December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Choose Wisely

by zconnelly13 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Whew! Finally done.

Level up! But you only get one upgrade :) Explore this sizable 2d world with your pet. Solve interesting puzzles. Collect all the stars you can!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#92Theme3.68
#171Overall3.47
#268Humor2.87
#306Fun3.17
#399Innovation3.04
#414Mood2.89
#414Graphics3.09
#757Audio1.45

Comments

westonrh says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:22am

Really enjoy your game. Kitteh is by far my favorite part. I enjoy having the companion by my side as I try to get all the stars. And your joke with the mouse companion. Pretty funny.

timtipgames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:01am

I was suprised by the amount of choices and stuff to see. Well done!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:02am

Much doge. Very game. Wow.

Snail_Man says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:03am

Nice mechanic! I had a lot of fun with this one, although the jump did feel rather floaty at times, and the collisions were occasionally dodgy.

ambi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:04am

What did the doge do? Overall a very enjoyable platformer and certainly one of the games I have spent the most time so far. Many different mechanics which you get to pick.

insane66 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:06am

I was having fun, then got a little frustrated - probably do to my poor choices, haha. Art style was interesting, a few spots the plain background made it hard to judge how fast/far the moving platform was moving. Good entry.

JoeProgram says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:08am

Cool - every time I chose a power, I wondered what the other ones would be. Particularly for more limiting choices like wall jumps - it would be cool to see how to get through the level in a different way.

The controls felt floating to me, and I had a hard time telling when I could safely fall down, and when I would be falling into oblivion.

thatwhichis says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:23am

I enjoyed having un kitteh and also the poorness of all my choices. THEY WERE SO POOR X-D

Phil River says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:29am

Two words: Rock Solid. I would love to see this one as a finalist.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:37am

Hahahaha, the art is amazing!
I just love the style!

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:42am

Why thank you :) sharpie + paper, haha.

zzzev says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:56am

I love the general feeling of the game, like I'm in a meme-ified hand-drawn mario. The different upgrades are well-implemented too, though anyone who picks something other than kitteh needs their head examined.

tklovert says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:01am

I actually really liked this. It would have been cool to incorporate even more "you only get one"s but even the jump itself was a cool idea.

On a side note: you asked if I could port my game for Mac, but I don't think it's very simple to do in GameMaker without actually owning a Mac. Sorry! I think there is some software to let you run .exe's on a Mac, but it may not be worth it haha.

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:14am

Yea, I actually had a few more ideas for "you only get one's" but I just ran out of time and the game became pretty hard to balance as it was :p.

Awh sadface. Yes it has become abundantly clear that I'll need to install / configure wine (so I can run .exes) on a mac so I can rate all of these cool games!

y2bd says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:29am

Gotta get dat doge.

Good platformer, one of the better ones I've played today.

pkenney says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:43am

I love the art style! Comes together with the humor really well, and I liked getting to choose mechanics. I'm sure open crates was better, but who can say no to "more gravestones"?

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:12am

Very nice idea!

loggs2 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:58am

I really liked the choices and it fit the theme really well. Plus I got to run around with my kitteh!!

Piat says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:20am

Love the hand drawn style, interesting set up, some smart design. Given a choice who isn't going to pick a doge, such loyalty, much platforming, very game design, wow.

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:41pm

Please take note that those of you leaving "doge-style" comments are my favorite kind of people. Much love. Very community. Wow.

disdanes says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:44pm

Great game with some great mechanics! I tried all the pets and definitely kitty is the best :) Wall jump was my favorite jump skill! Definitely has a mario vibe with collecting the stars!

Thom.Probus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:03pm

Great game, nice "homey" feel to it reminds me of old skool video games from my boyhood. Like the fact that it offers multiple levels to challenge the more experienced user. Not something I'd get tired of quickly like my old Atari

QmA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:04pm

This was quiet fun. The pet companion was a nice touch. The art work is nice, simple and clean. Loved it!

