December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Gods of the Yggdrasil

by ocathalain - Jam Entry

After a lot of stress, we 'finished' our game! We were maybe a little too ambitious, so there are a few things that are just as placeholders. It's playable though.

I did most of the art, and @MrBenjammmin did pretty much everything else.


You only have one power. You only have one life. Your goal is to take down the other gods to take theirs!

A and D are move left and right. Space is jump. Left Click is attack.
You can also use a Game Pad.


Most sound effects from here: http://opengameart.org

Edit: Because of the restrictions of the multiplayer (which, yeah, we know. But lack of time to make it workable for a single player too, can't be helped) there's a short video a friend of ours made so you can take a look at the game in action even if you can't find anyone to play with: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eAgXO3g5BS0

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#302Graphics(Jam)3.10
#430Humor(Jam)1.67
#454Audio(Jam)1.71
#465Mood(Jam)2.21
#471Innovation(Jam)2.25
#479Theme(Jam)2.10
#483Overall(Jam)2.43
#511Fun(Jam)1.95
#1141Coolness45%

Comments

Radnen says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:05am

I don't know what to say, if you have nobody to play with, there is little to do!

afterisk says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:08am

it was fun when i had someone to play with! :)

zkenshin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:10am

Nice take on the theme, however, like the above comment says, not much to do when no one is online.

ChronusZ says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:11am

It looks from the screenshot quite interesting, and I'd have loved to have been able to play it, but the online multiplayer restriction is a little bit... well, restricting, I suppose :) Some sort of basic AI system so that people could at least try it out would've been nice.

ocathalain says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:26am

Thanks for checking out our game! Yeah, we know about the issues with multiplayer only. I've added a link to a video so that even if no one else is there when you try, you can take a look at the game in action. :D

KEFIR says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:55am

Another unity3d game without linux build :(

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:47pm

The graphics is actually nice! Is hard to find polished 2D games made in Unity! :-)

I couldn't find anyone to play unfortunately! You should put some bots or AIs, even though I understand you probably didn't have time to do that in 48 hours! :)

Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:48pm

impossible to play, i dont find nobody to play, good work for create a multiplayer game, but its hard to find other :(

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:17pm

I have yet to see a game that does multiplayer well. The main problem is: It has to be ok even when there's nobody else in the room.
Aside from that, I think the idea is interesting, just not very clear if you don't read your comments. I noticed one god who keeps swapping characters. Perhaps if you just show the name of the power, then we'd think "Oh, that's cool", rather than being all confused.

ocathalain says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:08pm

@AlanZucconi: Thanks for the compliment on the graphics! Personally I feel they could've been a lot better, but I seriously overestimated how much I could get done in 72 hours and had to cut them back a lot

@jacklehamster: I getcha. As for the Gods and the powers they have, we were planning to have character cards pop up to tell the player who they are and what they can do, but ran out of time for that.

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:54pm

I liked the art, but multiplayer-only restriction is quite bad - didn't get a chance to check out the gameplay itself.

rnlf says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:11am

Too bad I'm alone and can't ask someone to play. Looks interesting, will not rate though.

01rafael says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 3:48am

Lovely graphics! But, there are lot of troubles with usability and collision detection )

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 4:15pm

Nice artwork. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]