December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Javel-ein

by Managore - Jam Entry

^---- JUMP STRAIGHT INTO THE GAME! ----^

(or keep reading for additional information)



******Controls******

[A]/[Left] - Move left
[D]/[Right] - Move right
[W]/[Up]/[Space] - Jump
[Mouse] - Aim and shoot
[Esc] - Go to menu



******Description******

You only get one javelin! Using it together with your magnificent wit and skill, you must defeat all the enemies in each area before claiming the crown as your own. For an additional challenge, there are fabled jewels scattered throughout your journey. Collect all twelve so that no one will ever dare to doubt your finesse!

Thank you so much for playing my game, I really hope you enjoy it! Please let me know what you think of the game in the comments below.

UPDATE: I've made an updated version with slightly improved sound, a timer, some minor level tweaks and a boss level at the end! You can skip straight to the boss level by pressing "B" on the title screen, but that's not recommended for new players. If you rate my game, please base the rating off the original version, as the updated version was made outside the time frame of the jam.

UPDATE AGAIN: I've finished a full version of Javel-ein with 60 improved levels split into 4 chapters and featuring multiple bosses, a story, music and lots of small changes. Please check here or at http://managore.wordpress.com/javel-ein/ for more information!



******Frequently Asked Questions******

Q. I've reached the crown but I can't progress. Why not?
A. Make sure to defeat all the enemies in the level first. When you've done so, the crown will produce a beam of light to show you how eager it is to adorn you.

Q. What are the yellow spiny things?
A. Optional collectibles! There are twelve of them altogether. You can see how many you've collected in the bottom of the screen.

Q. I threw the javelin into the lava. What do I do?
A. Throw yourself into the lava as well. If you get really stuck somehow, press escape and then click continue.

Q. How do I turn off the sound?
A. You can turn the sound on or off by pressing the musical note on the title screen.

Q. How many levels are there?
A. There are currently seventeen.

Q. Will the game be available on Mac/Linux?
A. Probably not. I'd love for everyone to be able to try out my game but at this point I just have no way to produce a Mac or Linux build.



******Software & Misc. Used******

- GameMaker Studio
- Adobe Photoshop CS6
- Bfxr
- DB's 16 Color Palette (http://www.pixeljoint.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=12795)



******Thanks******

Many thanks to:

- Tacospice, for suggesting the name.
- #ludumdare, for being great company.
- Caffeine, for keeping me awake.
- All the great comments and feedback.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Fun(Jam)4.24
Coolness84%
Overall(Jam)4.31
#4Theme(Jam)4.36
#28Graphics(Jam)4.41
#48Innovation(Jam)3.62
#76Mood(Jam)3.56
#216Humor(Jam)2.54
#365Audio(Jam)2.49

Comments

mcapraro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:56am

this looks soooo cool, but i dont have a windows machine :(

Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:28am

LOVE the art style! This deserve more attention!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:57am

Sweeeeeeeeeeeeeet.

If it only had sound, it would be the perfect game!
Oh, and maybe press-and-hold to show the throw arc.

The first time I played the first level with a bat in it, I got all the first 3 enemies with a single throw. It was glorious.

I couldn't beat the level with all the bats attacking from above, although I tried about a million times. Still fun though.
The controls are very tight, and whenever you fail, it doesn't feel like it's the game's fault.

Overall a solid 5/5 despite the lack of audio.
Also bonus points for the amazing name, I wonder who came up with it?

alvarop says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:57pm

I liked it. The mechanic is a bit tedious, but it goes well with the theme. The graphics and style are very cohesive too. Good job!

Daniel Debert says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:14pm

That's a nice game you have there. It would be a shame if someone wouldn't play it :)
Aaaand! THE FLOOR IS LAVA ;_;

Rahazan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:17pm

Great game. It is, in my opinion (as far as I have seen/played) the game that executes on the theme the best. It's very challenging too, if you can find time you should add music (7 hours for that left!)

Rahazan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:17pm

See comment, I -loved- it.

bitslap_ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:23pm

Awesome art, reminds me alot of Fez, which is a good ting. I liked the mechanic with having only one javel-ein but it felt a bit long between dying and getting back to were you died. Anyway, very cool game.

DallOner says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:06pm

GREATTTT Combo! You are amazing man! Really good gameplay!

pkenney says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:22am

Check out your game because we had the same core idea: throw your weapon, and then have to go get it. Wanted to see your take. Loved it! Played a bunch.

