December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Sludge City

by Zemmi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You live in a Sludge City ruled by a Sludge Baron.

By the baron's decree "All you damn tele- and pyro-mutants are hereby recruited to cleanse the sewers of radioactive slime beasts. Do whatever it takes, they're mucking up my sludge."

Here be the Rules:
SPACE--> Use your telekinesis to rotate pipes
S--> Use your pyrokinesis to detonate and burn out the slimey things

Only one worker is permitted per area, so don't screw up and get all the sludge devils.

R: Restart Level
P: Pause

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#15Fun3.92
#19Overall4.00
#77Innovation3.73
#131Mood3.44
#166Graphics3.68
#170Audio3.19
#172Humor3.15
#407Theme3.06

Comments

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Argh - very intense haha. Took a while to grasp the controls and not blow myself up. It gets tricky trying to keep the slime beasts at bay while lining up the pipes for the perfect shot. Nice work - loved the pixelly art!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:23pm

This is a lot of fun and a really original idea. The font on the first screen is a little hard to read but other than that I really like the are style. Once I got the controls down it felt really good to play. I did keep pushing S when I meant to press space at first :P

SamH says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:24pm

Very nice overall! I like the level design and the artwork. The sound effects tend to be irritating after a while, though :)

Capitals says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:43pm

Intense is the best way to describe this!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:21am

Interesting level design and theme usage.

Sheep says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:59am

Very fun game! The levels were challenging, and everything fit together.

harsanalif says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:02am

Love the gameplay, remind me to Bomberman but with more unique twist on the level design. The text a bit unreadable though...

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:34pm

Very nice game ! And a great level design, had much fun watching a bud playing it !

MaTX says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:52pm

Very cool idea, the gameplay's nice too!

Mase says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:05pm

Impressive number of levels. Very good. I would've liked to see more of the expanding sludge from the final level.

Zemmi says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:58am

Wow, glad to see everyone enjoying it. I'm gonna be busy for a bit here but after Christmas I'll definitely get back on it and make more levels.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:10am

So incredibly fun.

_zulli says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:19am

Really great game! Awesome puzzles! Solid gameplay! Great job! :)

If you have time please rate my game! I would really appreciate it! :D

Bloated Hippo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:12am

Pretty awesome!

Shaun Lebron says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:12pm

Really fun puzzler mechanic, theme, and art. Really well done.

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:06pm

I like the graphics and the concepts. It's a complete game that feels polished. Good job!

FrederickK says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:27pm

Clever mechanics!
Really loved your entry!

Freel4tte says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:28pm

Nothing else to say but: perfectly done. Controls are easy to learn and the difficulty curve is really nice. I just love what you have done with the team. Kudos!

Spelchan says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:31pm

Interesting twist on the pipes-style of game.

Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:42am

Interesting game! This is made in 48 hours? Well done.

Moist says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:37pm

Puzzle game with a twist, great. It plays very well and I really like the graphics. Awesome job.

01rafael says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:58pm

I love this game so much! 5 stars overall!

cesisco says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:09pm

Awesome concept!Easy to start with, but with a lot of depth.

olafsworld98 says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 4:53am

ooh well

kevinmylo says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:22pm

Slick, I kept getting stuck. I could barely read the menu screen.

SK16Games says ...
Jan 8, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Very creative, and nice gameplay ;D really liked the game

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]