The only improvement I would suggest is some kind of time limit to add some urgency to the game.

dqmhose says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:11pm

Really cool!! Love the art style and gameplay, theme is really nice worked into it. It's a bit slow paced, other than that, I like it :)

SamH says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:33pm

Nice puzzles overall, and interesting replay value. I kinda wished the jumps were a bit more "nervous"; right now they feel like the character is floating.

anvoz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:41pm

Cute game. I like the concept. The game was very innovative and entertaining.

voltorben says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:04pm

Really impressed with the overall complexity! All the choices, and the sizes of the levels where great.

One thing that annoyed me a lot, though, was the controls, and if it hadn't been for that, i would definitely have taken another go to try some of the other mechanics. (It's was to slow. Felt like low gravity, but i weighed a ton).

I really missed some sounds and music... But with all the mechanics i'm surprised you got it done in time :) good work and cool graphics. Solid entry!

lorniebear says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:26pm

This is the best game I've played so far! I think that the replay value is fantastic, and the idea is great too!

ziomorti says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:01pm

Nice concept. Maybe needs a little polish but I liked the idea! Good work!

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:12pm

Yea, I actually had some music picked out, but I didn't finish as much art as I wanted.

My jump mechanics I will definitely polish next time. Thank you all for the amazing feedback!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:24pm

Interesting choices. Making it look like a drawing was a nice touch.

Lizzip says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:36pm

Great use of the theme, and really like these graphics

LTPATS says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:55pm

I liked playing this :D clever use of the theme, and I think it's good that you let the players restart to collect more stuff!

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Nice set of choices and cool art style. Well done.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:41pm

I liked the game, I had some fun and I appreciate the level design, it was pretty good. The jumping control on other hand, doesn't feel very nice, especially when double jumping.
Btw, I loled at the mouse sprite.

Vi-King Games says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:17pm

Yay, it works in Firefox too! The graphic style was great.
Funny thing is, I only found this game because it has nearly the same name as mine (CHOOSE W1SELY).

Donutttt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:32pm

I like this, really fun, and I like the choice mechanic. The graphics are interesting, and overall the game was good. Great work!

Anachron says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:33pm

Nice level of variety in a platformer package. Very cute and nice critters, kitteh!

blasmena says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:00pm

very good! wish you were faster though.

squibbons says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:08pm

No clue what the pets did, but I liked the concept of only getting one ability from each of the selections. Made the gameplay very unique and gives reason for replayability. =)

Gtoknu says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:23am

bronze, nah ): awesome concept of only choosing one upgrade!

Yay, the design skills of yours are way better than mine, such huge levels!! Wonderful game, thanks for the fun!

zebi24 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:39am

Great use of theme! Love how many different ways you get to build your player. This game rocks!

@TeddyNashor says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:42am

Nice game :). My kitteh is super cute n.n

MarekkPie says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:12am

Very well thought out. It can be hard to design a level to make sure all upgrades are viable.

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:29am

@MarekkPie - that was definitely a challenge and was probably the most challenging part of this dare. It was very helpful to have a few playtesters at my disposal that identified bugs / make suggestions / identify parts of the level that made you get stuck with certain upgrade combinations.

Playtesters are so clutch!

Anoarith says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:06am

It's funny that we had the same approach for our games :). Your game was very nice, especially this paper-like background *-*

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:11am

jump was a bit dodgy, which made the game very difficult. the art style was excellent. :-) nice work.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:01am

The graphics were spot on. Great work.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:03am

I like the choice to try and make it all look like a line drawing. The paper background is a nice touch. When I chose double jump I found that it didn't work. So I could not play level 3.

Sean Noonan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:13am

Cute art. I wasn't sure why on some levels I didn't get a bonus selection...

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:39am

@doctorscientist, hmmm strange, I think something the double jump mechanic where your second jump's power is increased the closer you are to the peak of your jump was confusing for some people and that's probably what happened : /

@Sean Noonan
Yea I didn't have enough time to implement all of the power ups I'd like >.< haha, so it was every other level (and the intermediate levels were designed to teach you the skill you just learned

Spelchan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:16am

Pretty fun but the jumping/movement just didn't feel right.

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:48am

This is a pretty solid little platformer, all things considered, and I like that you've interpreted the theme to revolve around character customization.

ryann says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:06am

Went straight for the kitteh. I actually liked the floating movement but maybe it could have been a little more difficult.

acronaut says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:26am

nice idea of progressing the levels with single choice of new skills, and I like the companion choice. I had to say it; doge, such companion, much determination, wow!