I almost quit at the part where the arrows shoot over a pit with four of the back-n-forthers in it. Just so much waiting in between each failure. But I persevered and had some fun! Loved scoring multi-kills, I think my best was a quad.

doitle says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:41am

Throwing the javelin is so satisfying. Really fun and frustrating game that feels very polished already.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:42am

Best game I've played yet! So good I actually stopped everything just to beat it.

Managed to get 11 of those jewel things and beat the game. Wonder what happens when you beat the game with all jewels...

Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:13pm

Awesome game. Really liked the one javelin thing, made the game challenging. The only thing missing was music. And the jump sound was a little hurtful to the ears. Other than that the game was really great.

TomboFry says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:24pm

Very nice looking, would love to hear some music, it would add a great atmosphere to the game, especially if it was just ambient music

Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:38pm

Probably the best in LD I have seen so far, great work! Too bad the sounds didn't make it to entry version. Very beautiful work. Congrats!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:40pm

really good man :)

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:49pm

Excellent work!
Gameplay is very clear and additive.
But sound so terrible as hell. Really, I got headache =(

Ditto says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:07pm

Stunning graphics, really good controls, really good game! A bit frustrating with the long delay before respawning maybe, :P

Managore says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:10pm

Thank you for the great comments and feedback, everyone!

SpellingPhailer, SaintHeiser: I'm really sorry you found the sounds jarring, I'm not very experienced when it comes to audio (which is also why there isn't any music) so it's still a challenge to make the sound effects suitable and unobtrusive. Thanks for letting me know!

Gravedrinker says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:27pm

Awesome graphics and feel to it. Creates a nice atmosphere and has a good amount of content. Well done.

scoopsy says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:22am

I'm on OSX - too bad, as this looks wonderful!

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:23am

Very very very nice game! Really cool!

sandbaydev says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:28am

Hahhah, witty idea about one-javelin-that-you-must-throw-and-then-get back! Good job.

Luv the art style.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:33am

Whaha I had the *exact* same idea! Went for a pirate game with only one cannonball in the end though. Unfortunately I'm on Linux too, so can't play. Judging (not rating) from your video, I would recommend using different sounds, especially for jumping.

vapgames says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:10am

Awesome game, really long, haven't finished it yet, good thing there's continue. Nice choice of colors.

zebi24 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:49am

I am really enjoying this one!

BrothersT says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:04pm

Great work! completed the game. Nice graphics too :)

sknoslo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:56pm

Really great game, and nice execution of the theme. My only complaint is that the sounds don't really fit the overall aesthetics of the game. Other than that, definitely in the top 5 entries I've played so far.

Muciojad says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Probably best game which I could play to this time ;) Amazing!!!
BTW I love this graphics.

Threef says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:40pm

Simple, beatiful and with great gameplay!

rubna says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:42pm

Hey, I'm not the only one who made a game featuring a spear! I really like the game. Responsive controls, a LOT of levels and beautiful art! Didn't make it all the way through to the end, but I got a long way.

Nice job!

Maple says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:50pm

This is great! I played right through till the end. I didn't realise that there were secret things to collect until a couple of levels in, so by the time I'd finished the game I had missed some from the start. I like the art direction a lot, but I feel like it could slightly have been amped up a little. I can't really say how. Physics were nice -- no abuse of slippery physics. You had a nice batch of levels for me to play through which was also nice. I really wish it had music though. I think that was the one main thing it was missing. Oh and I like those enemy plant things that extend at you. I mean, they can be quite devilish but I really like their design. Especially the "... oh fuck" when you threw your javelin near it without killing it and had to sacrifice yourself to restart the level. Great job, man.

Shaun Lebron says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:58pm

I like the excitement of combo kills and the danger of losing your javelin. Thanks for all the levels as well. A very new and fun experience!

Atmospherium says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:32am

Really cool art design and gameplay. Good enemy variety for a jam game. I think it would be better to smooth out the camera a bit, as it tends to feel a bit too floaty and disorienting.

Dr. Mo says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:40am

It's nice to see a game with some challenge. Nice implementation of You Only Get One Weapon.

kutullu says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:08am

Amazing game! Art style reminds me of Fez. :)
Cheers, Marcus

csanyk says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:07am

This is really great. The last (?) level is impossible, but I really liked the mechanic. Come back and add sound effects and share your source, it's a well done game that deserves to show off its code:)

csanyk says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:22am

Just beat the boss in the enhanced version! It was epic, wish I'd video captured that fight. This is one of the best games I've played in a long time. Everything about it is superb. Your level design is impeccable.

