December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

A.D. 2101

by d2king10 - Jam Entry

Battle waves of aliens to see how long you can survive. After each wave, players must choose between Health or Ammo in the ordinance canisters.

You Only Get One Theme: Players are given a choice after each wave and they may only select ONE ordinance canister. This causes the player to decide if they need more ammo or health to continue.

Controls:
Left/Right: Move
Up: Jump/Wall Jump
Z: Shoot/Open Canisters/Activate
X: Grenade
C: Roll
Esc: Exit Game

Created by Yeti Trunk in 48 hours for Ludum Dare 28, creators of Wanderlust: Rebirth.
www.yetitrunk.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#23Graphics(Jam)4.44
#109Audio(Jam)3.40
#221Overall(Jam)3.18
#257Fun(Jam)2.89
#436Innovation(Jam)2.35
#1456Coolness30%

Comments

Education says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:37am

War was beginning!!!

Jump, dodge, and fight to survive!

Worth!

lightsoda says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:15am

Nice graphics, controls well. Not sure how it fits the theme. Nice work.

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:43pm

Fan of the graphics :) Well played !

Hyoga-3D says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:23pm

The art is so awesome, congrats :D

cwkx says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:32pm

Stunning pixel art. I'd prefer nearest-neighbor rather than bilinear for pixel art, very retro-audio that I liked. Maybe next time get a more solid platforming base, but I appreciate how hard this is. Great work!

milugames says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:36pm

A very nice platformer.

The artwork and overall mood are absolutely awesome. Great job!
Some of the controls feel a bit iffy though. Jumping especially- when underneath a platform I saw variable jumping heights when I was not doing anything obviously different each time. So at some times I reached the next platform other times I didnt. As far as I know I held the jump keys exactly as long each time. This felt pretty weird.

Also one enemy spawned inside the ground (or a wall or whatever you would call it)

Other than those control issues and that small spawn bug it was absolutely great. Good job.

Kayelgee says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Graphics are nice. Reminds me of another world for some reason. Controls are a little glitchy. Sometime I can jump higher. Wall jump feels awkward.
I thought that shooting doesn't do anything as you didn't make any hit response.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:06pm

Nice art, machine gun hits don't have the feeling but it still good gameplay. Can't make it in my mind to fit the theme, though. Well done in short time.

Xeke_Death says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:02pm

I had issues with the controls not responding, had to press jump several times before he jumped.
And I only ever saw grenade ordinance canisters, not sure how I was supposed to choose other types.

But, graphics are awesome, and sounds great...!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:51pm

Nice game! Stunning art and mood! Congrats!
However, the shooting is a bit crippled and does not feel so good. And I don't see the theme here?

Dec 25, 2013 @ 12:15am

Nice game, awesome graphics! I included this game in my Ludum Dare 28 compilation video series if you'd like to check it out! http://youtu.be/CxUIxKQApqc

lowcade says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 2:21pm

Awesome graphics! Congratulations for the result.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]