December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

FASTBACK

by Opifex Ludus - Jam Entry

FASTBACK is an extremely fast FPS.

Everyone on a lab lost their mind and wants to destroy the whole continent with a bomb. Your mission is to go back in time before the explosions and shoot everyone.
Unfortunately you cannot be send sooner.
Good Luck
Oh and you only get one shot at a time. No autofire, sorry

The game is Hard and you will need to become a Superplayer to reach your goal.


Move with WASD or ZQSD.
Use Space To Jump
Left Click to Shoot
Left Shift to Run

Game made by :

Antoine Carouge
Guillaume Cazelles
Samy Badache
with the help of Rami Bououd

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#46Fun(Jam)3.67
#122Overall(Jam)3.45
#143Mood(Jam)3.29
#161Audio(Jam)3.23
#289Graphics(Jam)3.14
#299Innovation(Jam)2.76
#309Humor(Jam)2.18
#466Theme(Jam)2.15

Comments

mtinkerhess says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:52am

I like the enemy behaviors, how tables fly back when you shoot them and how when you hit some things they leave stains on the environment. It got frustrating when an enemy would shoot and kill me as soon as I saw them, like maybe a couple of frames after I saw them. Nice soundtrack too.

Toby Simone says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:53am

It was fun, but all too easy to die. I never managed to get past the first door.

van noctar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:54am

First level is very hard!!!! The time is so short... But the movements are cool

Switchbreak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:55am

Nice, I won! That was actually really good, I loved the pacing and the level design was often clever. The rapid clicking got a bit annoying though, and the music wasn't really right.

Royal Railway says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:57am

I am definitely not an FPS person. I suck at aiming at running at the same time. Therefore I won't vote this down because I found it hard myself to get very far. I like the idea. Great for someone more skilled than I. While I'm getting tired of Unity's default cubes and lights, this was pretty clever usage of the primitives. The camera, primarily, was unusually good, and the ability to fine-tune the sensitivity was a great addition. The music was a little weird in the setting, though I can see where you're getting the inspiration. Nice music, though. My one problem was that "only one bullet at a time" felt like a weak interpretation of the theme. "One bullet, period" would've been more fitting, perhaps.

GrinCreative says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:57am

I liked it, its maybe too hard, but, yeah, I liked!

I just think the enemies could have another color!

BluShine says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:59am

Very basic FPS, but pretty fun. The time limit makes it very intense. I got bronze on most levels, except for one where I got gold. Simple graphics, but it was fun to shoot the random objects in levels.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:03am

I loved the atmosphere in this game. I found it fun as well. The only downside was that at the end the enemies were able to fire through walls. Impressive game for just a couple of days though.

Crabman says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:14am

Very interesting way to up the difficulty. :)

Several says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:16am

I rather enjoyed this.

The story and its textual presentation are much weaker than the gameplay. Drastically so. I felt a little like quitting early.

The gameplay is fun, though! The levels felt excellently timed & sized, with a good level of challenge. The minimalist mis-en-scene is great, and the beakers are a nice touch. Even the physics (sense of weight, response to bullets) feel good.

I would like to finish the game, but I encountered a bug in the level from the second screenshot (the first area with two floors?): some of the enemies seemed to be able to see me (through the walls) as soon as I spawned, and started shooting immediately. They continued to shoot, wherever I went and however many times I died. It happened even on the first time I played the level. Hope you can fix this!

vapgames says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:25am

FInished it an it was fun!
Nice dynamics.
(my comment was not displayed for some reason, sorry if there would be a duplicate)

jackolondon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:13pm

Nooooo i can't reach the doooooor!

psychonull says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:23pm

really good!, I won a bronze medal haha. Love it, more levels and enemies. really enjoyed it!. the music is good too.

BradleySmith says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:26pm

This was awesome, music was super cool. Rated highly! :D

Infin8 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:30pm

Nice and simple FPS, though too much on the tough side that requires memorization. Audio was a great fit too, considering the story.

Kayelgee says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:36pm

The mouse feels awkward. That made it really hard for me to finish the game.
I like the music.
It was a fun little game. *thumbs up* :)

lipfio says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Très beau jeux pour si peut de temps pour le réaliser.

Bravo à tous.

zeal says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:13pm

Highly enjoying and well-thought-out game. Thumbs up.

ALobker says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:44pm

All levels took several tries (and a lot of frustration), but I managed to make it through 4 or 5 levels and I really enjoyed it.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:25am

This is really good! I don't really like having time limits in games, but this made it work.

recursor says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:01am

You're right. This game is hard. I didn't make it past the first level, but I enjoyed trying.

