December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Impressive Dog

by EricTheCoolDude - Jam Entry

After spending several weeks in a pet shop, a little girl walks in and you realize she might be the one. Your new owner! However, it seems like she's having a hard time choosing who she wants to take home, and she can only choose one!

You need to impress the girl with cool tricks and listen to her commands to show what a good dog you are. Then she'll take you home, for sure!

By Eric Bradford and Olivia Bergstrom
http://makebabi.es

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#12Graphics(Jam)4.57
#17Humor(Jam)3.89
#21Mood(Jam)3.98
#21Overall(Jam)3.96
#30Innovation(Jam)3.73
#46Fun(Jam)3.67
#55Audio(Jam)3.70
#88Theme(Jam)3.40
#965Coolness49%

Comments

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:21am

This game is so good I don't even know what to say... Really cute graphics, cute music, gameplay was really nice too. (being a dog is hard, she kept asking me to stand and never asked me to do a frontflip. If I saw a dog doing a frontflip I'd probably buy it!) Just really amazing. Awesome job!

OnionBlaze says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:08am

Aah, too cute~

pereubu says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:09am

This game is just like overflowing with cuteness, omfg.
great job on the art ( especially animations ), now add guns

Spierek says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:38pm

Fantastic game!

martys says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:42pm

I just love this game! It's cute, it's funny, it matches the theme in an unpredictable way and it has amazing graphics. Love it! :)

Geoege says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:47pm

Just perfect, really really enjoyed it.
Maybe just missing some guns.

Jilt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:27pm

Aaaah this game is perfect ;_;
I felt so terribly alone and bruised when at the end I had like -3000 and she chose an other dog ... Why doesn't she want a so cute and so adorably retarded backflipping puppy ?

Tonasz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:35pm

Cute, adorable and I can't stop doing backflips! <3 Good I got xbox controller, because I feel pad controls done a lot better.

ZYXer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:04pm

Amazing graphics and art style! And a cute story! Well done!

The keyboard controls are a bit too sensitive tough.

kookoon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Tony Hawk's ...cute puppy!
Original game! Loved it. :D
My best: 9050.

Riilu says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:09am

Awww, very cute. :) I enjoyed it a whole lot. But it doesn't fit in with the theme at all.

Jimun says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:27am

Very cute art style.

Donutttt says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:22pm

Amazing, one of the best so far. Great sounds, graphics, and general style. Fun to play and well executed. Really impressive, well done!

Hyde Wyvern says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:02am

Everything on this entry is a huge 5/5 And DAAAAMN THE DOG IS THE CUTEST THING ON EARTH!!!! :3 Is the cutest game so far, the graphics are amazing. It's also sooo fun tu play! I'm like the coolest dog in the entire kennel, my high-score was like 15000. Fantastic Work!

Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:49am

you get ALL the stars! I did not see anything like this before.nice idea, great execution, offers quite a giggle!

Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:27pm

This is amazing! My highest rated entry so far, kudos!!!!

Clavus says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:37pm

Cute, great art, and nice concept. Not much depth to the gameplay though.

Moosefly says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:19pm

Lovely artstyle, but I could've used some barking and whimpering sound effects. This feels like the beginning of a nintendogs-esque game :P.

Shame on the people wanting guns in this! It's obvious that replacing the dog with a human male is far more important right now. For reasons.

minibutmany says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:10am

This is cute and fun, and a little tricky too. Nice job!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 10:01am

Best thumbnail image evar~

mmickyman says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 11:48am

Amazingly cute and impressively well done.

glovecat says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 2:28pm

It'a a really cute game! Graphics, sound, gameplay... But mother's voice it's a little manly :S
Great work!

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 4:31pm

Perfect game, simple funny and a lot of fun! I kept playing until I got an A!

Dec 24, 2013 @ 6:58pm

Nice game. Good work! :-)

mobyvb says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 6:58pm

Definitely one of my favorite games so far.

Dec 24, 2013 @ 9:10pm

This is great entry. Good show. But I think the rotation speed is too sensitive. Its either the camera follow is too eager to catch up or the dog just rotates too fast.
Definitely better with the controller. I can imagine a fun split screen multiplayer mode where two people compete for the girl.

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 7:43am

This game is overloaded with cuteness!

ashen says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 12:22pm

Clever use of the theme and fun gameplay. My niece would absolutely love this game!

anvoz says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 2:30pm

So cute! Lovely graphics and music.

The instructions were quite hard to remember. Perhaps you should let the girl tell you exactly which combination keys you should press, like "Roll: left right left right A B".

local minimum says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 4:29pm

Nice graphics! Got a hang of the controls only first after pushing various buttons before stumbling onto P (so maybe add some "How to play" to the menu). A little comment to the girls comments also, it would feel better if they come after the animation is completed rather than as soon as one e.g. presses the combination for playing dead. I all a nice little game though.

dudsen says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 7:03pm

Alway missed puppies in Tony Hawk games ;) . Lovely.

Alex Higgins says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 2:11pm

Ugh this is too cute

zkenshin says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Quite adorable!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]