December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Light Away

by ajfischer - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You have control over only one light source. Use the light to navigate the dungeon.

The circles are pedestals and the squares are doors.

Press SPACE to place your light on a pedestal.
Press SPACE to take the light off the pedestal.

Transfer the light to a pedestal to charge up health.
Lose health if it is dark or you are carrying the light with you.
The pedestals unlock square doors that match that color when they are lit.

The level restarts if you run out of health.

Win by reaching the elusive black light!


CONTROLS:
SPACE - take/put a light on a podium
A - dash but drains health
Arrow keys - move

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#245Audio3.00
#299Innovation3.21
#415Theme3.04
#453Mood2.83
#649Fun2.66
#713Graphics2.50
#733Overall2.73

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:36am

Took a while to understand what was going on, and occasionally got stuck on walls. Neat concept though.

timtipgames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:40am

I had some trouble to understand the idea but once I figured it out it was a nice challenge. I didn't make it to the blacklight though. There's some seems between the tiles visible and I had also problems sliding along tiles. I also felt like sometimes the game wouldn't react to my input but it is also possible that I just missed some rule that made it reasonable. Did you do the music yourself? Or is that actually something that procedural music generators produce these days? Would suprise me :)

ajfischer says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:51am

The music was generated by cgMusic. Music generation has gotten pretty amazing these days.

Yeah, getting stuck on walls is a big issue. I know why it happens and how to fix it, I just didn't have time. Basically a box2d issue where the wall is made up of separate tiles, so you collide with the corners of them sometimes when you slide along. I'll probably try to fix that next if I keep going with it.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:54am

Couldn't understand at the start, but figured it out.
Very nice :)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:38am

Nice Concept. Took me a while to figure it out, but once I did it was fun. It was a little short though.

dcolgan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:54am

Very original mechanic, good use of the theme, fitting audio. Cool idea for a game, you should totally make more levels.

Cherno says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:57am

Took me a while to figure out what was going on, a tutorial or some kind of interactive help would have been great. Once I did figure it out though, I enjoyed it! :)

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:49am

The game was very nice and fun to play.

@TeddyNashor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:52pm

As most comments say it took a little while to figure out what was going on, but i eventually got it and the concept is quite cool. sometimes I felt when i pressed space it wouldn't register, not sure if it was because I wasn't able to put a light there or what, but I got stuck at the second orange spot. Anyway, great music and again great concept. Cheers!

Calciumtrice says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:53pm

Good core mechanic that was a nice implementation of the theme. Took me a while to figure out how it worked too but managed eventually.

Walls were a bit sticky and there was some flickering between tiles but the music was pleasant and the gameplay/puzzle worked well so I definitely enjoyed it overall.

moomoo112 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:05am

rather confusing at first, but its a nice concept

WojWorks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:07am

I can't see anything...

moop says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:12am

Nice concept one I understood what was going on. Disappointed it ended so quickly.
Seemed to have a few issues where the space key wouldn't register.

Chaoseiro says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:18pm

The idea is really good, but the problems with collisions and lights not turning on frustrated me a bit :/

Nelien says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:51am

Took a while to get it but once I beat the game it made me feel very smart: that's how puzzle games should feel, great job! My only complaint is that it's a bit on the short side.

Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:03am

I like the concept, hard to understand what you must to do, but later is fun and i think is a good idea. Good job :)

Capitals says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:26pm

Interesting concept and I enjoyed the light effects!

01rafael says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 4:01am

Great concept, but gameplay was confused me

PaperBlurt says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Real good mood, I like when people use limited sight as a game mechanic.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]