Calahagus says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:07am

I think the theme is very weak here, but the game itself is very smooth.

Lukbebalduke says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:11am

The game is good, It is very fast shooter game, I realize you didn't have time to make the graphics.. but I enjoyed it.

Cthulhu says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:34am

Fast paced. Great game. I wish I could see how far I was from the next medal.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:39am

first level is way hard, ace your self wit the dificulty

mortl8324 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:39am

Awesome game. I played through the whole thing. The running felt a bit iffy. After the third level, I realised the best tactic is to sprint left and right while shooting cause they can't aim at you very well. Again, awesome awesome game.

MrBlade says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:52am

Awesome game! Really nice use of the theme, great sounds, good graphics. I like you style, as the person who made the models cetainly has a 'way' to them. Music very odd. The 'run quick, aim well, do over and over' aspect of this game makes me think of Counter Strike. Ha. Reminds me some of the game SUPERHOT haha. Great work!

Spacehunter says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:19am

Well Done!

This game manage to piss me off, almost broke my damn keyboard ;)

zkenshin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:30am

Fun entry :)

travislucia says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:36am

Really liked the graphics, nice to see a unity game that does have an out of control sensitivity level.

lotusgame says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:25pm

One of my favorites ! Simple, efficient, well designed and so shivering. Excellent team work !

Lyje says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:54pm

Nice! Very difficult on a trackpad :p

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:06pm

Fun, and "detailed" instructions! xD

Enneract says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:15pm

I loved this game, a cool concept. I didn't think it was too hard for the type of game it is.I think would be cool if there was a way to try replay levels once you have beaten them, since I wanted to go back and get better medals.

ExtreLime says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:19pm

Wow! It was short but pretty fast and intense.
I loved the minimalistic desing! Also there's original soundtrack.
But I didn't almost see the theme here.
However, I liked it! =)

daredevildave says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:44pm

Very good. Felt a little like Super Hot.

It's bit mean not to include shift to run in the control scheme ;-) I had to restart and read the instructions again.

Sebastian says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:22pm

Very fun and fast-paced. Needs a few more levels though!
I liked the simplistic graphics quite a lot too.

fullmontis says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:30pm

Fast and intense, but way too hard for me! I wish time limits were a little more forgiving. Still, a very polished experience, shooting feels good, liked it.

supremefist says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:07pm

Very good!

nzgiije says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:12pm

nice, but too hard for me

Oli says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:09pm

HAAAA it was too short! Fun game, good job :)

Lipedal says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:20pm

Wow, amazing game! Very good presentation too. This is one of those concepts where being hard is a crucial part of the experience, along with short levels and a fast restart ;) Remembers me of SuperHot from the 7 Day FPS jam, but the other way around. Love the simple graphics too, they leave space to the imagination. Would love to see a post-jam version with more levels :D Grats, guys!

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:37am

Very addictive and... frustrating =(
It very hard for me. Can't beat 3-d level.

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:33pm

Not really as fun as you'd expect from a game labeled a "very fast-paced FPS". A lot of the difficulty is artificial, the mouse being too sluggish and the AI erratic. Also it has that problem of the physics feeling too much like an Unity game.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:07pm

Great audio choices - crisp gunshots and opera! I enjoyed having to complete the areas under a time limit - it's a nice, pure challenge, requiring memorisation and route optimisation. Easy to pick up and learn. Could do with some more movement options, maybe, but otherwise nice work!

Jeremias says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:16pm

I like FPS games and I like them fast. So your game was very fun for me. The game just works. Anyway. some more levels and gameplay elements would be nice!

You should tell the player, that he can click as fast as possible, if he wants. I played through the first level with making single, aimed shots.... and that's very hard :D

moop says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:43pm

I like the concept and it was fun to play. Struggled a bit and gave up after a few levels due to the lack of an option to invert the Y axis.

ponk says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:59am

Nice job !

fluffypillow says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:37am

Nice job! You weren't joking about 'fast FPS'.

AMSmirnov says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:16pm

Great game. Difficult, but very interesting. I stuck on the third level, but I don't give up.

Dec 23, 2013 @ 11:17pm

The game is quite chalenging. Pretty fun for a basic fps.

Husky says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 8:20am

Go through at 0.003 lol.

samooJAM says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 10:07am

Very fun. I would play it more. On the minus side graphics are just too simplified for me and you didn't nail the theme.

ViliX says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 1:05pm

Oh, only bronze medal :( But it is quite impressive game :)
I love Unity3D mechanics and this is innovative idea. (Maybe it would fit more to the previous theme (10 seconds))

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]