December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Eternal Champion

by gavrilovmiroslav - Jam Entry

You suddenly feel different. You know this is it. You have one single action to live through this.

Left, right, up, down, (z)ap, hit by colliding.

Made in XNA, really fun to play with.
Hint: it _can_ not end in one action only.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#65Theme(Jam)3.53
#131Innovation(Jam)3.27
#133Graphics(Jam)3.80
#364Overall(Jam)2.87
#513Fun(Jam)1.93
#1479Coolness28%

Comments

Twila says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:14am

Good work putting together all the graphics and transitions, it has a very solid mood--was the lack of sound a design choice? It feels like the draw of the game is to try and figure out strengths and weaknesses, assuming they exist... One I'm going to save and come back to later to see if I can't crack. I feel like there's more questions posed than answers given, and that's the point, but it makes it tougher to come to a conclusion about the game on the whole. ;)

Toby Simone says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:33am

Didn't really understand it :( The text also disappeared after hitting an arrow key, which was really unfortunate as I wanted to read what you had to say! The lack of audio really threw me off though!

HeroesGrave says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:34am

It was a bit confusing what was going on, but it was a decent game nonetheless.

elcow says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:34am

For anyone who this doesn't run for (like me), you need the XNA redistributable, available here (http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=20914). Very nice aesthetic, but I'm left kind of lost. I get that figuring things out is part of the game, but I don't think a little bit of explanation of which enemies are which, what they do, what exactly zapping does, etc. Definitely evokes the feeling of knowing you are potentially 1 move away from death in a Roguelike though.

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:39pm

Really nice graphics, but the words left the screen a little too fast for me.

Daveloper says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:34pm

It felt a bit disjointed, the black transitions didn't occur to me as new game but as a cutscene or a piece of exposition.

the mechanic of have one option to survive each new scenario is an interesting one and well implemented, it only needed to be communicated a bit better.

Dikkop says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:47pm

I get an error when trying to run the game...

Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:03am

Not sure if I really understood the game, but I included this game in my Ludum Dare Compilation series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/6i2NO94dPrk

lightsoda says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:33pm

Interesting, seemed kind of random if you win or not, just have to pick the right direction. Nice graphics.

natpat says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 8:22pm

As others have said, it seems quite luck based rather than skill - some seemed quite impossible not to die as well!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]