December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Defusement of the Pyong

by Kvisle - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"Defusement of the Pyong" is my entry for this Ludum Dare.


It is a small FPS game, heavily inspired by Wolfenstein 3D. It's written from scratch using Javascript/WebGL - the only library I've allowed myself to use is glmatrix, to help me deal with the matrix transformations and so on. I'm also using jquery to make the background blink when you're hit, but that's not really important.


Pay attention to the instructions under the game screen.

Don't die.

Gather all keycards.

Defuse the bomb.

Kick butt.


Clarification about theme: Several have asked me how this game relates to the theme. It was really hard for me to come up with something original - so no originality involved. You have one gun, one life, and one mission (to defuse one bomb). I don't spend any time explaining these things, because I believe it takes some of the fun out of it. I'm aware that this is a very poor usage of the theme.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#129Fun3.48
#179Overall3.45
#224Graphics3.52
#234Humor2.96
#384Mood2.93
#724Innovation2.55
#995Theme1.56

Comments

capnramses says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:08am

wow! really really well done on the technical accomplishment! the I-L-M cheat code does not work, and i feel this was a major oversight ;-) great to see more webgl. downsides are obviously audio and theme. i know web audio is terrible for games though

Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:18am

Would be one of my favourite submissions if it had better controls. Something like WASD for the movement, J and L for rotating, and K for firing would have been better.

TheSnide says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:26pm

Wow, quite a nice achievement in 48h !

ovenchips says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Cool, uber-retro! I defused the bomb!! Great use of WebGL. BTW, if you like making WebGL games, check out PlayCanvas (I used it for my game).

xrm0 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:37pm

Pretty fun to play! Don't know how it relates to the theme, though

mrjordan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:48pm

Nice callback to Wolfenstein! I got pretty good at the controls by the end. ;)

joekinglake says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:03pm

Impressive piece of work here. I really like this, the only thing i'm not a fan of is the controls.. Technically you've done a really great job - i'd love to see some audio though.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:03pm

Fun but a little bit too easy.

kcpunk666 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:04pm

I looked every where for a secret room. I so hoped there would be one lol. Good job!

milugames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:05pm

Awesome game and quite an achievement for 48 hours.

The controls are frustrating though. Use keys the right hand could push to turn and fire. Or better yet mouse.

I saw no connection with the theme though.

Eric says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:08pm

Nice game! don't know how the theme works but it was nice overall. Some sound would be cool but i have never used webgl so i don't know haw that works

jongtao says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:11pm

This is really awesome. I don't even know how you did all this in 48 hours from scratch. It's fun to play and it was fun trying to figure out why I couldn't go through doors. I shot the bomb, though. :(

minibutmany says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Really fun, quite an achievement!
But I can not seem to figure out how it
relates to the theme....

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:38pm

Love the old retro feel it's the same as wolfenstein XD

TheThirdOne says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:45am

Very nice use of webgl.

shatley123 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:56am

Liked it alot. I don't quite get how it goes with the theme though?

Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:52am

Nice game, good graphics and fun. Good luck! :)

daredevildave says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:08am

It sure is like Wolfenstein. :-)

Nicely done for a game coded from scratch. Good work.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:52am

Great job on finishing this.
With some sound effects it could have been even cooler.

p.s.:Playing fps with just keyboard is hard as hell, I did't remember that, lol.

jomomomo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:38pm

Nice painting of the fearless leader on the walls.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Hey man, I saw your comment on Onion's only chance, you have to press the button when it becomes white, if you want to try it again, try watching the circles and the button becoming white, it won't punish you if you don't press it (that's kind of a cheat, an therefore it's not clear to the player.), it will punish you only if you press it wrongly.

I should have made the game a little bit easier and accessible to everyone.

Thanks for playing it!

JoeManaco says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:27pm

ah.... memories.... ;) cool stuff

tinyangrycrab says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:43pm

Fantastic technical achievement, but sadly missing a few vital elements to be scored on things like audio and innovation!

Still would give 6/5 just for doing it in webgl!

X-0r says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:54pm

Pretty fun game =) Quite easy with 100 HP, though...
Would be great to be able to control the aim with the mouse.
I have no idea about WebGL, so I can only guess from the other comments that it's not easy to use :)
Good job!

Sytech says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Really cool that you've made an FPS in JavaScript!

Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:53pm

Really cool! You brought back Wolfeinstein to life, amazing job ! The game was really fun, I completed it, great work :)

Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:01pm

Yay i kicked ass :) well done using only glmatrix, altough i think the use of jquery for blinking the background is a little bit of overkill xD

SK16Games says ...
Jan 30, 2014 @ 11:00pm

Haha, very fun and nice graphics ;D I actually liked the controls, even though it's not with the mouse on so on. Nice gameplay, think you should make a sequel with more levels or something. 10/10 would shoot the nuclear again! ;D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]