December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Last Promise

by Team-KwaKwa - Jam Entry

"You only get one Hope."

The Last Promise is a 2D side-scroller story with some inspiration from masterpieces like Limbo, Closure or Dear Esther. Done by Team KwaKwa, composed of three artists in Lyon, France, and two programmers (one of whom musician) in Lausanne, Switzerland. It was our first jam, please enjoy the experience! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Mood(Jam)4.39
#6Audio(Jam)4.22
#10Graphics(Jam)4.63
#74Overall(Jam)3.65
#160Theme(Jam)3.13
#269Innovation(Jam)2.83
#497Fun(Jam)2.04
#1041Coolness47%

Comments

YellowLime says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:30pm

The skylines and backgrounds are very good, and the animation is okay but could be a bit better (especially walking)

As should be expected of having 3 artists on board, the graphics are gorgeous, setting a very nice mood.

Donutttt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:31pm

Very good, loved the audio and the graphics.

whiteknife says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Story was intriguing and DAMN those graphics! Not to mention the mood, the way the text was displayed...it's amazing! Sure, all you do is walk, but when everything is like THAT it's all you need to do. Excellent!

pighead10 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Impressive graphics and atmosphere!

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:51pm

Excellent graphics/audio/mood!

CaptainNakou says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:13pm

Just wow. The atmosphere, too many feelings...

Pixelbear says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:53am

Atmospheric is the word that springs to mind, and the graphics were astounding! Honestly I didn't care too much for the story as it was going quite slow, but the overall mood that it provided made for a better experience. :)

metkis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:23am

Really interesting! I think it was a tad slow, but the game looks amazing, has an interesting narrative, and solid audio. Great job!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:13pm

amazing! its different, its awesome! great job!

Hypnohustla says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:13pm

A truly beautiful game. Atmospheric and pleasing to the eye. :) The walk speed was a bit too slow for me, I'm guessing it was lag because the man did walk a bit faster at some points. But still a really great experience. :)

sadiquo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:03pm

Very immersive game, but maybe a little too much slow...

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:05pm

It's a grate experience. I really like the mood and the graphics. But I felt it could do with more interaction.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:03pm

Really awesome atmosphere! Loved every second of it.

tchem says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:21pm

Beautiful atmospheric game man!!!,,, nice work with graphics and sounddesign

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:18pm

Love the background and the "all-black" design. Well played !

tobbez says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:20pm

Like the grapihcs and the sound. A bit short and it would have been nice with some puzzles or some choice.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:25pm

The mood... Oh man, this atmosphere was great -- But I was really close to quitting with how long it was taking, though I understand why you did that. Nice game.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:26pm

Great game, looked a little laggy though...

Coblynau says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Amazing artwork for a weekends work. Love the mood and music.
The text confused me a little at the start - I thought it was an intro and wasn't sure if I could skip it, but then I began walking.

miwuc says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:50am

The screenshots look stunning! I really wish I could play, but I don't have any windows machine :(

glovecat says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:08pm

Love the atmosphere and the story. Good job :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]