Managore says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:39am

Firstly, thank you all so much for trying out my game! I'm really happy with how the game turned out and I'm delighted that so many people have enjoyed it!

Secondly, because of all the feedback and suggestions I've put together an updated version. The updated version includes:

* Slightly better balanced sound effects, and a more subdued jumping sound. It's still nowhere near perfect but hopefully it's getting closer.
* A boss level! I felt the game should finish up with a bit more of a bang.
* A timer. You can enable this by clicking on the stopwatch on the top right corner of the title screen. It keeps track of your total playing time from when you click "new game" to when you beat it. If you like, you can post a screenshot of your best time!
* Slight level tweaks. Only one or two, and you'll barely notice them, but they should make a couple of the levels work a bit smoother.
* A small reward for collecting all twelve jewels.
* The continue button now works between game exits.

I'd still like to add music but it'll take some time. I'll share the source eventually but I'd really like to clean it up first.

Zerkruemler says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:46pm

Cool retro graphics and fitting sounds. Well done platformer with accurate controls. I liked it, although I am not a fan of platformers. The shooting bullets made it too difficult for my skill.

Madball says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:58pm

Awesome game! And it's actually finished. Nothing to add here. Excepting for music and better sounds maybe.

Diptoman says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:12pm

Awesome work. A simple idea, yet beautifully and perfectly executed. It's the little things you've added/paid attention to that give it a nice touch, the scrolling from the starry sky at the start of each level, the yellow..thingy to get in each level, those little flowers and so on. Really liked it. The application of the theme is perfect. One wrong throw and it's equal to dying.

GFM says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:11pm

Beautiful game! And, although hard, very fun! Actually, it's not really "although hard" because I like challenging games. XD

The levels well really well made!

Great work!

nka says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:18pm

Totally awesome. Great use on theme. Mechanics is also great. love this entry.

TijmenTio says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:25pm

Great use of the theme! Only thing I can really complain about is the lack of music.. But yeah, great job man

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Absolutely superb! Feels so crisp and juicy to play. Really appropriate sounds and the artwork is to die for. The collectables added another dimension and it really felt good to throw that javelin and score multiple hits. Interesting AI patterns from the beasties, all in all a pretty much flawless entry... oh go on then, music please ;)

DhantonGames says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 9:37pm

The best game I've played so far :D

ViliX says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 3:28pm

I love the FEZ-like graphics :)

skiesgamingtv says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 4:11pm

Amazing gameplay and graphics, and nice patterns.
I quickly forgot I was playing a LD game and loved the experience :) Will you keep working on it?
You can see my (french) review here at :
http://youtu.be/M9Y2cf3VvxM

Managore says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 4:30am

Thank you for the kind words, everyone! I'm currently developing an extended version with forty levels split into four chapters, with a new type of enemy and a boss for each chapter. If all goes well there will also be music and a story to give the game more depth! Here are a few teaser screenshots:

http://imgur.com/a/kh7T4

I'm aiming to finish the extended version within a week, but we'll see!

Raphy says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 3:30pm

Very nice game, interesting mechanic and idea. One of the best entries I have played so far !

rosa89n20 says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 4:03pm

This game is kind of hard actually, you want to throw your javelin properly and try not to throw too far in the same time. very interesting :D

Ludipe says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 10:22pm

Simply amazing, the best thing I've played during this Ludum Dare. The concept was fun, original and required a lot of strategy. The art and level design were also great.

rezoner says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 8:34am

Oh, wish I could play. Screens looks sweet. Linux cannot run it (even with WINE) - "Cabinet is not valid"

Cake&Code says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 8:33pm

Great work!! The game mechanic is nice, and I think the graphics really work together well to establish a clear mood and direction for the game. Controls are really fluid and it's very polished. Great work on the game!!

DallOner says ...
Jan 20, 2014 @ 7:16am

FUCK YEAH!!! look this Trophy! Im really enjoy ur game!

Check this out!
http://postimg.org/image/6j4u0ihyn/

binasa says ...
Jun 30, 2017 @ 5:45pm

Fully zoomable, offline maps that shows your location and points of interest around you (your location is shown on the map). http://download-software-gratis.com A hidden encrypted disk is a disk created at the back portion of an outer encrypted disk file.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]