December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Bombay Intervention

by mize_VS_mildmojo - Jam Entry

**** OS X USERS: If the web player flickers violently, please reload the page a few times.

Travel back in time and avert disaster.

Click to freeze 3 timers to the same number and country and complete one stage of the mission, changing history.

Your mission has 4 stages.

You have 2 minutes!

Be cautious... you only get one time machine.

>> START <<

ARTISTRY
=======

The Bombay Intervention is a collaboration between Jason Mize and mildmojo.

Jason Mize (music, sfx, title card, writing, design):
- http://jasonmize.com

mildmojo (code, design):
- @mildmojo
- http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/author/mildmojo/
- https://github.com/mildmojo

PREMISE
=======

Work your way through a spotted history on missions to clean up the worst of the (fictional) disasters. Your view of the past is through an event wall that shows you when events will occur during your trip. These could be as mundane as a bus driver heading to work or as important as a major election; you only know that patterns in the wall lead to catastrophes. Prune enough contributing events and the crisis will collapse without causal support.

MUSIC
=====

The game features a dynamic soundtrack. Jason wrote and recorded three original pieces of music, each of which has four parts (see his writeup in the postmortem). When you begin a mission, you only hear a single part. The other parts are selected at random and added to the soundscape when you complete a stage by making a match. We weren't sure it would work, but it's really exciting to hear in action.

POSTMORTEM
=========

For more words on the game's genesis, successes, and hardships, take a look at our postmortem post:

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/12/19/postmortem-the-bombay-intervention/

Thanks so much for checking us out! We'd never worked together before this project, and we had a lot of fun with it. We love hearing your feedback! Please comment!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness96%
#94Audio(Jam)3.47
#181Innovation(Jam)3.11
#265Humor(Jam)2.37
#326Mood(Jam)2.75
#374Overall(Jam)2.83
#408Fun(Jam)2.49
#431Graphics(Jam)2.57
#488Theme(Jam)2.06

Comments

Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:50am

Really appreciate the original music and a fantastic concept. This game has a lot of potential and it would be really cool if you kept working on it post-jam.

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:50am

Excellent audio. Getting rewarded with new layers to the music was a deeply satisfying experience. I really like the gameplay mechanic you have and look forward to seeing it intertwined with the time travling flavor text.

Ariake81 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:52am

fun game, great sound and music too!

Ryusui says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:55am

Love the music, love the premise, love the gameplay. My only issue is that the time indicators are misleading - at first, I honestly thought I had to be accurate to a tenth of a second!

Switchbreak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:03am

I won! Great music and mood, though the game was a bit frustrating.

Unept says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:19am

Fun AND educational. Now I have to go google "Lisbon Mischief."

3rdclass says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:15pm

Fun times, took me a little while to figure it out.

udo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:45pm

The web player doesn't work on my system (OS X Mavericks, both Firefox and Chrome), it just displays a flickering buffer. The music sounds pretty good so far though :) Will check back later!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:38pm

@udo: Confirmed. =( Will look into a fix in a few hours. Thanks for letting us know!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:51pm

@udo: Try refreshing the page a few times. Sometimes it loads properly, sometimes not.

The current OSX standalone build is broken, too, because Windows. Will fix.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:13am

The OS X standalone build should be fixed. I couldn't figure out why the web player sometimes glitches on load. It seemed to happen more often the first time I visited the page and less frequently on subsequent visits/reloads. I added a little popup note at the top of the page for OS X users recommending they refresh if the web player's busted.

olafsworld98 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:10pm

i found it to be a very cool game and i enjoyed it, yes i beat it out.

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:40am

Excellent coordination between music and gameplay. It's a fun game, I like the music, but so strange, I can't see the connection between the gameplay and Bombay.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:49pm

@CatOnMars: Thank you! "The Bombay Intervention" was just a phrase in the form of our mission names (i.e. "The <place> <activity>"). An early working title was "The Helsinki Incident". We planned to shoehorn Bombay into the game by having the first mission always start there using Indian flags, but ran out of time. =)

Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:53pm

To @emmelineprufrock, @OnlySlightly, @Ariake81, @Switchbreak, @Unept, @3rdclass, @olafsworld98: thanks so much for giving it a try! =)

@Ryusui: we wanted to leave some room for error. Initially, you could be +/- 0.5s and it would round to the integer value, so you were trying to click the timer when it neared a whole number. Truncating the tenths seemed less confusing.

Czepta says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:59pm

Hey good work this was an interesting and unique game concept. Could be a great way to learn history if it had some info about the different events. Could definitely be developed further.

StMatn says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:05pm

Great idea!
A mobile version would be nice, since it seems, this would be a nice filler for short breaks.
The graphics are nice so far, but some more eyecandy would be cool. Maybe you could show some pics of the disasters you prevent (or not) ;)
Keep on the good work!

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:12pm

Neat concept -- got waaay easier once i realized I didn't have to get the timer perfectly, just with the right second.

larb says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:12pm

Great music. Interesting idea.

I also thought that the clocks had to be accurate to 1 tenth of a second. After I read in the comments that it isn't the case, I replayed and enjoyed it a lot more.

minibutmany says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:34pm

Nice job, I like the concept!

mcapraro says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:37pm

nice work making a good casual game, great mechanic

gnargle says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:29pm

A cool matching game. Enjoyed it :)

rezzish says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:43pm

With all those countdown timers, this game really starts to feel pretty tense.

bttf says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:04pm

This game was frustrating

euske says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:11pm

I played it to the end but honestly I didn't get the game concept, sorry. The music was pretty.

LordHellMaX says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:42am

I would have liked an increased difficulty the more you progress in the levels. Cool concept.

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:39am

Very well done audio!

pjchardt says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 2:01am

Love the music in this game. The layers work great, sound effects are spot on, and the quality of the music is impressive. The feedback: sound, visuals, etc., is really well done.

Jan 2, 2014 @ 6:30pm

@StMatn: There's a downloadable Android version! It plays great on a touchscreen.

@LordHellMaX: Yeah, we ran out of time to add difficulty progression. I've got a post-compo version with a difficulty ramp--5 missions so far--but haven't uploaded it yet. Take a look at our postmortem to get an idea of what we'd envisioned: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/12/19/postmortem-the-bombay-intervention/

@SimianLogic
@larb
@minibutmany
@mcapraro
@gnargle
@rezzish
@bttf
@euske
@Noah Ratcliff
@pjchardt
Thanks for playing & giving feedback, everyone!

-mildmojo

Tex Killer says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Interesting, but in my opinion it lacks fun and continuity... After preventing a few events I had absolutelly no desire to continue playing.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]