December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

DISTANT WORLD FOR THE BOTH OF US

by Cell - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"Might as well connect you to a gear in the middle of nowhere, why not."

Here for more of my shit
https://twitter.com/Cellusious

Cheers.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#5Graphics4.52
#51Audio3.62
#90Overall3.68
#103Fun3.55
#146Mood3.39
#288Innovation3.23
#469Humor2.30
#683Theme2.55

Comments

devi ever says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 11:03pm

Bangin'. Cellusious! I CHOOSE YOU!

Dec 15, 2013 @ 11:10pm

I like the shooting in it. Very nice effects. Wont spoil for others

CaptainNakou says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 11:26pm

Best concept i've seen so far. The wheel, the system. I love it. Really.

Nonameghost says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 11:47pm

Keeps crashing for me, but that may be OS issues. Looks interesting enough though.

YsenGrimm says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 11:52pm

Broke my OS, 11/10, would play again.

Cell says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 11:56pm

@DeviEver Am i a pokemon now?
@lordjosephdeburg thanks!
@CaptainNakou oh thank you :)
@Nonameghost do i smell win8, oh yes i do! (win8 hates me)

phi6 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:03am

This game is amazing! It makes me cry how the art direction is so lush :)

SilentBunny says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:27am

Love the art

alvarop says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:06am

Wow, that game had some trouble running. But it was good. Very good!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:31am

Really good!

dznemotion says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:08am

Nice!

cjacobwade says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:12am

Awesome! Sadly, it started to lag pretty badly after 100 score or so

Sean Noonan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:44am

Nice simple design, controls were tight too. The highlight is the excellent artwork across the characters, environment and effects. However, the screen shake was incredibly obnoxious - it really took away from the power of the weapons and just added unnecessary noise to such an awesome aesthetic.

For some reason in had some trouble running on my machine - this rig can run Crysis...

Nananas says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:09am

Whoaa so pretty those pixels, as expected. You're da boss :)

(starting game in Win XP compatibility mode and it stopped crashing in Win8)

Geti says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:27am

Looks good, suits your fairly abstract style well. I really didn't get much of the theme from this, felt more "restricted" than "you only get one" :)

That said, had a very good feel and other than a few big lag spikes, did what it said on the tin.

phi6 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:41am

Agree with everyone here about the lag - which is a little annoying! But I can see without it, it would be a lovely addictive little game!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:50pm

The level of polish in this is astonishing.
Awesome work!

Cell says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:24pm

BY THE WAY PEOPLE, THE "LAG" IS DELIBERATE. I PUT IN A SLEEP(30ms) WHEN A OBJECT EXPLODES FOR "JUICE", IT FEELS STRANGELY AWKWARD AND LESS SATISFYING WHEN IT'S NOT THERE SO I DECIDED TO KEEP IT IN. SORRY IF YOU DISLIKE IT BUT I THINK YOU'D DISLIKE IT MORE WITHOUT IT.

yokcos700 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:31pm

Graphics and audio are stellar, but once you look past the novelty of being confined to a single circle, there's not much unique gameplay to be had. That said, it's still fun.

mruno says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:32pm

Very interesting and fun game with great shooting effects!

Chris Mondok says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Looks cool, despite the vast array of colors used. I really like the movement on the wheel. I don't like that I can't see very far. I'm sure it's deliberate, but it's also annoying.

mtrc says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Oh man, so good. The graphics are incredible, and it animates so beautifully too. Great work. I like the game concept - definitely flesh it out into a fuller game like you were talking about on Twitter!

gusanolocovg says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:36pm

Nice game very laggy at times, which is strange because it doesn't look like there is a lot on the screen when it does it. The sound bugged out on death also.

Katamori says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:37pm

A fast and actionful shooter that uses quite a few colour, but fantastic sprites, has a strange but strong mood, has only an endless score-hunting mode and that is always going to provide me some minutes of fun!

A big 5 overall!

Coblynau says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:37pm

Love the graphics and audio, and the controls were perfect; this makes for a great game!

Marcellus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:38pm

very awesome graphics and music

rubna says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:42pm

I like the graphics! Gameplay was also fun. Maybe you should make it clearer when you're getting hit though, like with an distinct sound effect and screenshake. Also maybe an indicator of when you're about to die? Well, good job nonetheless :D

Nik Sudan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Looks very tasty, and felt very satisfying.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Art is amazing, as usual. Really liked the shooting effects. Unfortunately a fatal bug prevented me from getting too far.

headchant says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:13pm

I'm a huge sucker for the art and the feel, also the feel. Curvature in lazershots = nice!

