December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dangerproof Dan and The Temple of Aarg!

by RandomM00 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Use a single key to help Dangerproof Dan survive his journey into the Temple of Aarg!

Sadly I didn't have time to make many levels. On the bright side, I wrote a level editor so you can do the hard work for me!
See README.md in the Bitbucket repository (https://bitbucket.org/gah/ludum-dare-28/) for more information.

Written using Go (golang.org) and Allegro 5.0.9.
To run on Windows extract the .zip and run ludum-dare-28.exe
To run on Linux extract the tar.gz (tar -xvzf, it really is a .gz this time!) and run ludum-dare-28. You need allegro 5.0.9 installed.

To compile you need Allegro 5.0.9 or later and Go 1.1. You will also need a copy of my Allegro wrapper in $GOPATH/src/bitbucket.org/gah/ae/ (see https://bitbucket.org/gah/ae/overview).

=== Update ===
CONTROLS: Press enter to trigger actions like using levers.

There are a few bugs. I have some workarounds:
DON'T PRESS LEFT OR RIGHT!
Doing so will stop the character moving until you restart the game.

Some people have reported that the third level can't be beaten. I've beaten it a few times on Linux, so I think it's a Windows problem. Try pressing the key at different times.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#226Audio3.05
#242Mood3.17
#248Graphics3.44
#409Theme3.05
#694Innovation2.59
#750Fun2.48
#811Overall2.60
#965Coolness49%

Comments

Crabman says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:03pm

Looks great! Was a little confused at first though, I tried to control him and when pressing right, he stopped and didn't move again.

mtrc says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:29pm

Yeah same here - looks lovely but I can't figure out how to control the fella?

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:46pm

Couldn't move him either. Bug or missing instructions?

TobiasNL says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:02pm

Can't move the guy! Looks sweet though :]

Terry says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:04pm

Hit a bunch of random keys, but it doesn't seem to respond to any input :(

kyyrma says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:06pm

Great presentation! Both the audio and graphics are fantastic, among the best I've seen so far. I'd prefer the port on screen to be larger however.

Seconding that pressing the arrow keys seems to break the game. I could make it up until the third screen, but there the timed prompts are either too fast or the detection is somehow off. I can't seem to hit them no matter what.

lucasncv says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:06pm

Yeah, impossible to move him. Do let me know if you fix it :)

Katamori says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:11pm

Can get through the third screen. But at least it has gameplay.

Graphics are amazing, mood too. Audio is not bad. I'm gonna rate them.

BrothersT says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:11pm

won't start for me :(

loggs2 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:12pm

I liked the art and the mood was good. The mechanic could use a little more polishing though.

JALgames says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:14pm

Full stars in audio and graphics, pretty amazong. But everything else no stars because I just can't move the guy. But it's quize innovative:)

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:45pm

Really liked the graphics! The game was rather confusing thou

Nisshoku says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Nice levels and graphics, the idea was simple to understand (to me at least) once the first event happened. I got to the third screen, but couldn't get past the second spikes.

goerp says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:53pm

didn't run I got 'runtime: panic before malloc heap initialized
fatal error: runtime: cannot reserve arena virtual address space'
Windows7 64 bits

Alexbrainbox says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:39pm

I like it :D

I'm always slightly disillusioned by linear velocity when falling/jumping so if I were to suggest one thing to add it'd be that. Impressive and tight art and music especially considering the short time frame. Well done :D

RandomM00 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Thanks for the feedback.
The idea is that pressing any key causes events to happen in certain places indicated by a flashing return icon. I've found the bug caused by the arrow keys, don't press left or right for the time being!
I haven't really been able to test on Windows as my VM is quite broken but the game seemed to work.
I haven't seen any problems with responsiveness on my system and I can beat the whole game fairly easily but I tested it on Linux so it could be different on Windows.
The game supports scaling the graphics up but I think I might have forgotten to enable the maximise button >.< I'll look into it.
I've updated the submission to warn people about the bugs.

goerp: I've not seen anything like that before, it might be a problem with the Go runtime, I'll see if I can find anything similar.

louis.denizet says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:13am

bit confusing for me too :/

TheWhiteLlama says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:11am

I like this game. I don't need anything to know, to beat it. Easy to understand and reminds me on old days "lemmings"

Todd Luke says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:35am

it's a bummer you weren't able to pack some more levels into this! i enjoyed what i played. it's unashamedly a game of pure quick time events and that's cool

tobbez says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:39am

Interesting idea, although some events would make it "Quick time events: The game". Focusing more on things you can interact with that you can see in advance would be something to explore more (rather than the rolling, for example).

Too bad you didn't have the time to create more content.

abeing says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 9:32pm

nice game! but if I press the right-arrow, the player stops and thats it. have to restart then. so never press the right arrow on your keyboard! and in the third level (i think) it tells me to press return but nothing happens and the player continues to walk into the spikes. is this a bug?

GFM says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 11:50pm

I'm playing on a windows computer and the controls felt sluggish... At times it worked flawlessly, at other times it's troublesome... perhaps my timing was off. On the third level, for example, the arrow appears before going to the next step, but it only work when pressing enter on the next one...

Otherwise, except for the lack of levels, this was quite nice. :)

FrederickK says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 11:51pm

Hey! This is great!
Too bad you didn't finish it, but I liked what I played! :D
Simple and fun!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]