December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Junktion

by Kohijin - Jam Entry

Welcome to the world of Junktion!

You are half automat/half human engineer number 3333.
You are assigned to an experimental reactor in siberia.

In Junktion you have to flee out of the experimental reactor laboratory
while only being able to either hear or see. The facility
is packed full with radioactive anomalies, unable to be
detected by your vision... but your audio reception
seems to pick up the strong interference caused by the radiation.

Observe your enviroment and listen well to survive.

Headphones are highly recomended.

Junktion is a suspense game by Sven Larsen and David Satzinger.

Sound and music was designed by "Strobolyth"

Graphic design by Max Pohlenz.
Testing by Erik Jesse

www.kohijin.org
davidsatzinger.carbonmade.com
www.soundcloud.com/strobolyh
motomax.de

---------



Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#26Mood(Jam)3.93
#42Audio(Jam)3.77
#57Innovation(Jam)3.56
#84Theme(Jam)3.43
#112Overall(Jam)3.48
#126Graphics(Jam)3.85
#311Humor(Jam)2.17
#317Fun(Jam)2.73

Comments

piotrszoka says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:53pm

Wow, the atmosphere is amazing.

Lyje says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:13pm

While I didn't get far due to little feedback on why I was dying, the atmosphere, concept, graphics and audio were all great.

MrTedders says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:03am

Hard to play unless you lock the mouse in the middle of the screen. The atmosphere of it was very creepy tho.

Kohijin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:42am

Ah thanks, mouselock is now enabled in the web version

Toureiro says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:26pm

That was pretty trippy!

ExtreLime says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:22pm

Not bad atmosphere, cool concept, but it's hard to play now.
I couldn't understang where I must go.
Good job however! ;)

Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:52pm

It's very depressing. I think you should do a post-jam on this and make it a little bit easier to get into. But the sense of being loss, being impaired, added with the sense of urgency to get out... and I think radiation is a very good enemy, you can't hear it, you can't see it, you can't run it. These all add to atmosphere, I was holding my breath. But it's not easy to get into. Overall, very nice mood and atmosphere...

JoeManaco says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:36pm

great atmosphere and the idea is brilliant (but i got stuck very soon :( )

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:40pm

The mood, the atmosphere, the creepyness... I LOVE IT! :D It's like Penumbra Overture! I can play this for hours! And I am going to! Really awesome job in 72 hours!

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:50pm

The mood, the atmosphere, the creepyness... I LOVE IT! :D It's like Penumbra Overture! I can play this for hours! And I am going to! Really awesome job in 72 hours!

Also, I am playing it like Penumbra... Not knowing what's going to happen(very depressing). You really feel the adrealine, I kept my breath sometimes. Radiation is a very good enemy to have. You really feel the pressure: "I must get the hell outta here! Otherwise I'll become a dramatic potato-zombie or something(no, not really)!"! It's not to easy, but not to hard I think. I have always wanted to make a game this-style one day, and this is a good inspiration. Not that I am going to make one soon, but yeah.

brogrammers says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:03am

<3

sandbaydev says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:37am

Wow.

That's all.

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:26am

Great concept well executed, I love the "vision" effect when you are your hearing ability, is that a shader or clever geometry? The "you died of radiation" graphics is gross too!

popogames says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:28am

I didn't receive or notice any feedback from the radiation poisoning so I kept dying out of nowhere. I do like the idea of two "visions".

Kohijin says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:38am

Thanks ;) It's basically an off-map treadmill with an image filter applied. Glad you liked it ;)

Kohijin says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:39am

popogames: you didn't 'hear' the radiation?

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:35am

Nice sci-fi horror FPS. The degree of polish is quite high. Like this one!

mortus says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:09am

Insanely complicated, beautiful and polished for a limited time! It's not too obvious why you die at first indeed, and even when you figure it out the game is still pretty hard, but I loved the idea. Theme is pretty strong in it too. I still didn't manage to complete it though.

Maple says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:10pm

Woah. This was amazing. Such an awesome feeling when first presented with the 'sound' place. I couldn't find my way out (the place seemed to be in a big loop) but I had a great time playing it. My first 5/5 thus far.

Dry Tree says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 12:27pm

I found it very difficult to hear any difference - I was playing with headphones on and walked up and down a corridor a few times in just 'audio' mode and still suddenly died out of nowhere without understanding what was different to the last time I walked up that same corridor listening to the sound!? ... quite frustrating and I must admit I wasn't having much fun - however, with a tutorial and a more gentle learning curve this could be really good.

Anyway, graphically this game is superb! Great job :)

local minimum says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 12:42pm

I liked the graphics and the audio, but I didn't really get how to use the combination to survive so I kept failing a lot and mostly navigating visually and guessing where you might have put the traps. However I really like the idea, I just think the game needs to be more clear on how to use the audio. What I mean is it needs to show the player in the beginning exactly how it works. Also a small comment on keys. As left handed on a laptop, having the right hand on WASD + E + Space is really bad. In all a really impressive entry.

Kohijin says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 1:14pm

Thanks for your honest feedback guys! There's actually an entire tutorial section that sadly had to be cut due to time contraints.

yapshuter63 says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Woah. Looked and felt like a full game...

Zerkruemler says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 4:09pm

Very nice idea and implementation. The audio is however too subtle for me. I didn't really hear the difference between ok and dead. Maybe a not so steep learning curve would be nice.

Vi-King Games says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:12am

I didn't die to radiation or understand how the mechanic works... but seeing as most other people seem to have figured it out, I'll just assume I had a bad run through and not rate categories pertaining to that. I'd love to try playing again after a full explanation, the graphics, audio, and mood were great!

Jan 6, 2014 @ 8:02am

Great mood, disturbing, but I always die out of radiations!

LTPATS says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 8:24pm

I liked the use of the theme! The graphics and audio really helped with the atmosphere.

My biggest gripe was the audio feedback for the radiation. It didn't feel very intuitive, at some points I would hear a very obvious "you're gonna die" sound" and walk right through it with no problem, and at other points I would barely hear anything, take a step, and then I was dead. If the feedback / audio cues were a bit more consistent and had a more prominent "fade in/out" effect I think it could really help the overall gameplay experience.

Aside from that it was great and I enjoyed playing it, I made it to the end (that last room was a pain)! Would love to see this developed a bit further!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]