December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You Only Get Juan

by doitle - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Edit: The size is now considerably smaller. I compressed the .wav files and also got rid of some python libraries that were being included but (hopefully) not being used. If it doesn't run for anyone leave a comment and I'll put back in whatever library is missing.

Something has come up, and I will not be able to work on this entry any more today, so I'm submitting as is. If I had more time I was planning to transition into a side-scroller pitfall-style game as you escape from the cavern.

Controls:
Arrow keys to make selections
Space or Enter to select / skip the splash screen
Escape will quit at the end
F11 will toggle fullscreen

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness95%
#122Humor3.33
#283Theme3.26
#400Audio2.71
#436Graphics3.05
#791Mood2.31
#941Innovation2.05
#986Fun1.75
#1000Overall1.93

Comments

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:53am

BAHHAHAHAHAHHA. So great. I laughed unreasonably hard at it

ambi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:54am

I'm stuck at first screen after menu and character selection.

disdanes says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:34am

Loved it.

Piat says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:35am

I also only get to a screen after character selection. Not sure if that is the joke or if its a bug. Unrated until confirmation/fix

doitle says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:52am

The scene after the character select is the end of the game. Something came up and I was forced to submit early before I could continue developing the cavern. If you hit escape at that point it will exit the game. Sorry for the confusion.

Piscythe says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:32am

I did a 40mb download for this. My one suggestion would be to compress your music - each track is over 10mb!

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:40am

I know you didn't get hardly anywhere with this, but it still made me laugh pretty hard.

ErikU says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:18am

Hah, it looked so promising. That's too bad it couldn't continue, it seemed like it had a good style and humour.

ashen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:19am

Ahhh the irony! Why did you even submit this? I wasted almost 10 minutes downloading and then trying to work out what is wrong with the game. Not cool.

Sheep says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:03am

Okay that was hilarious. Sad it was so short.

kbake says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:35pm

I was looking forward to where this was going, the bit there is promising!

vanaficionado says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:43pm

No content? Just a man named Juan lying dead on the ground?am I missing somthing XD? Still gets points for art/music/comedy!

LTPATS says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Even though it's not complete I still really enjoyed it. The use of the theme is fantastic and the abruptness of the ending is actually kinda charming in a way, the music really helps.

@TeddyNashor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:43pm

stuck on your second screenshot screen?

Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:46pm

I don't know if I should rate it as if the final product was what you had intended all along because it's pretty entertaining on its own. And the music is nice.

ResponSyS says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:49am

I knew I was the only one that would have this idea!

ResponSyS says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:53am

wasn't*

seagaia says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:22am

The character select was funny

MrTedders says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:32pm

It was a pretty amazing experience. Good work!

Lacutis says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:09am

Funny, I wish I would have known it wasnt finished but I'll give you credit for theme heh.

I put a windows version of my LD up like you asked for if you want to check it out.

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:49pm

Cool graphics, but there wasn't anything happening after the char selection

suoraviiva says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:28pm

A bit short ;) Looking promising, though!

30dogs says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:31pm

Hilarious. Too bad we don't get to see the finished product. I find myself having trouble giving you a low score on anything besides Fun.

Bruno Massa says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:20am

CRAZY! hahahaha loved it.

doitle says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:18am

I really hope Lost King is planning to post the soundtrack for this somewhere for download.

doitle says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:23am

^ is meant for another game. Press X to Win specifically...

GarethIW says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:46am

Hahaha, worth it for a giggle. Shame you didn't have time to make the actual game ;)

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 10:25am

so much potential D:

huhwhozat says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 12:19am

I can sum this up with one word: Heh.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]