December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Nero Is Falling

by LeafThief - Jam Entry

'Nero is Falling' is a Dramatic SciFi Puzzle Game in which you have to see through a network of lies in a limited amount of time.
!Every playthrough the scenario is randomly generated!

Team: @iossif (Code, Design), @leafthief (Art)

=========Setting==========
Long Distance Freighter NERO is out of fuel and Oxygen is running low. The captain and most of the crew have long escaped when you and a few others come to your senses.

Try to find the one escape pod that get's you off of this deathtrap of a spacecraft by talking to people/AIs. You only have a few minutes before the inevitable end...

=========Controls==========
1. Arrow keys to move
2. 'X' to activate
3. Time is running out - get off the ship before the counter reaches 0!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness90%
#21Mood(Jam)3.98
#44Graphics(Jam)4.30
#46Audio(Jam)3.75
#83Overall(Jam)3.60
#121Innovation(Jam)3.29
#154Theme(Jam)3.15
#268Fun(Jam)2.83
#337Humor(Jam)2.09

Comments

metkis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:14am

Loved this, very intriguing and reminds me of my entry a tad, but the dialogue seems correct. The movement was a little odd, but once I got used to it, it was fine! Really great looking game as well. One of my favorites so far.

Zerot says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:24pm

Was quite nice, though it could be a bit more clear on where the pods are.

The music was also quite good.

jdpalmer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:14pm

Lovely music and pixel art!

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:17pm

Awesome graphics! Love it! Very fun, awesome job

antila says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:22pm

Well executed and great art!

Aske says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:24pm

really good game, I managed to escape. Also I really like the social relations :D

Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:46pm

I had a vague idea that I was trying to find out which crew member was lying about whether or not they contributed to some crash. I wish I knew what to do, though! It seemed like a lot of effort was put into the mood. Very spacey. Liked the mood a lot.

Several says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:41am

I had some trouble early on determining which areas were navigable/passable, and finding all the areas of the ship, and was a regularly distracted by the repeated phrases & mechanical disjointedness of the 'dialogue', but still left feeling quite impressed with this entry. Good job on mood, graphics, pacing, and concept!

porglezomp says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:55am

Seems really fun! I was just talking with one of my friends about the Knights and Knaves puzzles a few days ago, so I think I'm going to come back to this one with some paper and try to win.

hoqjed says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:53am

I quite liked the art style of this game. I wasn't too keen on having to distinguish who was most likely lying, which pod was the nice choice etc. I think this was most likely due to an information overload of sorts.

All of the information given to me as I played felt somewhat generic such as "Red Terminal B" tells me "John Malkovich is most likely a liar". I mean, after receiving 5 or so bits of this kind of information I was kind of like "I don't give a damn" and I randomly selected an escape pod.

Maybe it was because I didn't have the patience to play the game at the moment, or because the game didn't give me very much incentive to care all that much.

Oddly though, my 3 or 4th random choice actually landed me on the pod that wasn't a deathtrap and I was totally happy... until I realized that it really didn't change anything for me. All the outcomes felt the same.

somepx says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:36pm

Some excellent pixel art here! Game is very well made: 72h? Sounds impossible for me! :O

madlee says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:43pm

Art and music were great, as well as the concept. I love that its different each time! The controls were a little wonky, and there were some collision detection issues (walking over walls) but those are minor considering the type of game it is. Well done!

Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Amazing detail!

Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:26pm

This is absolutely incredible! The setting, the logical deduction, the music and the pixel art!
If the characters are able to be fleshed out with more time, it'll be perfect.
Very, very well done!

dark_hunter says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:16am

Graphics and music really makes the mood! Interesting approach.

popogames says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:18am

I like the idea for the theme, but it wasn't innovated upon more. I miss some mechanic of navigation and structure to make the puzzle more appealing. I also became lost when I decided to look for the pods.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:18am

Good game, the graphics were good!

Kohijin says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:26am

Really captured the mood. Pixelart and portraits were very well done, but for me mixing them didn't work too well. Also the controls are a bit off for diagonal movements and finding out were I could go... Absolutely stunning soundtrack and great story telling.

kibertoad says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:13pm

sexy art design, great writing. gameplay options feel shallow however. I really wish you would do a more complex finished post-jam version. shit, I'd buy it.

Diptoman says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:55am

Really, really awesome character pixel art. Loved the fact that the scenario is different every time! The Truth-Lie approach was really fitting here. The music gave a nice touch. All in all, really polished, I loved everything about it!

Gamelabbers says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:56am

A 2 man team?! incredible :D I love the faces... very well done.

The music, don't get me wrong, is really nice and ambient. And the sound is a perfect match for the pixel art. I love the subtle breathing in the background!! Although I am sure there are ways you can use the music to add a sense of urgency an claustrofobia, like the first Descent game. It's a bit more up tempo and has a nice beat to keap you sharp. Although, for a logic game... perhaps ambient is not such a bad choice after all :) And, yeh look at who's talking, I did the music for a game where the house is on fire, probably the most laid back track POSSIBLE :D

ViliX says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:18pm

Tricky idea :) 5/5 for mood and innovation

rnlf says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:41am

It looks so excellent! Really sweet!

BradleySmith says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:42am

Holy shit this is beautiful, one of the best and most interesting Jam entries I've played yet. Rated highly!

Todd Luke says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:48am

this was amazing for only 72 hours. the portraits, music, and environment really set the tone. i admittedly found the escape pod by trial and error rather than deducing who was telling the truth.

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:48am

Excellent way to draw you in! At first, I was enjoying the nice ambiance, without really knowing what to do. I got into a pod and ditched my crew by chance, then it tells how I died, but one of the crew managed to escape. Got it! I'll start over.

blackmagic says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:55pm

Nice !
The art & music are real good.
It seems the other crew aren't afraid of the incoming explosion altought ^^.
The mood reminded me of a mix between the cluedo and the browergame Mush.

rico.albe says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:21pm

While the art looks great, it should be more clear what is navigable and what isn't, because that is confusing sometimes.

The dialogue is a bit off-putting, as everything is about whether people lie or don't in a rather direct and artificial way.

I did somehow guess the right pod on the first attempt (I later tried other options just to see the difference) but I went for a hunch, and I think the game was thought to be played a bit more, like some people are saying, with pen and paper.

Also, somehow felt they were all lying, as I was the only one actively trying to get out of the ship.

MaTX says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:49pm

Polished, but has some control issues.

lotusgame says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 11:49pm

Excellent game ! Good story, graphics, music.. Well done :)

loxo says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 4:30pm

Awesome game, I like everything about it. My second attempt was successful and I survived. Some more animations inside the ship would have been nice.

Dec 26, 2013 @ 9:05am

Definitely one of the best games in LD! Great art, sound and mood. Amazing job!

van noctar says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 12:55pm

Wao! I'm dazed!! :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]