December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dragon Child

by fractoluminous - Jam Entry

"You are so strong," he says. "Strong enough to understand the choice you'll have to make."

Twine story/game about choices, legends, relationships and loss.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#91Mood(Jam)3.52
#118Theme(Jam)3.28
#229Innovation(Jam)2.96
#253Overall(Jam)3.12
#377Fun(Jam)2.57
#505Graphics(Jam)2.06
#1041Coolness47%

Comments

dementor561 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:58am

this is awesome i love it

Capitals says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:08pm

I like the game and the story is sweet. I don't know if i covered everything but I liked what I saw.

harsanalif says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:18pm

A bit too wordy for my taste, but still intriguing choose-your-own-adventure.

daredevildave says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:09pm

Intriguing, well written story makes this work.

xgeovanni says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Grammar gets a little off towards the end, I assume it's due to last-minute rushing.

van noctar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:21pm

It's original, but but it lacks animation. :)

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:27pm

Played it through 3 times and couldn't figure out how to not lose everything.

dsoft20 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:42pm

Nice story :D

Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:44am

Love the story.

whiteknife says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:02am

An interesting minimalist narrative. I felt the constant jumps between pages made for a sort of disjointed feel to the whole story, which added to the mystery, but it didn't give me a whole lot of context with which to make the choices, and as such I felt like they lacked some of the narrative weight they could have had. Still, an interesting piece that I could definitely see being expanded.

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:16pm

Nice job, I like the big, bold text. Plays well with the writing..

Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Probably the best text-based entry I've played so far this LD. The writing is excellent (I was taken aback by "trying to hear the voice inside you that already knows", and the story is original and powerful. I really like the Twine layout, too, and the white-on-black text adds to the sense of claustrophobia.

If I have a complaint, it's that the plot is very linear. That said, it's appropriate for this story. I just tend to expect more branching plots in Twine games.

I feel a bit depressed now. Can't decide whether it's because of the darkness of the story or because I'm jealous of your writing skill.

Found a typo: "recogonise".

SPOILER


So there's no way to get a happier ending? Harsh. Clever, though.

Dec 23, 2013 @ 11:57am

fantastic writing; powerful, poetic and minimalistic. you manage to create a foreboding and tense atmosphere with it, and use the visual style and passages to great effect.

i'm not very fond of the grey parts, mostly it looks kind of cheap, and it detracts from the story a bit, though i like what you do with that part, narrative-wise.

all in all, a well told and powerful story.

mcc says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 12:00am

Oh, I really really loved this. The theme felt personally powerful to me. I loved the writing.

I usually have a lot of trouble with Twine stories but this averted a lot of the issues I tend to have with Twine. I think the best thing about it was that it was simply constantly engaging as a story. A lot of Twine games I lose patience and just start clicking through to "get forward". This one I was enjoying the text enough to want to slow down and focus on it and also the relatively rare choices kind of stressed to me that clicking/choices wasn't really the point. But then when you DID give me a choice it felt like it really made use of what had come before (although I still don't think I know what I should have done to win, or why).

I may try this again later and try to win, I might leave it as is because the "bad ending" felt cathartic by itself.

Jan 1, 2014 @ 1:27am

Interesting, and I love the style choices you made for the text.

huhwhozat says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 7:57pm

Really not sure how to rate this. I don't think I understand the message if there is one, but I think that the writing was well done.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]