Vladp995 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:52am

Very sweet variety of stuff to choose from, sad there is no sound.

john_conder9 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:08am

Very well polished, really fitting choice of graphics (hilarious btw, mouse hahaha!) and the amount of content is great. It's brilliant the way you've integrated the theme with the replayability of the game, great implementation!

bernard1998 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:34am

I know I'm going against almost everyone here but the only thing I didn't enjoy about the game was looking at it. I think there could have been a little more effort with character and pet. I like the steady, slow pace of the game. A lot of content for a game made in 72 hours. Great job :)

MadcoreTom says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:29am

It felt a little slow to move around. Other than that it was good

SenorDiablo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:46pm

yeyeeahh1

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:01pm

@Spelchan
@ryann
@MadcoreTom

The movement is definitely something I will improve upon next time! I really appreciate this kind of feedback ^_^

dekkuran says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:37pm

Great game and level design. Loved that all the different options giving you complete different ways to solve the level. I liked the Doge best. But I lost him at one point.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:45pm

good mechanic man.. like the art style aswell :)

alcorrius says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:29pm

Amazing style! But my dog fall down few times =\

BradleySmith says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:33pm

Love the hand drawn feel to the art. :)

ob6160 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:46pm

Really love this game, the sketch pad artwork really works :D

Ariake81 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:31pm

gets better and better the more you play. great!

ViliX says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:34pm

Interesting game, but you should work on animations. Overall 4/5 :)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:35pm

Nice game, a little bit slow, but nice.

henrykun says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:04pm

I didn't expect the mouse!! hilarious :D. Nice graphics and mechanics too.

lorniebear says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:38pm

Still my favourite... keep coming back to play it!

Coblynau says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:03pm

Doge of course :)

JaJ says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:10pm

My kitteh fell into a cliff, but somehow reappeared the next level. I may only get one kitteh, but it still got 9 lives!

I like how you used the theme, It makes perfect sense and yet I didn´t think of it.

omaha says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:11pm

I love the drawing style graphics, really nice aesthetic. I probably spent longer playing this than anything else today - its very involved (double jump ftw).

johnfn says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Aha! I almost gave up on the last level because it was so big, but I powered through in the end!

Nicely done! I especially like the take on the theme and how it leads to multiple playthroughs. It's been said before but I felt like the controls were a tad too slow and floaty. I really like the whiteboard approach to graphics. It'd be neat if you could get everything in that style (I'm thinking of the level and star count).

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Ah yes, the original plan was to make a font using one of those font sheets you print out and scan and draw the letters / symbols with a similar style but, sadly, I ran out of time :p.

Just due to the nature of choosing different upgrades a TON of my time was spent on level design (which I'm pretty newb at to begin with) and tweaking each little thing so that you can complete every level with any combination of skills!

Last ludum dare I think I got stuck on some silly issues (like spending too much time tweaking things that didn't matter) and I fixed that this go-round. But next time I think I need to do some more things outside the 48 hours (like art). And design simpler (but still fun!) levels so that it doesn't take so long to adjust them.

I really appreciate all the feedback and support ^_^

Kimau says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:33pm

Loved the aesthetic, the choices and general construction. Solid level design to boot.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:03pm

Interesting. I really liked how you could get a pet very early in the game to travel with you. The game could have used some audio to go along with the nice graphical style.

darkblue says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:58pm

I see that my choices allow me to pick certain stars and not the others, but I do not see any finality in this game. Otherwise quite pleasant and smooth.

psychonull says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:11pm

Good job! Loved the upgrades idea, and well executed.

recursor says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:18pm

I love the Kitteh!

jdpalmer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:27pm

Nice puzzles and level design that really considers the choices made in the game.

DavidErosa says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:41am

Nive game! You put a lot of effort on the different choices, thanks!

raisedmedia says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:52am

Awesome take on the theme, wish we had done it.