Solluxx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:27pm

Wow this is simply fantastic. Nice work.

ian_snyder says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:37pm

Really nice art and I like the idea but I didn't really get hooked on the gameplay. The lag thing felt glitchy instead of like a juice effect. Could be really cool with some more polish :)

lekochen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:02am

Look at those pixels!

SnoringFrog says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:45am

Absolutely gorgeous, and I love the music. Playing this reminds of the SNES shmup Phalanx, for some reason, which then made me realize how mindblowing a shmup made by you would be.

But back to this game: it got surprisingly difficult for me quickly, but I still enjoyed it. If I play a bit more I'll get more accustomed to the controls and last a bit longer. Right now my high score is 48.

KeyMaster says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:01pm

Great game with incredible amount of polish overall, unfortunately the theme seemed completely tagged onto it. Otherwise good game

somepx says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:51pm

Only objective is to die: fantastic! ;)
A very polished entry, congratulations

Hypnohustla says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Solid game. The shooting felt great. Artwork was awesome as usual :)

Pixelbear says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:46pm

Stylish with very tight controls: didn't feel restricted while playing at all, which a lot of people tend to forget about for LD. :)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:23pm

Nice mechanic, steampunk everywhere! Shoot-em-round? Nice overall! Though the connection to the theme is rather weak?

Keith Evans says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Awesome style! Nice effects for bullets, enemy deaths and camera. I had a couple of odd performance slowdowns but overall it was a really neat arcade shooter. Could have had a stronger objective which might have made it fit the theme better.

Pixelulsar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Looks great. Pretty fun and I like the gear mechanic too. No lag issues that others are talking about.

spx says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:11am

I'm getting a "... has stopped working" crash at random points which is kind of sad because it's a great experience up to that point. (Win 8.1 @ earlier comment)

Cell says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:18am

Yeah, i'm sorry but i can't do much when it comes to win8. Win8 hates .wav and .wav is the best format that works best with win7/vista/xp

nka says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:03am

Very nice graphics. Mechanics is quite hardcore as it requires mouse and keys to work synchronously. Great job anyway!

Lipedal says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:11pm

I WON! i think.. and.. pretty laggy
Anyway, nice art style.

GarethIW says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:04pm

Also had the win8 issues, but very much enjoyed what I could play of it. Lovely spritework!

BeardoGames says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Super nice looking, plays nicely, and represents a great twist on typical shooter mechanics. Excellent work.

Jeremias says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:18pm

Unfortunately laggy, like the others already sad. Like the style, especially the glowing shots. Don't forget to link to the source of your game! :)

tchem says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:29pm

I loved it... the art is very genuine,,, the all propose is awesome!!!,, great work

Kohijin says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:17pm

A bit shortlived, but has a nice and polished arcade touch to it.

gnerkus says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:50pm

AWESOME! - The art is so good it's a little distracting. I especially liked the glowing shots and the effects on impact.

Cell says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:39pm

If i knew people would complain this much i'd put in a option to turn off the explosion freeze. >:(

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:26pm

Hey Cell! Nice graphics as usual! The idea is good, I like it :-)

stvr says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:53am

Fun but a bit confusing. Not sure how I could be "better" than my previous score. Sometimes failure seemed arbitrary.

zkenshin says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:15pm

Screen shook a bit much for my tastes, but still enjoyed the graphics. :)

rnlf says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:45am

Great game, I just suck at it, can't survive 10 seconds or so...

nyrrrr says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:36am

awesome! didn't knew you made games. always thought you "only" do art. Great game man!

mystakin says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 9:56pm

Great art and effects! Having the movement restricted to a circle adds an extra layer of difficulty that I enjoyed. I felt the use of the theme could have been stronger, but the game is otherwise awesome.

lalanl says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 2:51am

Very interesting controls, terrific feedback, and completely gorgeous graphics. Amazing!

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 4:00pm

Oops, forgot to rate this one when I first played it. GUDGRAFIX but much to my surprise the gameplay's tolerable too.

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 9:52pm

Love the colour pallet and the high level of detailed pixel art and animations. Very inspiring level of polish - impressive for 48 hours, rated highly! :)

FrederickK says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Looks and sounds awesome!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]