December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Hallowed Orb

by ekun - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Are you a bad enough dude to steal the Hallowed Orb?

CONTROLS
========
Grab your gamepad or use your keyboard! Hold your preferred buttons in the menu to configure them.

HOW TO PLAY
===========
Charge your attack while holding the shoot button and release when you're ready.




I streamed my development process for the first time as well, so check out the VODs on twitch if you're interested!
http://www.twitch.tv/ekunuke/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#44Fun3.74
#65Theme3.77
#84Overall3.70
#132Audio3.31
#248Innovation3.28
#349Graphics3.21
#390Mood2.92
#434Humor2.37

Comments

Kuupu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:16am

Nice game!

Its a fun concept and i loved the particle feedback from hitting/killing enemies.

You could make the orb bounce a little when hitting the walls, so that the game gets a little more chaotic.

Piscythe says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:42am

A wall bounce would also make longshots more productive. Right now it's hard to justify the risk.

patricklorio says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:54am

Fun game, fellow Orbean.

xAxiom says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:19am

Getting quintuple kill streaks off the trampoline. Redefining metagame.

Thein says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:24am

Cool game! It feels very polished for a game jam game. The difficulty curve is pretty high, but it's a nice challenge.

mtinkerhess says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:34am

Solid arcade-style game. Nice key binding setup.

Alismuffin says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:53am

Great game! Love the way you handled key binding. Streamlined and easy. Was nice to see an SFML entry :)

Jimanzium says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:53pm

I really liked the simplicity and the arcade style gameplay. This was really well designed. Everything form the binding of keys was well designed. The gameplay was very fun aswell as frantic. The music was superb. There isn't really anything bad I can say about this, the graphics were a bit basic but somehow managed to look good . Also, I enjoyed watching you stream the development :)

subluzz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:55pm

Very nice game, but i was looking in the source code and i can´t compile some entities, i guess there are some files missing...

ekun says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:34pm

Thanks guys!

@subluzz
I just realized I did not save the codeblocks project before committing the source, thanks for the heads up! If you re-checkout the code it should compile fine.

subluzz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:43pm

No problem, you are the man!
Have a good new years! (and that was a fast answer).

kakus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Really really like it. Want more !

Sink says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:01pm

Cool and difficult game. I feel like the ball was little hard to use but it was still fun. The animations are all really smooth, good job!

Atmospherium says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:36pm

Great game. The gameplay was a bit tough, but that might be due to my computer's slowdown. I really liked the graphics and audio. I'd love to see you develop this more.

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:00am

Advice: Change the main screenshot for your game if you want more plays. What's there isn't very appealing when compared to the actual experience.

OK, so the key binding at the start. I LOVE YOU! This is a great, great idea and it really helped me enjoy your game that much more.

AUDIO... you have a ton of it. Ending music, stage music, boss-specific sounds. Good stuff.

The gameplay is very solid and the core mechanic works well. It can get a bit tough and I feel like anything less than a full power shot is useless, but having a gamepad helped me overcome any issues.

Spriting is simple but efficient, particles are great, physics work as you'd hope. Enemy variety, challenge, etc... all good stuff.

Great entry!

ekun says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:15am

@SonnyBone

Thanks for the feedback!

I went ahead and changed the screenshot per your suggestion :)

tchem says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:59am

Great game!!!! minimalism graphics, colours and gameplay are fantastics. good job man

acerunox says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:34pm

Fun game, great music!

nicso says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:35pm

Really great.

Sanguine says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:36pm

A nice mood, and it felt good to destroy the enemies with the orb.

BradleySmith says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:08pm

I watched you stream this and it looked like it was going to be so much fun, I'm glad it is! Really enjoyed this, one of my favourite entries so far. Awesome work for 48 hours. :)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:52pm

The "controls wizzard" is a awesome idea, really makes sure every one can use the controls they like.

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:51am

Really awesome fun game! Great Job!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:01am

Nice game! One of my favorites, loved the use of theme. I included this game in my Ludum Dare Compilation series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/6i2NO94dPrk

Alex Higgins says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:54pm

This felt great to play.
Mechanically, this is the best entry I've played so far, if a tad bit too hard. I couldn't ever get past stage 2.

Dr. Mo says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:35am

Please make a post-compo multiplayer version. This is awesome.

Venks says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:10am

Man that's a bit difficult, very fun though.

iancarnevale says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:51am

One of my favourite games so far, has all the right elements for a fun addicting game. Love the mechanics and the artwork is even charming for quick pixel art! Awesome job Ekun!

ViliX says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:33pm

Fun to play :)

Jan 3, 2014 @ 5:37pm

really nice man.. prob the most fun ive had yet.. feels really polished :)

RodRoy1 says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 5:59pm

Really fun game. Nice idea, well implimented, good music and visuals. the veriaty of eniemys is nice and the theme fits perfectly. Well done. Its really hard but thats fine, not alot of testing can be done in the timeframe.

poland3 says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 9:08pm

great game for a weekend of time

stefan says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 11:43pm

I like this game very much. It feels very smooth, balanced and polished. It is fun to jump around :) In the beginning I had some problems understanding how the game works, maybe some words about it on the title screen would be great. Nevertheless, this is one of he best entries I played so far.

aeveis says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 2:40am

Nice controls, though a bit difficult. cool mechanic :)

natpat says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 8:32pm

That was really good fun. It feels like one of those games that's really easy to pick up but hard to master. Very well done.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]