MrTedders says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:05am

lol the doge

Managore says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:06am

I really liked the idea of choosing your upgrades (and pet (much wow)). I also enjoyed that you could start again while keeping the stars that you'd found, which meant you could collect all of them eventually. My main complaint is that the movement felt rather slow and floaty, which made it frustrating to play at times.

yapshuter63 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:35am

Wow! Great interpretation on the theme! I <3 KITTEH

Hyde Wyvern says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:35am

Such a wow, very doge, much fun!

MatrixBai says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:44am

I'm not fan of platformer genre, but this game is really interesting.

InfN555 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:38am

I like the grey background

raarlac says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:41am

Wow. Such graphics. Many ratings. Very humor.

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:57pm

This is by far the game I've played the longest. Real good gameplay and I like the doodle graphics!

Superb job!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:39pm

Really interesting, good gameplay! Liked to be able to choose my combinations of skills! :D

Diptoman says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:50pm

Doge, definitely Doge.

Overall it's very neat and really good use of the mechanic! If I had to complain about anything, that'd be the jump speed.

Nazariglez says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:11pm

Very interesting concept game, only a one pet, only a one jump, etc..., music it's cool, and visual art too, good job!

local minimum says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Probably the best use of a theme I didn't much appreciate. The controls were really smooth and kitteh a reliable companion even if it went astray at times. Kittehns tend to do that though I suppose.

veiadoida says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:02pm

platform games never gets too old. nice levels, great game!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:28pm

I'm going to throw in with the rest here and say: this is a solid game. The controls of the wall jump were cool: reminiscent of super metroid. I chose un kitteh (d'uh).

somepx says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:07am

A cool experiment - art style really wasn't my favorite part - but engaging and never boring. Good!

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:07am

I really lovi graphics! Seriously. And you will chos your little friend. And you will choose only one thing.. really nice concept!

Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:11am

Liked the visuals but really loved the 1 powerup mechanic. Choosing what you wanted was interesting and frequent enough to make me want to replay this game someday. The jumping was too floaty, though, and should work on that gravity, but this was a great game. Good job.

funselektor says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:43am

I chose the kitteh. The timing of the moving objects was spot on and it was pretty satisfying being able to choose something after completing a level.

SiENcE says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:05pm

Cute game. I stucked in level 5 and can't get out of the box with the stars. Jumping could be faster. But well done game and really a lot of levels!

Venks says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:20am

Very fun! Couldn't stop playing it!

Jeremias says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Doge! Would be funnier, if you had included the original graphic :D anyway, I saw this in another game, where you have to choose an ability once a while and I think, this is a neat concept. Unfortunately, I didn't get over this big gap where you have to push a button before. What am I missing?

van noctar says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:49pm

Very good job :D I'm dazed!

Xavier says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:04pm

Inspiring game. Missed a fast movement and sfx ;)

Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:28am

Cool graphics, I like your art !

Nelien says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:36pm

I enjoyed the pets although I didn't quite see the gameplay reason for them; on the other hand I only played the first 7 levels. You could definitely add more content and turn this into a pretty good mobile game.

jarnik says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 9:40pm

Great game, quite original, I had fun! My doge fell off a few times, so I've rather decided to commit a suicide than face the rest of the levels alone.

cappelnord says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 2:28pm

Choosing which mechanics you want to get is very clever. Unfortunately the platforming felt very floaty. But awesome job for 48h!!!

dudsen says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 3:25pm

Amazing what you can do with a rock solid mechanic and some doodles :) Cat = best sidekick in video game history :D

Zerkruemler says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 3:30pm

Nicely done. It was fun to play through!

goerp says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 5:01pm

The idea of just having one power up, I've seen a few times before, but for me this is one of the best implementations. It really mattered what you chose.
At first I wondered how on earth you would make it possible to get all stars no matter what choices you made, but at some point I concluded that it some were just not possible.

Still a lot of content and I really like the hand drawn graphics (not sure if they were, but they looked that way).
If you plan to continue with this I would suggest you make the interface (buttons etc) in the same style. Very nice.

pl0xz0rz says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Wow. Much doge. Best game ever.

savethejets1 says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 11:24pm

Awesome!

FrederickK says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 6:18am

Charming game!

mcapraro says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 7:39pm

cool game! the player movement feels a little sluggish but overall, great entry!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]