :)

GFM says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 2:17pm

This a well done game, I can't say otherwise. I liked (your usual) "pixel-art in a 3D world" style. :)

But I didn't find the game fun at all... :(
I felt the game was only about mashing the 's' button... and that's it. I didn't feel compelled to keep playing it only for a higher score...

Dec 29, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Nice entry in the sense that i was surprised by what this game turned out to be. The mechanic with the goop was very important to discover. :D I loved the menu's and the personality of the messages.

raarlac says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 3:18am

Good mechanics, but very repetitive

michail says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 2:07pm

The gameplay is a bit repetitive, and gathering all the needed wood in just one minute seems nearly impossible. On the other hand, the graphics and the falling snow make a nice mood together.

StMatn says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 4:36pm

Really challenging game. The graphics look great!
Treepunching ftw! :D

Jan 3, 2014 @ 6:08am

tentacles make santa lose wood D:

Jan 4, 2014 @ 6:14pm

Very nice graphics.

joppiesaus says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 2:09pm

Fun! I still didn't manage to get enough wood, the poor child.
Nice graphics thought.

Ludipe says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 2:27pm

Almost completed it last time! Anyways, great game, extremly polished and I like that it's christmas-related.

lorniebear says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 3:27pm

Great fun, really enjoyed it. To improve, I would add better sound, but I'm sure you are busy making updates for minecraft!

(I reeealy like minecraft, such a huge fan!)

lorniebear says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 3:43pm

After playing your previous, I have to admire what an excellent programmer you are! The games get better every time!

jfroco says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:40am

Incredible graphics and art style. Congrats. The mechanics is too simple for me but it seems to be very addictive. Great entry.

juaxix says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 1:32pm

I like the procedural stuff

Jezzamon says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 9:30pm

I decided to play your game, even though your game already has 370 because hey, you're notch!

Anyways I thought it was really fun! It was well lengthed as a jam game too. I always like the sound effects in your games :)

xhunterko says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 1:02am

The controls were a bit off for me for some reason. And it moved too quickly for me. But maybe I'm just slow? Could have made do with some sound effects. But maybe that's just me. Neat idea.

Michcioperz says ...
Jan 11, 2014 @ 8:18pm

0% coolness, it says? meh.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]