December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Cascade

by code-11 - Jam Entry

Cascade
=====
A physical game that combines charades and telephone, wherein a chain of 4 players communicates a drawing from one to the next each using a different sense (touch, sight sound).

Download the instructions above and get a group together to play!


How we were inspired by "You only get one..."
============================
We created a cooperative game in which each player is limited to only one sense (touch, hearing, or sight) and must communicate in a chain, much like telephone. The restrictions on communication create challenging situations where each player must be very attentive to what they are observing, and what they are communicating to the next player in the chain.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#7Innovation(Jam)4.00
#16Theme(Jam)4.00
#85Humor(Jam)3.26
#105Fun(Jam)3.35
#239Overall(Jam)3.14
#318Mood(Jam)2.76
#544Graphics(Jam)1.40

Comments

Conflei says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:35am

Nice spirit, keep it up!

@TeddyNashor says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:42am

oh wow. a physical game. This could be fun to play. Ill have to give it a try with the fam.

Croze says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:51am

Not a bad idea, but it feels too much like a simple gimmick-like game. Maybe have a second team and it's a race or something?

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:53am

Bahahhahah, this sounded great! So I got the roomies together and tried it. It delivered everything I expected :) Plus we started easy and got harder and the end results got more hilarious. The orator position was always hard (not only because it's naturally hard) but everyone laughed at the stupid things that he would have to say. Also we played like 12 rounds and only drew 2 penises so all-in-all an epic win. Well done!

tchem says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:04am

Strange and creative idea,,, i like very much...

torcado194 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:10am

interesting idea.. ill have to try this out. neat having a physical game entry!

stvr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:28am

Great concept! Maybe a video of play could have sold the idea better?

code-11 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:31am

We'll submit a gameplay video soon.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:48am

I'm so excited to play this with someone!

lilinx says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:56am

very interesting!

ComaToes says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:10am

Instructions unclear. Actor got stuck in ceiling fan.

MrTedders says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:25am

Verrryyy interesting. Didn't expect to see a physical game on here. Well done, definitely going to try this out

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:57am

First physical game I've seen on here and it looks pretty fun. Nice work with thinking outside the box.

code-11 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:04am

Okay, we added a demo video! Enjoy

Pitoum says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:06am

Yes! Nice to see a physical game here :) seems pretty cool to me. Will try that at work today!

lekochen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:26am

Interesting concept!

Michcioperz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:09am

Pretty interesting idea, however I don't know how to rate Graphics :D

fued says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:23am

great fit to the theme, doesnt feel like much thought behind it tho..

cappelnord says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:52am

Haven't played it, but it looks like a great extension to chinese whispers. It's also probably a great team building exercise. From what I saw in the demo video, the Actor should probably also have a blindfold, so that he can't see the drawing.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:55am

This is god damn brilliant.

code-11 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:58pm

Michxioperz, there is no need to rate the graphics. Simply leave it as "NA".

fued: there was actually a great deal of thought behind it. We decided to do a physical game because it gave us much more time to play test and think of concepts, and didn't force us to spend hours coding. We went through many iterations of the game during play testing to eventually arrive at this version. In one of the earlier veraions, the point of the game was to control a blindfolded person by voice, and have them walk around the room and do some action that was communicated down the chain through charades. It ended up not having as much interaction, because once the orator understood the pantomimes, there wasn't much work to do. In this version, the ghost is forced to draw something bit-by-bit on the person in front of them (it's hard to feel a complex drawing on your back), which naturally divides the communication into small chunks in which everyone has a role.

Cappelnord: we intentionally let the actor see the drawing so the team could work to revise incorrect drawings. If a drawing ends up not being what the actor is trying to pantomime, we've noticed playtester actors often shake their heads frantically, trying to indicate to the orator that something has gone wrong. Now the actor is faced with the job of explaining what has gone wrong to the orator using only gestures. It would be interesting to try a version where no one could see the drawing, but it would mean that there is no feedback loop (ie, communication would be one-directional, just like telephone). Since the game only has 4 links in the chain, it would be a very quick game without that feedback loop.

Speaking of feedback, thanks for the great comments everyone! It sounds like many of the people who've had a chance to play it have enjoyed themselves. Let us know if you have any other rule-change suggestions.

goerp says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:21pm

hard to rate for something like this I think, but a VERY original thought.
Maybe I can try it at Christmas.

code-11 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:22pm

For anyone having trouble rating us: leave Audio and Graphics as NA (Not Applicable). Mood may be NA as well, depending on how you interpret it.

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Ok I realy other way then normal but I love this ^^ Will try it on my birthday party! I Love such games! It's raining stars for you guys!

aviktorov says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:50pm

Nice concept! Very innovative, I like it. :)

hadesfury says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:03pm

Great concept ... really different

iiechapman says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:19pm

I love the idea ! This will make a great party game. I could easily see this in stores as a boxed product, with cards and rules. You've got something really cool here!
BTW: I updated my game to fix the game mechanics, your review helped me realize how important those mechanics were! Try it out if you get the chance!

OneDee says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:22pm

Very cool idea, will give a shot at the next party

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]