December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Glide

by Alexbrainbox - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Well this was fun!

I ended up making a nice little orbiting game which I'd been planning on making for some time. The theme made me get off my arse and do it, since you only get one button!

I was quite pleased with how it turned out, in particular with the overall aesthetic being fairly tight. The code is a pretty big mess, but no bugs to speak of - for once!

Do please tell me how you get on with it, particularly if you experience much lag (Particularly Firefox - Chrome/IE is fine). NOTE THAT THERE IS A DE-LAG BUTTON ON THE MENU SCREEN which cuts render time by 2/3 but you do miss out on the lovely zoom effect. I'm planning on turning this into an Android game at some point probably with HaxeFlixel so any and all criticism is useful. Thanks!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#37Innovation3.94
#92Fun3.57
#116Overall3.61
#194Mood3.29
#245Audio3.00
#361Graphics3.19
#364Theme3.13
#1545Coolness24%

Comments

Mnemusyne says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:57pm

Very neat game. You shouldn't be so hard on yourself saying you make bad games, have come confidence in you and others will respect you as well.

Waterman7 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:40pm

Nice one!
Simple concept, solid execution.
At times, I found it quite difficult to estimate which circle I would attach to. Maybe an indicator, as to which one is closest to the player at any time would be helpful.
Also, I would have loved to see the graphical style from the menu return ingame. Circles look better with outlines, and one-colored backgrounds are kinda boring...
Apart from that, I liked the aesthetics and presentation very much.
No lags on my end.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:31pm

One of my favorites. Good job!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:02pm

I really like this game, simple but addictive!

RandomM00 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:25pm

Very slick design and a nice idea, impressive!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:27pm

Great game, especially for a one button game.

Atmospherium says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:16am

Wow, that was incredible. You hit the right level of difficulty where I kept having to improve to be able to beat each level. Really strong usage on the one-button control scheme. I'd like to see you add stats to the Kongregate version, as it would be cool to see how my times compare to others. Really great work here.

drludos says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:58am

Woaw, excellent game. Simple but effective idea, and plays like a charm. I really enjoyed this game, I think I spend about 15 minutes playing it (yeah, I'm not that skilled on dexterity game!).

You managed to create a kinda addictive game, each time I fail, I want to "try one last time, I promise", but I end up playing for longer than I thought at first !

Regarding performance, I use Firefox on a very old netbook computer (a first generation eee-pc), and It lags horribly in normal mode, but plays like a charm in fast mode. And I would totally like to play such a game on an Android tablet :).

Regarding improvements, maybe a soft background music would be nice, and maybe also some aesthetics modifications (such as a bit more animation on the circles or stuff like that), but you already nailed the hardest part: the difficult curve that keeps player entertained!

Sorry for the long comment, but I really really enjoyed your game!

Shaun Lebron says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:16am

My favorite entry so far. Love the spiderman swinging. I like the typography fixed to the map as well.

It actually reminds me of an old favorite, spiderball4k. I once thought about how I might make it accessible for mobile, and you absolutely nailed it by creating the one button version of it. So here's my vote of confidence on your Android version of the game. It's the perfect game for mobile.

jdpalmer says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:15pm

I loved the physics and challenges you came up with!

xhunterko says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Very clean style of a game of it's type. Well done!

sadiquo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:58pm

Awesome game ;)

mortus says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:40pm

Great game mechanics and great game, you make good games after all. :D It needs some polish to make it a little bit frustrating and some easier maybe and it could be a hit IMO.

grifdail says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:43pm

I actualy wanted to rage quit sometime because the game is really hard, but there something in it that kept me from leaving... Good job. I never played something like that before, but I love it. Let'us know If you manage to publish it for android: I'd love to download it.

zatyka says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 2:35am

Very cool. My main gripe is that is encourages the player to move slowly, when it's just so tempting to move fast. If you polished up the mechanics, and added some more levels, this would be great as a mobile game.

mcapraro says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 5:24am

wow, amazing entry! great mechanic and overall really super challenging. maybe some easier levels to start :) it seems sometimes touching the blue ball was enough, and sometimes i had to be right in it

local minimum says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 6:06pm

I really liked the concept, but I found the levels much too unforgiving and it took me a great while to complete the second one (and when I did, I did so in not the planned way). So I think you have a really superb game here that could well be made for phones and tablets. But I think you need to work some on the progression of how hard it is.

UltraRat says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 10:45pm

I like how the level design theme/concept of the puzzle is clear with a single word. Really hard.

f7f5 says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 11:15pm

Just great. I really loved to play your game until the end. The graphics and sound are simple but extremely effective. Level design is brilliant.

I think my keyboard (at least the space key) lacked the necessary sensitivity for one ot two level (I'm thinking about Twitch) where a keypress a fraction of a second longer translates into a much greater acceleration.

Jan 2, 2014 @ 9:46am

Very interesting concept! A bit too hard levels, but great anyway!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]