December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Fighter-01

by Thalikoth - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a fighter jet pilot sent on a mission to fend off hostile attackers. On this mission you will use the F-01 Fighter Jet, which is an early prototype of the more common know F-16 Fighter Jet. The jet works fine, but it is hard to control, since there is only one button to control the jet.

-----
I have the source code committed to github, but I have no experience with distributing linux software. To build the game you will need the SDL1.2 core, image, mixer and ttf libraries. I have also ported the game to Windows, so more people will be able to play my game.

Enjoy :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#127Innovation3.56
#180Theme3.48
#559Overall2.94
#623Fun2.69
#659Humor1.89
#750Audio1.53
#799Graphics2.28
#907Mood1.92

Comments

multikorv says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:17pm

Quite nice! At first it was a bit confusing, but I got into it quickly. Really nice one button game, good job!

David Colson says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:24pm

Fun Idea, I like it much!

Capitals says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:26pm

Interesting Idea, It is difficult to know what you are doing. Nice graphics though!

Nardom says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:31pm

Insanely hard to control, but interesting concept. It feels like a blend of space invaders + shmup + tetris. But I already said so on TS,.. props for actually finishing! (Nagato 2014! shameless plug)

Mirroar says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:16pm

Fun idea. I found it worked best to just somewhat align the jet under an enemy and then mash the space bar to spray shots in the general direction of the enemy. Rinse and repeat, got me a score of 18, I think.

milugames says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:40pm

Very interesting idea. Took a minute to figure out what's going on though.

Nice and challenging. Good job!

Coblynau says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:43pm

The 1-control system is very innovative, tetris meets shoot 'em up. Well done. :)

jomomomo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Can't play windows games...

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:39pm

Nice job! Controls took me a bit to figure out as well, but I thought it was a cool idea once I did.

Moosefly says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:44pm

This was really cool! It's just like Tetris and Space Invaders combined like Nardom said. The control scheme really added a strategic feel to the game and it tied to the theme nicely!

Sounds, better graphics, powerups(?), different enemies and the like would all have been cool, but I liked it as is, good job.

Thalikoth says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:55pm

There should have been sound, but in the end I had a problem with it, which I did not have resolved yet. I had been thinking about powerups, but I decided to get some sleep instead :)

mruno says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Really amazing idea, never seen anything like that before!

Piat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:28pm

Interesting execution, found it a little frustrating for my taste by still well executed.

chiguireitor says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:57pm

F-01 fighter lol. Nice idea. Would love to see this idea extended further. Your game suits well mobile environments btw.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:11pm

A good interpretation of the theme.

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:21am

Haha, interesting concept, nice one :) I was able to feel in control when I wasn't being shot at, but the second fire was returned I began to struggle

lilinx says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:40pm

it's more original than most 1-button games around here

Daveloper says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:54pm

Interesting concept, but infuriating to play. Feels like a slot machine. If you tweaked the concept further it would've played better in my opinion.

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:26pm

The premise is innovative and an awesome use of the theme but it was not executed well. Perhaps a visible queue of upcoming moves would help? Also removing useless combinations like Up + Down

jarnik says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:43pm

Hey, nice concept, I like it a lot!
Longer steps could might be more useful for better tactical use of the upcoming maneuvers. Otherwise I just kept on bashing the space, until I got into a position to shoot. Sometimes I just kept circling in one corner with aliens keeping to the other, which was a bit tiresome.

nicotr014 says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 9:55am

Really nice concept... It's like Tetris + space invaders.. I like games that say "screw you" to the player.

gilborn says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 11:31pm

Cool idea, well done!

SnoringFrog says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 3:35am

Interesting idea, it was more fun than I thought it would be.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]