December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Happiness

by Fenmar - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Happiness is a Third-Person jump and run. Navigate the levels with A and D or the arrow keys. Jump with Space. This game uses WebGL. It works with the latest Google Chrome and Firefox builds. Also make sure you have sound enabled.

Made with HTML5, Javascript and the Canvas element using WebGL. Tested with latest Google Chrome and Firefox on Windows.

Makes use of three.js, tween.js and buzz.js. All textures are procedurally generated.

Have fun! I am sure there is a meaning somewhere...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#15Mood4.03
#16Audio3.92
#57Overall3.78
#78Fun3.62
#135Innovation3.53
#213Humor3.04
#427Graphics3.06
#705Theme2.50

Comments

Nnnnneeeedddd says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 10:53pm

Creepy, But it was really fun. Good game

ob6160 says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 10:59pm

Mind bendingly good :)

sfdnetwork says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 11:33pm

Nice. Really Fun and very Gladosy

Crabman says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:01am

Wow, that was pretty sweet. :D Cool stuff, man!

SamH says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:04am

That was a very interesting experience. Thank you for making that game.

capnramses says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:49pm

that was awesome. voice overs turned a very simple game into a bad-to-the-bone game. well done

Granor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:18pm

Super evil voice filter activated!
I used the A and D keys to navigate the level, W and S as suggested in the description didn't work :(

Fenmar says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Thank you all for your feedback so far :-)

@Granor: Derp! Thanks for pointing that out. I fixed the description.

bugninja says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Whoa... that was eerie. Great mood, definitely one of my favorite games so far!!!

Hypnohustla says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:51pm

Such a nice and creepy game with great level design. :) Extra points for adding a voice-over. Good job :)

Lacutis says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:36pm

Wow, your game has amazing atmosphere. Good use of the theme too. Pretty interesting even if there is no way to "win".

GagaPete says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:45am

Nice game, first time I played without sound, it was kinda stange but with sound its nice, challenging and unforgiving. The visual style is great. I will check this game out later again, may I can finish it then.

bspa says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:55pm

Very nicely done!

scoobyben says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:25pm

Wow, the atmosphere was amazing - first game to properly suck me in. I loved the light up effect on the floor, and the voiceover

30dogs says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:29pm

Spectacularly creepy mood. You did a really interesting job of introducing new mechanics on the fly, without having to interrupt the gameplay or explain with text. Very cool experience.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:07pm

EPIC. The first game i beat in this Ludum dare. I get addict, cool voice in off, cool story, very polish and good controls. GOOD JOB.

nicso says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:08pm

A really a great concept. With a little more love on audio(acting is dificult ^^), it could become something really cool.

stigmawall says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:14pm

Dammit this scary me a lot! Like the game concept, and the message behind it!

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:15pm

Haha wow, that was really cool. The last time I bother looking for happiness, that's for sure!

Really appreciated the level design, I liked how the level blocks were all individual items and a lot of them were interactive in different ways, nice one.

Shaun Lebron says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:23pm

I actually sat there a minute in the beginning waiting to see if you would acknowledge that I didn't want eternal happiness, and I tried to find a way out without picking it up. I guess I could've closed the window at that point, but then I got lectured for just trying to progress the game :(

Well done on the theme and the destructible level design! And I was happy to hear zombocom narrating it :D

Ysty says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:07pm

Excellent. I loved the mood and look of the game, and the narration was spot on.

XmmmX says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:00pm

Just perfect. I really love the atmosphere. The audio is also well done. Good job!

SnoringFrog says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:02am

Nicely done. The audio was interesting, and gameplay felt extremely fluid.

chardish says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:21pm

If video games have taught me one thing, it's that narrators in abstract platformer environments are *always* evil.

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 2:21pm

Absolutely amazing! I enjoyed this so much, thank you! One of the strongest narrative games this LD so far - the way the entire experience was orchestrated by the voiceover was just brilliant. It really was creepy in a GlaDOS kind of way, but with a much drier humour - your accent added to the effect if you don't mind my so saying! The way the environment responded to you in surprising ways kept it feeling really fresh. I suppose I'd have liked a final encounter to finish it off akin to the dark area, but really I'm nitpicking - great work!

zatyka says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 2:34pm

Awesome experience. The narrator, and other audio, really did it for me.

tobbez says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Nice game, the voice acting and the blocks that move are really nice additions. Looking past that, the levels don't realy include any challange or puzzles and I feel like giving us a close to unsolvable puzzle instead of just running forevenr would fit better with the game as it is.

Zener says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 12:59pm

Incredible intro, the voice is awesome! I like how the environment changes as you play

jonask says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 1:46pm

Nice atmosphere!

caranha says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 1:56pm

That was a very engaging game, thank you a lot for it!

I really enjoyed the voices - even though there is only one path, it did feel like it was reacting to your actions.

Cheers!

euske says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 1:59pm

It's well made, but I don't see the connection to the theme.

pkenney says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 1:34am

Wow this game took my by surprise! One of the most engaging compo entries I've played, great work. It had me scrambling around, played with my expectations in an interesting way, and came to a finish before anything got tired or worn out. Great work!

philhassey says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 5:41pm

THIS IS EXCELLENT!

Aaants says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 11:19pm

Nice game and eerie voice acting.

I'm possibly a bit biased towards square character platformers in this particular LD though :)

Vi-King Games says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 2:11am

I feel that the music loops could have been a bit longer, they got annoying very quickly. Besides that, the voice acting and dark colors really worked well to make an eerie, creepy mood. Certainly worth playing.

Rialgar says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 10:19pm

I can't decide between humor and mood, because it made me smile, am I a bad person? ;)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]