December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Careful Now

by Orangy Tang - Jam Entry

It's a busy day at the hospital and you need to diagnose your patients then create a cure for them by mixing together the correct chemicals.

Be careful though, as you only get one shot at trying to cure each person, so try not to kill anyone.

Careful Now features:

* Realistic fluid simulation! (maybe)
* Accurate cack handedness simulation!
* Physics!
* Thrilling clipboard management!
* Chemistry in action!

Careful Now is not for consumption for children under 5 years old. Do not exceed the recommended dose. If cack handedness persists after closing the game, see a doctor immediately.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#46Innovation(Jam)3.64
#65Humor(Jam)3.40
#184Graphics(Jam)3.52
#216Fun(Jam)3.00
#229Overall(Jam)3.16
#313Theme(Jam)2.64
#415Mood(Jam)2.46
#965Coolness49%

Comments

glovecat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:27am

Great Concept!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:48am

Love the concept. Like QWOP for pharmacists.

spx says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:36pm

oh no, i spilled all the.. wait what was that again :). Very fun way of interacting, but a bit difficult. I can already imagine this with gesture input..

Dry Tree says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:16am

Really great concept and the artwork is very nice too. I found the exaggerated motion of the hands was too exaggerated for my tastes, but overall a great entry. Good work :)

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:08pm

Bonus points for innovation and humour. Loved the patients faces as I slowly and methodically killed them off with my potions. I couldn't tell what I was doing with mixing,so just ended up giving people straight from the shelf and seeing what happened. Excellent control system haha. :D

foumart says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 12:42am

This was totally unexpected :o doctor on a killing spree :D
Really nice physics but carying objects properly was hard. I tried to hold with both hands with no luck. The heating mechanism was cool - it will be nice to have some visual feedback if the liquid is heating up, you can throw some dissoluble pills too :)

Ashedragon says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 3:44am

Very fun, I really enjoyed "accidentally" killing off my patients.

y2bd says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 5:34am

Very difficult, but a very fun and funny game. Might have killed five patients, but I see it as ridding the world of incurable disease before it spreads!

arcticleaf says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 9:34am

fun game, niceee

dqmhose says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 1:02pm

Really loved it although I didn't figure out how to mix the right cure..

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 1:54pm

Wow! I really like this one!
Great Job! Nice idea! :D

folmerkelly says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 2:43pm

Hard as heck but I was into it, loved the graphics too.

GarethIW says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 2:45pm

I liked the cack-handedness simulation system.

01101101 says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 3:55pm

A nice Surgeon Simulator vibe here, really fun! Well done :)

occash says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 8:26pm

Good concept! and it was too hard to control hands) and it was difficult, cause i don't know which liquids are in each bootle....

timothyolt says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 5:41am

Lol loving the surgeon simulator-ness it had to it, good idea, pretty fun even though I couldnt cure anyone. More visual feedback would be a nice way to let the player know what can interact and what cannot.

Dec 27, 2013 @ 4:35pm

Hehe really challenging ! Innovative gameplay, love it very much ! Great work ! emmelineprufrock got it right, QWOP for pharmacists :P

zkenshin says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 11:03pm

Really great idea. Nice entry, well done. :)

Pierrec says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 11:54am

A really funny game! I wrote something about it (in french) : http://oujevipo.fr/20-minutes/1052-careful-now-

Jan 4, 2014 @ 6:28pm

Nice game, lacks some feedbacks on wether i win or didn't on each cure.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]