December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Vigilante: Single Shot Justice

by MagnesiumNinja - Jam Entry

The Vigilante: Single Shot Justice is an interactive visual mystery novel. In it, you play as a vigilante trying to stop a murder that she know is going to happen.

Thematically, the correlation to the theme goes a lot deeper than just the title. We won't spoil how, you'll have to find out for yourself!

The game was made in 72 hours by Chris Klassen and Justin Wang of Magnesium Ninja, with music by Abstraction (Made during the first 48 hours for participants).

(NOTE: We edited the download to fix an issue with a sound not playing.)

Thanks for playing! Let us know what you think :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#12Overall(Jam)4.10
#20Mood(Jam)4.00
#40Theme(Jam)3.68
#42Graphics(Jam)4.33
#47Audio(Jam)3.74
#81Fun(Jam)3.47
#125Innovation(Jam)3.28
#240Humor(Jam)2.46

Comments

doitle says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:29am

This is the best LD game I've played yet. Engaging story, nicely drawn graphics, a solid visual novel experience. I will be sending this to others to have them play it too. Great job guys.

whiteknife says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:30am

Great art, good music, and an excellently told and compelling story. Bravo!

jongtao says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:32am

That was really neat. Really good art and story. It was a bit more repetitive than I expected. Although I got kind of got bored after a couple of "mistakes," I played all the way through.

BluShine says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:36am

WOW. Great art, amazing writing, awesome concept. I can't believe this was made in 72 hours! Seriously, good job.

ryanmurakami says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:36am

looooved it. excellent.

Twila says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:43am

I'm sitting dumbfounded trying to think hard at the screen you put up as the 4th screenshot with all the people, guhh... Main thought running through my head is "would they really have made it hinge on who you talk to, or were there clues in the introductory texts"? Reading speed's good, at least for me, but I might read a bit faster than average. Nice use of the music, I think it's important to nail that in a game like this. I'm not sure if the control is in there since I didn't see a description for them, but a "back" function of some sort would've helped. Will also point out that your Source download is only for registered Box users, and that on the readme it currently says LD29, not 28. :) Good luck, friends!

Twila says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:46am

NICE. :)

Kayelgee says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:48am

I didn't like the ending somehow.

stvr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:51am

Really polished, with a great art style. And excellent writing!

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:52am

Very very nice! Nice story, like the twist at the end! Played the whole thing, it was long but I think it was worth it! Nice Story

Thein says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:56am

Wow, that was an amazing story! It had me on the edge of my seat from start to end. Awesome art as well. Definitely the most memorable game I've rated so far.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:03am

I really like the graphics for this, and the music underscores the story nicely.

Lissar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:04am

Nice story! Bit of a silly twist end but it was enjoyable. The flow of the game was a tad confusing and at all times I felt like I was just choosing at random until things happened. I didn't feel much like I had a reason for making choices. Still, overall I enjoyed myself quite a bit!

Good to see other visual novels entered in the jam. I made one as well!

Nick Weihs says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:12am

Man, really nice job you guys.

xgeovanni says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:13am

I REALLY want to play this. Is there no way to port to Linux?

Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:26am

Not that I know of, unfortunately. It was made in GameMaker: Studio, and I don't think it supports Linux :(

HellBlazer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:46am

Great art, and the audio fits the mood very well. Interesting story, if a bit confusing. As Lissar said though, the choices feel very random. It would be cool to see a further developped version in which you could investigate for clues in a more complex fashion.

MrTedders says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:46am

Im a sucker for these types of games. Amazing work! Extremely engaging!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:00am

That was really great. I had a lot of fun with it.

Cipher says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:08am

The graphics were amazing, the music subtle enough not to distract the player but also charming enough to compliment the atmosphere. The story line was incredibly well done! It was immersive though repetitive, but when you factor in the time limit , I could easily see how this kind of story might be the perfect kind of thing to implement

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:30am

Really enjoyed it ! Nice job, from a fan of the art of Storytelling. Happy to see that this kind of game is still practiced !

strong99 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:21am

Nice entry. I liked it!

Scifer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:46pm

I was really surprised as to how well the story was put together in this one. Amazing job! O_o

dark_hunter says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:00pm

Simply amazing game! Enjoyed every second of the experience!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:25pm

Great visual novel! Cool art and story! Congrats!!

KumoKairo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Well, it is a finished, polished and nice looking game. I was astonished by those dialog branches, it's really hard work you've done there. All fives from me!

Novodantis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:00pm

Well written, nice art and very well polished. I thought the theme was really nicely implemented.

tiffi_gaming says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:45pm

Excellent writing

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:56pm

Nice musik and artworks :D I love this. Keep on going!

Piat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:56pm

Very engaging visual novel, nice amount of polish. Keep it up.

glovecat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:04pm

Amazing :)

hadesfury says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:59pm

Good mood ... but kind of wordy ... so don't have the time to got through the end ... but you made a lot of content in short time

Diptoman says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 10:02am

This was a great experience. The style of presentation and the looping gameplay was awesome, though a bit random at times. And the twist in the end, haha. The music did fit in nicely, too. The theme was used nicely, but then having to shoot again and again made its use a bit weaker, but excellent nonetheless.

Dec 26, 2013 @ 3:28am

Amazing artwork ! The writting is excellent ! Great work !

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]