December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Unicode

by natpat - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I made this in about 6 hours on Sunday night. It started as a joke... who am I kidding, it ended as a joke too.

WASD to move, and R to generate a new random level.
You're searching for the '>' in each level. Which is the stairs. Avoid the angry faces. Collect the money. Don't get caught in the traps.

I had originally envisioned that you could kill the enemies, and every time you got to a chest you could choose from two new weapons - without knowing what either of them did.
A bit too adventurous for 6 hours, but that was what I would have liked to do.

I'm so sorry about the code as well. There's no objects. It's not commented. I have no idea what half of the variables do. It's all basically in one file. Don't learn from this :L

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#597Humor2.00
#619Mood2.59
#677Fun2.60
#740Overall2.72
#786Innovation2.44
#788Theme2.36
#798Graphics2.29
#1141Coolness45%

Comments

X-0r says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:59am

A dungeon random generator within 6 hours? Even if there isn't really much to *do*, it's a nice litte gameworld which you created. Might check the source for the ASCII-display, since I wanted to code one myself a while ago, but didn't know where to start^^

GravityScore says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:41am

Cute little game. Had fun playing it! The enemy AI is a bit iffy though.

Dir3kt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:23am

Hate those O's haha.

moop says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:07pm

Nice dungeon generator and fun to play despite the simplicity. The graphics remind me of making games with that O-umlaut character as the hero on the ZX Spectrum.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:29pm

For six hours I'm super impressed :P Not sure how the enemies/AI/pickups work but I love the graphics.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:42pm

Very nice work for 6 hours - wasn't immediately obvious what the objective of the game was but hey it's 6 hours of work. :P

Several says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:06am

This is far more engaging than it ought to be. I'm not sure why I enjoyed playing it. Maybe the variety in the world-generation? Maybe the tension of passing through small spaces peppered with erratically-moving and instantly fatal oafs, balanced with the smooth sailing through larger-but-not-too-large, relatively safe areas? Maybe the abstraction? Maybe the font? I don't know. I liked it.

tobbez says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:10pm

Would be nice with some kind of goal, avoiding the AI is not enough alone and score seemed to be more or less depend on random how much you cuold get.

van noctar says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:37pm

I like the gameplay ! A lack of animations....

xrm0 says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 12:32pm

Fun

joppiesaus says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 5:25pm

This is REALLY much content for 6 hours, I mean I can't even do that in 48 hours! I am really impressed.

Jan 5, 2014 @ 10:30pm

For 6 hours of work this is nothing to sneeze at, unless you have a cold in which case you should sneeze at whatever game you happen to be playing because you're sick. This game is strangely captivating. One life, one goal, one set of characters... I could easily see myself sinking hours of my life into this if I had nothing else to do.

foumart says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 12:04am

Dungeon generation here is nuts, amazing for 6 hours game. Reminds me of those oldschool Basic 8 bit games written in 256 characters of code.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]