December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Blind Ball

by leuhfahn - Jam Entry

In this game you catch a ball, then you have only one throw to shoot it to the "out zone". But when you have the ball you can't see anything! I made this game in 5 hours.
(I made this summary at 3a.m and english is not my mother tongue!)

Move with Z,Q,S,D of the arrow keys and click to throw/catch the ball. Be Careful you have only one shot!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#437Humor(Jam)1.59
#443Theme(Jam)2.24
#483Audio(Jam)1.00
#509Mood(Jam)1.38
#527Innovation(Jam)1.95
#539Graphics(Jam)1.54
#543Fun(Jam)1.58
#545Overall(Jam)1.87

Comments

@TeddyNashor says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:51am

hmm how do you throw/catch the ball? When I spawn next to the ball I am not sure what to do. kinda crazy you made something in only 5 hours though.

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:52am

Cool idea but the controls a bit buggy. For 5 hours this is nice.

leuhfahn says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:55am

click to throw/catch the ball.

TheColorMan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:03am

Pretty cool! For some reason I could only move left and couldn't pick up or throw the ball so I spent quiet some time trying to roll it into the goal with no sense of direction :P

LatFoued says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:20am

The movement is really odd can't control it very well and the game is pretty based on it. Nice work though.

Gamelabbers says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:38am

Haha, cool! I cannot believe i felt sooo proud to get the ball in the goal. Of course there are a lot of improvements to be made, sound, music, azerty/qwerty switch that also works on a mac, textures on ramps and a win screen. Still, playing this makes me feel like a tiny kid running around with a giant ball. nice! (daring use of comic sans!)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:37am

cant controll the ball....is it a bug?

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:01am

I wasn't able to switch the controls. The mouse movement was too sensitive and the instructions text should be completely visible to the player as soon as they enter.

Blooperly says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:03am

Strange controls... Interesting idea though. COuldnt figure out how to win.

mmickyman says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:16am

Ahah I didn't get all the fun of it, I guess I'm not a masochist :)

Nut says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:03pm

I beat the first level and then decided that was enough. This is really frustrating.

LordHellMaX says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:12pm

I didn't find much fun to it...

Dec 27, 2013 @ 12:21pm

Cool game! ^^

psc1997 says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 12:38pm

Controls is little strange... QZSD? Good for arrows :>
I have problems with "catch" ball... Even when I stop ball, I "lose" :c
Made this game in 5 hours? Crazy ;D
But... Interesting idea ;)

Jan 4, 2014 @ 3:05pm

Simple game, but well done. I included it in part 20 of my Ludum Dare 28 compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) youtu.be/O9M3TIYW4UU

Articulated says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 3:28pm

Overall this game needs a bit more work in order to be fun to play. I see what you were getting at, and with some refinement this could turn into a decent concept, but without the polish it makes the game frustrating to play.

Still though, a decent idea! :D

joppiesaus says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 5:09pm

The only thing that your game does is trolling me... in a good way.

Jan 7, 2014 @ 1:36am

I couldn't get a hang of the controls? it felt like I was controlling the camera rather than the ball, which might've been the case.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]