December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Refuge

by chardish - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Refuge is a short adventure game about belonging, nostalgia, friendship, and choices.

The goal of the game is to explore the environment and experience the narrative.

Narrative-driven games are new territory for me. I hope you enjoy it, and I look forward to hearing what you think of it.

Thanks for playing it : )

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#95Mood3.54
#244Overall3.33
#309Graphics3.29
#313Theme3.20
#495Humor2.25
#571Innovation2.80
#573Audio2.36
#653Fun2.65

Comments

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:45am

As I'm at work I unfortunately had to cut my adventure short for now, I'll try it again at home. But what I've seen so far is amazing for a 48 hour game, very well done.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:53am

Excellent storytelling given how short game is. Well executed. The portal sound was a bit loud though. I was a bit frustrated thumbing through doors trying to find the right one since they weren't labeled in any way from the outside, but it's only a minor concern since exiting rooms is just as quick and painless as entering them.

Kettlecorn says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:53am

A really neat experience! I enjoyed it thoroughly.

I feel as if the decision you have to make comes a bit quickly. I had only talked to each character about once before I had to make a decision.

The scenario though does allow an imagination to wander. It's interesting to think about, but I'm not sure I was deciding the choice the game thought I was.

Great little experience overall though!

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:54am

Fun and short game. I could have used either a map or less rooms, as wandering around that place was kind of difficult/tedious. The dialog and story were both good though, conveyed a whole world in just a couple minutes, nice work!

Kettlecorn says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:55am

I forgot to say it in my last comment, but I really liked the geometric backgrounds as well!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:04am

Jea, I had a hard time navigating too. But I like the game.

chardish says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:19am

@Kettlecorn: A lot of the dialogue is optional...did you go straight to the common room after getting the transformer?

DaleP says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:10am

Great writing; I got a surprising sense of the characters and world even in such a short and simple game. On my first playthrough I accidentally wandered into the common room immediately after finding the transformer (since the rooms were all identical from the outside) and had to make the decision before I had a chance to talk to anyone. Still, it was good enough to make me want to play again to see the rest of the dialogue that I missed.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:23pm

I really liked the art and several of the choices you made. I wish there had been labels on the door though. It was incredibly confusing.

whiteknife says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:19pm

An interesting story. Could have used more build up and a clearer way to navigate the wherever they were, but a good attempt. For how short it was, the dialog conveyed a lot.

vallde says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:12am

Good story :)
But so many doors! xD

dqmhose says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:09am

I liked it. It had a slow start but I wanted to know how the story continues and what it's all about. Also good job on the nokill challenge :D

supremefist says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:33am

Well done! Liked the story! The choice was immediately obvious to me :)

ob6160 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Love the story very enjoyable :D

Ditto says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:37am

Very good story telling. Telling such a convincing story in such a short time is very impressive! When getting out of the "common room talk" I got a bug making me talk to someone everytime I pressed interact after that, I made it to the end anyway, just a bit annoying. Is that Hexels for some of the backgrounds btw? :D

RhysD says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:53am

Interesting story and adventure. Gives a nice connection to the characters you interact with in a short period of time which is impressive for a 48 hour game.

Kane says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:05am

It is a nice little game, a bit sad (?), but really enjoyable to play!

Anyway i think i found a bug near the end of the game, when i leaved the common room i was to close to Nessa and it lauched the conversation with her while going through the door. After that the dialog box stayed until the end of the game.

chardish says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:25am

Yep, that's Hexels : ) I hadn't used it much before this compo and wanted an opportunity to get better with it.

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:11am

Excellent work on the dialogues, they really create an atmosphere and give a weight to the choice we have to make.
Both ends are also written very well.
I like a lot all the graphical backgrounds you used, and in a more specific way the global aesthetic.
I miss some ambient music but for a compo it's always understandable.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:22pm

Good story, very polish, and good concept i like the game, good job

thatwhichis says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:17pm

HEXELS! Also there was a no kill challenge?? Sweetness; think I accidentally qualified!

Nice characterizations in such a short duration; felt for that Scott person.

Agree with several others here that door naming would be super-awesome in the beginning but once I had the place mentally mapped it wasn't much of an issue and door transitions were fast enough it didn't seem punishing.

Thumbs up!

Snuti says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:29am

I found the dialogue very interesting in the game and I like how you put Wales into it too :) I did get a bit lost around the floors and maybe a little map might be a nice idea. Good job overall :)

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:29pm

awesome man. Its truly a good life and we should all be thankful for that :)

Zerkruemler says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 9:17am

Great story and very cute and functional graphics. I was howerver confused by the uniform doors. I was constantly lost. I don't think that getting lost is an integral part of the game, so it would (in my opiniton) improve the game to label the doors.
Great work and good story.

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 9:53am

Interesting story, and the strange environment also provided a nice mood. I like the mystery of the place they're in, and that's it's open to imagination. For me, I imagine a bunch of teenagers stuck in some house doing drugs, and one day they decide to just snap out of it. It only lasts one day instead of two years, but the drug makes them lose track of time.

bitserum says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 11:21am

Great work here with the narrative. Now I have to play through the generator choice as well. I love it.

The only thing that bothered me is the rooms. There are either too many empty rooms without a purpose for the player, or they miss some sort of labeling so I don't have to memorize which is which.

I'm off to see the generator ending now.

Dec 25, 2013 @ 9:30pm

Nice story based game I like it ! Great work with the graphics too !

diegocbarboza says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 12:07am

Very nice game! I liked how the characters relations with each other is implied, great storytelling there! Also, it's simple, but I really liked the backgrounds. It helps a lot to identify the different rooms. Congrats!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]