December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

BOIDCAK

by Magdev - Jam Entry

BOIDCAK IS ABOUT A BOID
A BOID THAT IS TRAPPED IN A NIGHTMARE NEO-BIRTHDAY CAKE DUNGEON

BOID IS GOOD AT EATING. BOID MUST ESCAPE.

BOID CAN ONLY CARRY ONE WEAPON WITH HIS WEAK, FAT, STUPID BIRD ARMS.

WEAPON DEGRADES WITH USE. BOID MUST MAINTAIN WEAPON.
IF WEAPON BREAK, WEAPON BECOME SUCK. DO NOT BECOME SUCK.

GET TO FLOOR 20 AND DEFEAT THE [PARTY POOPER]

GAME WORK FINE ON WINDOW THE SEVENTH TO THE 64TH AND 32ND POWER.

IF GAME NOT WORK FOR YOU, MAKE SURE TO GET THE XNA REDISTRIBRINGUS.

ARTS BY @MUSHBUH (EXCEPT THE WEAPONS I MADE THOSE B~0)

BOSS MUSIC BY KFARADAY!!!
https://soundcloud.com/kayfaraday

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#21Fun(Jam)3.89
#27Overall(Jam)3.92
#29Humor(Jam)3.78
#85Graphics(Jam)4.09
#103Mood(Jam)3.46
#114Audio(Jam)3.39
#170Theme(Jam)3.11
#171Innovation(Jam)3.14

Comments

Sink says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:31am

What you finished is real cool! I like the graphics you and the gameplay is fun. Too bad you ran out of time, I like it a lot.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:31am

10/10, it's okay.

Magdev says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:51am

I finished it with mush and made it a jam entry. BOIDCAK

lekochen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:35am

Wow, it is highly polished in all respects. Well done!

severus says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:51am

really funny game, i like it a lot

kyyrma says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:59am

ITS A GOOD GAME

moop says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:17am

Really cute main character and cool graphics in general. I liked the cutlery select screen especially.
Fun to play but the enemies felt a bit too touch.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:41am

BOID GOT KILLED :(

bodsey says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:18pm

A very nice game. The only thing is the attack move which is slow and you can't really know when it will be available ; it makes fights tough.

Poupi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:22pm

Can't run the game on Windows 7 x64 :(

Tanser says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:25pm

Nice game, the idea of showing the controls just amazed me. Good job. :)

Nichii says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:29pm

Nice, great game, I have been looking for a real good game for a while now. Nice graphic, the audio is okay but is enough to fill in the game. By the way, I made it through most of the stages with a suck weapon only to die to a spike. Anyway, great game there buddy!

pusheax says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:50pm

Enjoyed it a lot.

danbo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:24pm

Game won't launch on Win7 x64. Shame! This looks sick as fuck

mortl8324 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:28pm

Haha fantastic game. One of the better ones I've played. I didn't deduce my score for this, but you can crash the game at the start by pressing random buttons instead of the ones it asks you to.

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:36pm

This is pretty amazing. @o@

Magdev says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:04pm

If the game isn't working for you, grab the XNA redist. I added a link.

Mnemusyne says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:44pm

Made by the best. I only wish it was a web game.

Fervir says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:01pm

This game is amazing.
I actually had to make decisions like sacrificing a weapon upgrade to get more durability and whether or not to use my remaining hits on enemies or maybe a bomb, or perhaps just running away.

It's pretty deep and has thoughtful mechanics based on the theme.
An excellent game, great job.

pighead10 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:14pm

Really fun game!

Sink says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:30pm

Just played the updated version! Really cool, the graphics add so much more to the game! Also the variety in weapons is really awesome (My fav is the spoon).

