December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hose Before Bros

by Gamelabbers - Jam Entry

A two player game about manly firefighting. Show her your manliness because you only get one damsel in distress between the both of you!

Win the girl by carrying her down, or by doing AWESOME EPIC MANLY combo moves. There are 10! Can you complete the incomplete combos below?

1. up, up, spray!
2. down, forward, ..?.., down, spray!
3. up, down, up, spray!

4. ..?.., back, up, forward!
5. forward, forward, back, back!
6. up, back, up, forward!
7. up, up, ..?.., up, up, up!
8. 3x down, back, ..?..!
9. down, up, down!
0. down, ..?.., ..?.., back!

NOTE: forward and back are relative to the direction of the player when starting the combo. So if a player is looking to the left, forward is to the left and back is to the right.

A game by:
Arne Bezuijen
Olivier Hokke
Mark Kloeg
Joel van Neerbos
Bas van Nuland
Gert-Jan Stolk

With original music and voices by:
Dominique Bentvelsen
Petra Eckhart
Erik van Geer
Tim van Kaam
Mark Kloeg
Ran Schonewille
Margriet Wagner

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#28Audio(Jam)3.86
#45Humor(Jam)3.62
#85Graphics(Jam)4.09
#88Overall(Jam)3.58
#92Fun(Jam)3.40
#109Innovation(Jam)3.33
#124Mood(Jam)3.36
#188Theme(Jam)3.05

Comments

lilinx says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:13am

amazing graphics, sounds and music.

q7204k says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:15am

I've saved her =D

Hamcha says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:17am

This is very nice! The idea is clever, the graphics and sound is well made.. nice work! Is there any way I could get the music? I like it!

Gamelabbers says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:03am

Thanks :) you can download the song at: https://soundcloud.com/music4games/hose-before-bros

Venks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:42pm

Haha very interesting game here. And additional points for it being multiplayer. Not enough games are made with multiplayer in mind. Awesome stuff!

ludotrix says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Very cool! Just great graphics and music and very funny!

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:54pm

Co-opetition is always fun because no matter the game you're forced to compete against friends who'll make it fun.

That being said, you all have managed to create a wonderful platform for a co-opetition. The dynamic of having to sacrifice carrying the woman to safety to put out a fire and advance towards the exit is brilliant. It gives enough chances for skirmishes between who grabs her first without going too early. If anyone gets too eager and picks her up too quickly there will still be a fire ahead and they'll take damage trying to get through, brilliant!

Wonderful game! From concept to the fitting art style, to the humorous touches, it all comes together into a great experience.

hate-marina says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:26pm

Best jam entry so far

Nisshoku says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:45pm

Very nice graphical style. I can imagine its fun to play together/against each other. Just would have liked a bit more feedback on when my hose is dousing the fire, just to know whether the water is hitting or not.

ALobker says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Super awesome game!

Magdev says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:10pm

I played using both players with both hands, woo.

BradleySmith says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:12pm

Really awesome game! :D

Nazariglez says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:23pm

lol! Awesome Game, Awesome Concept, i love it!! Fireman, fireman, save meee!!

_zulli says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:09am

Great game! Amazing graphics!! I've loved the style of graphics, music and voiceovers! And the gameplay is really fluid! Everything is great!!!!
I got stuck once but then i figured out how to pass trough. Great job!!!

If you have time, rate my game too! I would really appreciate it! :D

Gamelabbers says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:21pm

Thanks for all the awesome feedback!!
@Nazariglev the correct lyrics would be: Fireman Fireman Fireman Fireman Fireman Fireman Fireman Fireman Save Meeee :D
@Zulli, I did check out your game last night, shooting exploding arrows at shifty looking penguins, strangely compelling! :)

Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:29pm

I like the concept, graphics & music. so much fun when you get the girl and drop and get scared hahaha. Good job!!!

Diptoman says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:06pm

Insanely funny!! Awesome music!! Loved this!!

Nikteddy92 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:01pm

Hahahahahaha! Great Game! Well done!
But... My friends just came in my room thinking that the girl "sounds" were from a porn movie xD

ismyhc says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:02pm

Really, cool and great job!

Carduus says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Gahahah, im sure it's a litle pervert game, maybe because i am a pervert :D (You now :a girl, Two men with water canon.. sry)
I really enjoy to play your game, thanks !

zkenshin says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:36am

There should be more firefighting games. Nice entry. :)

gene-z says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:16pm

Fux owesome ,,, Very Nice game keep good work

x70x says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 4:46pm

Excellent work on the audio and graphics. Simple but fun gameplay too.

rogueNoodle says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 12:35pm

Loved the music in this - really tied it all together.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]