December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beachwood City

by Hypermagical - Jam Entry

Beachwood City is:
* An RPG with characters and battles and jumping and everything!
* A little like Crackdown
* Stars a magical girl named Annie
* Annie can only have one sidekick at a time

Controls are WASD to move, mouse to look around, and space to jump. If the mouse isn't staying inside the window, try pressing ~.

Made in Unity.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#226Humor(Jam)2.50
#249Overall(Jam)3.13
#251Graphics(Jam)3.26
#330Innovation(Jam)2.68
#377Fun(Jam)2.57
#440Mood(Jam)2.35
#490Theme(Jam)2.05
#1141Coolness45%

Comments

Bloated Hippo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:04pm

An RPG! Nice!

skysthelimit says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:52pm

I couldn't work out what to do. Still, it was nice running around your city. Quite a lot of effort has obviously been put into building it.

pjchardt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:39pm

City is nice and I like the twist on defeating enemies. Camera controls can definitely use some easing in and out. Nice work.

Mase says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:28am

Good. Really nice environment. The story/gameplay was pretty basic but at least it was complete. I liked jumping around. . . would've been nice to climb or fly.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:05am

Maybe the only RPG I've played where your feet aren't glued to the ground :P

Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:05pm

Very cool. The camera was way to sensitive though!

Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:58pm

Nice work ! =) should work on camera and sound ;)

drkrunk says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:56pm

This was neat, the character's animations were really smooth. Job well done.

Jgpicatoste says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:03pm

It's an amazing effort for 72 hours. The city felt alive even without NPCs running around. If you expand this, it could become great.

occash says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 8:09pm

Good job, but it was so hard to control camera...

Jan 4, 2014 @ 4:27am

Nice job! I included this game in my Ludum Dare 28 compilation video, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/UY85Y9qNh3Q

loxo says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 3:46pm

I like the graphics, the animation and the fight system. Sadly there is no sound and the game is a bit short. It would be nice to see when you have picked something up. Because I was in the science building but didn't get the needed part the first time. I realized this only when I were back at the garage and received the same quest again to go to the science building. And maybe some signs to let the player know which building is in front of them, at first I thought the science building is some kind of power plant. Nonetheless it's a great start and with some work this game could be really good.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]