December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One

by bodsey - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I made the simplest and nicest game I've ever made for this Ludum Dare.
Best wishes everyone, enjoy !

--Jerome @CuveGames
contact@cuvegames.com


(edit : I fixed a typo in the text)
(edit : I added a very simple preloader screen and I moved the game on my website)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness99%
#18Audio3.87
#23Mood3.92
#108Graphics3.86
#158Overall3.50
#464Innovation2.96
#534Fun2.82
#537Theme2.80
#663Humor1.88

Comments

BraindeadGeo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:15am

Hey, don't know if it was just my browser but i couldn't run the game from the link, it opened a blank page.

supremefist says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:20am

I also get a white flash window.

OmegaVesko says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:20am

Same here, blank page on both Chrome and Firefox.

Coblynau says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:23am

Not working in Chrome or IE. :(

milugames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:23am

Yup. No go for me aswell.

turnA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:23am

Can't see anything, just white screen...

bodsey says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:33am

Hi guys, hope you didn't rate if it didn't work ;) Did you wait ? The game takes 30s to load, then there's a big light grey arrow, you have to click on it

BraindeadGeo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:42am

Loaded up for me in the end and it's fantastic!! Probably my favourite game so far. Love the interpretation of the theme, love the gameplay, as soon as I got to the second message I knew I had to reach the end. Great. Love the graphics too.

Kar says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:48am

Hey! Really nice idea. Positive and fun to play game. I was a little worried that my character could die each time he was falling down :)

rorycooke says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:53am

it's amazing, the graphics are really nice and you made me want to find out what was above the clouds

PaulRdi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:38am

Wow! This is why games are awsome! Really nice Graphics + Sound and Truly awsome general asthetic! Congrats on making a immersive game in 48hours! Love it

feizenbara says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:43am

Cuteness overload :-)
There's a little typo in last sentence in the coulds ("aNything")

louis.denizet says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:49am

Très bon jeu,
c'est poétique, ça détend, on comprend directement ce qu'il faut faire, bravo très réussi ;)

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:49pm

Kind of remind me of Braid, graphic-wise! :p
Unfortunately the web version doesn't work for me! :(

reecpj says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:55pm

Very nice, gorgeous graphics. Gameplay is reminiscent of one of Jason Rohrer's games (i forget which)

stenol says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:41pm

Nice little game. I continue to play to see what is over the clound. Nice graphics !

Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:48pm

Really nice little artsy and emotional gamesy here we have...

henrykun says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:02pm

Yes, you have to wait a little bit to play it. At the beginning I was about to tell you that it didn't work but then I saw your comment. Nice idea, is it really your dream or did you make it only for the game?

Donutttt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:22pm

Very good - creative, and fun, with great artwork and sounds. One of the better games I've played so far.

ChaseC says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:57pm

Worked fine for me and I loved the concept. Great job

Mnemusyne says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:59pm

Excellent mood and music.

mortl8324 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:35am

Hey. Awesome game! Really simple, but you get a lovely feeling from playing it. By the way, I edited my game slightly so that you can also use arrow keys instead of WSAD. I completely forgot about that. Hope you try my game out again with functioning controls. Thanks!

miwuc says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:17am

Cute little game, great graphics.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:16pm

Graphismes et musique très sympa, j'aime la poésie qui se dégage de ce jeu

Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:23pm

It's so true! Making ones dreams into games is just the best feeling ever :)

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:52am

Good message

Daveloper says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Good presentation though I needed a bit more communication on how the gameplay works.

jonask says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:27pm

True that :)

OneDee says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:58pm

Beautiful!

hbocao says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:04pm

Beautiful entry! In every sense. The gorgeous art and moody music nails the message in your head. Well done!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 10:19am

Nice! Simple, yet expressive :)

Tom 7 says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 10:08pm

A cute and uplifting little game! I found it strange that I couldn't move around while on the ground, and the controls were generally kind of weird, but the music was super and it was the right length. :)

Xanjos says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 10:27pm

Simple but incredibly relaxing to play. The soundtrack was beautiful and created a really nice atmosphere.

tommakesgames says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 6:15pm

Nice feel to it, but it was difficult to get started - no controls given, what am I meant to do?, how do I jump higher? what is the progression? etc. Music was nice and set the mood for the message, but struggle to find the gold coins and jump higher probably stops people really getting in the mood for what you're saying.

Having said that, it's REALLY hard (impossible?) to gauge the difficulty for this kind of game in 48 hours (I know I probably didn't....!) and it's commendable that you didn't do a game involving bullets, lives and killing (neither did I actually). Well done!

van noctar says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 10:12pm

Very good music!! :D

xrm0 says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 12:52pm

Nice graphics

lotusgame says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 12:51pm

Very cute entry ! Graphics, music and texts give a good mood to the game. I liked it ;)

Atridas says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Nice concept :-)

frogcheese says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 6:50pm

A really pleasant take on the theme that made my heart swell a little. It put me in a good mood, so that's five Mood stars for you, buddy! :)

csanyk says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 5:29pm

I really enjoyed this. You captured the feeling of dreams very well.

Jan Marcano says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:38pm

Awesome!! I really liked the message and the mood of the game. The music was good. The "reaching higher each time" as a main mechanic was spot-on, reflects upon the game's message :)

Loved it!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]