Todd Luke says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:51am

excellent game dude. my favorite things were the signature mushbuh sound design and how the enemies interacted with the obstacles/traps as much as the player. you are great job!!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:20am

A roguelike!! Now THAT'S fun! Omg this is so well-made and the actions are so juicy and full of feedback! Love love love it! I'm sending this to my friends <3
Top marks, seriously!

flatgub says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:36am

Amazing!
The graphics are really stylish and the SFX remind me of a lot of lexaloffle games. I had a whole lot of fun with this game, very well polished!
-Flatgub

aeveis says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:56am

Controls took some time to get used to but after that it was pretty good. Beat it with the spoon.

Mekuri says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:01am

Very nice game, and very well polished. I liked more or less everything about this game. Good graphics, solid gameplay! Well done!

udinjelek says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:46am

I couldn't play this game :( , im using win 7 64bit, any issue of it :(?

ocathalain says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:49am

Excellent! Loved pretty much everything about this

Magdev says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:44am

Fixed the crashes.
Finally got this stupid XACT music thing to compile properly in the release build. There is now musicks.

Also udinjelek, make sure you get the XNA redist.

Daniel Debert says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:42pm

At first I was like... A chicken? Again? Okay... But then I was like. Mwahahaha~! I am an evil chicken!

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:13pm

Fun and very polished game with amazing music, very well done.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:30pm

Great game, the music is awesome, the sound are really good and funny. You made me laugh a lot! The graphics are really well done, cool animation and mechanics. Great work!

CNIAngel says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:45pm

Boid is the best at pecking dat cak.

Niqle says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:26am

Knife > Spoon > a collapsed star > fork

udinjelek says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:35am

thanks for your reply, I have play now. and it have much so fun. :D good work!!

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:55am

Pretty awesome game! I love the graphics :)

Venks says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:03am

Absolutely love the graphics here. It's a very interesting style. Very cutesy and inviting.

ambi says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:35am

A very solid, well balanced game that I finished from start to finish. Only had to install XNA redistributable first.

brogrammers says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:04pm

sweet!

Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:48pm

Great game. I liked the colorful artstyle and character design.

Jeremias says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:24pm

GRAPHICS DO GOOD. MUSIC DO GOOD. I LIKE GRAPHICS. AND MUSIC. GAMEPLAY ALSO GOOD. ENEMIES SPAWNING NEAR ME NOT GOOD. I HATE SPOONS. SPOONS ARE SLOW. DIED ON POOPBOX.

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Can't play, mac

barkergames says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:34am

At first it took me a while to understand what was going on. But as soon as I did, it became addicting. I just HAD to win!

It was hard to hit the bad guys sometimes though.

Otherwise Awesome entry!

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:37am

I love the graphics!

GarethIW says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:14am

I ENJOYED THE CAK

glovecat says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:47pm

With a duration of an average Game Boy game, you made something delicious! Very polished in all of the categories. Well done!

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:46pm

I feel like my comments are quite repetitive, nut still amazing pixely graphics and music is not bad. Overall good

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Excellent game! The first time I got beaten with a dirty sock. But then I tried to save the weapon and not to rush it and I made it! Good job! :-)

Czepta says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:38pm

Really strange game but quite fun and challenging. Reminds me of nuclear throne if it took place in a bizarre birthday party world. Nice work!

BNeutral says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Amazing

tnerb says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:17pm

Spoon is my favorite

tak says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:42am

i like ur game

bitslap_ says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:07pm

So, this game is really great. Everything is presented beautifully, especially the audio.

Diptoman says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:23pm

Awesome, just awesome. The art is perfect, and the game is just loads of fun! 5/5 from me!

Harsay says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 3:30pm

Enjoyed it alot.

oxysoft says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 6:24pm

Boring gameplay, but nice graphics

Jan 4, 2014 @ 3:04pm

Really awesome graphics, cool game, loved it! I included it in part 20 of my Ludum Dare 28 compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) youtu.be/O9M3TIYW4UU

FrederickK says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 11:58pm

At first I didn't understand, but when I did I loved!
So cool and so much cakeeee!
Just wish the weapon were more different.
Great game!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]