December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Coolest Kids on the Block

by vrld - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Those freshman are the coolest kids on the block. They are so fresh! And their dog-tags are so awesome! What would you give to have one too!

You ask if you can join their gang. They tell you to complete three challenges to earn your own dogtag:

You only get one if you can prove your worth.


The cross-platform version requires LOVE 0.9 to run - http://love2d.org

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#26Humor3.91
#185Overall3.44
#206Fun3.33
#231Mood3.19
#245Audio3.00
#263Theme3.30
#288Innovation3.23
#575Graphics2.78
#965Coolness49%

Comments

cappelnord says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:41am

The dudes are good friends.

leafo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:18am

this game changes the way I think about video games

Cell says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:29pm

Thanks, thanks, thanks.

mtrc says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:32pm

Peer pressure: it's not for everyone. Enjoyed the humour! Also the somersaulting was pretty good fun.

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Cool 90's vibe. Making all the minigames skippable takes away the feeling of accomplishment that you gain when completing them. The ending was abrupt. The somersault game was fun and oh so satisfying to land

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:48pm

I'd jump off a building to get accepted by a group of cool kids.

Cbeed says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:50pm

Thanks to let my skip the beer thing...

Don't like that graphics stile that much but nevertheless the graphics were good.

I enjoyed it!

MarekkPie says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:02pm

What a dorky game ;)

josefnpat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:11am

I completed the challenges! I am the winner! Where's my dog tag now?

SiENcE says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:44am

Haha cool game! Reminds me on new kids on the block. A minigame collection was also our idea, but in the end we only had one scene :).

Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:21pm

LOL. This was really funny. Peer pressure makes you do crazy things.

Sheepolution says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:48pm

That was hilarious! Really funny!

LPGhatguy says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:01am

Digging the vibe of the game.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:54pm

hahahha. So much fun, i love the concept and i this is so great. Good minigames, good work. :D

Diptoman says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:01pm

#YOGO #SWAG
Loved the humor!

Benjamin says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:18pm

nice game, very unusual and neat implementation for the theme.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 9:43am

in her FACE

glovecat says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 1:32pm

I'm not a cool kid :(

Nice job :D

occash says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 4:13pm

Really fun game!!! Very nice concept, guys!

cappelnord says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 5:52pm

LOVED the dudes, especially the guys with the blue and pink shirts. The policemen mini game is also just my taste ... which I don't seem to have!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]