December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Douchebag

by raisedmedia - Jam Entry

Is He the One ?

Spot the Douchebag - or - Risk Going home with him.

Everyone needs a little help navigating the shark invested waters of a local meat market.
You will need to put your "Douche-Dar" on high alert - Here they come.

Sharpen your skills as you put the boots to the less desirables looking to impress you with their moves.

Get ready to test your douchebag finding skills or suffer a lifetime of Valentines dinner at Wendy's.

Battle stations!

Press 'c' or 'v' to punch!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#29Humor(Jam)3.78
#82Audio(Jam)3.54
#253Innovation(Jam)2.89
#257Fun(Jam)2.89
#295Mood(Jam)2.83
#328Graphics(Jam)3.00
#410Overall(Jam)2.74
#527Theme(Jam)1.81

Comments

2kah says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:32pm

I think there's a bug with starting a new game after you've already played one. It counts down to 0 and just stays there.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:42pm

I enjoyed this. Possibly more than I should have done. Good effort.

Masadow says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:43pm

Yay, my "Douche-Dar" is excellent ! Ahah. Simple game, but made me laugh :)

Zemmi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:43pm

Haha that was hilarious. Wish I could alternate fists left, right, x, c, and smack 'em super speed. Calm that douche storm with my fist storm. Oh no, perhaps I'm developing an ultimate fighting obsession.

Eric says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:49pm

I thought it was ok. the graphics were fine but the game play well... not my cup of tea.

Kayelgee says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:29am

I like the background music. Is this game supposed to be social critizing or why are 90% of the guys douches?

carlsommer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:00am

This is hilarious! I'm assuming you wrote the song. All of the audio was fantastic! The connection to the theme seemed a bit lacking (since there were WAY more than one douchebags) In any case though, I loved this!

oldmanbiles says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:32am

I think you have a number one single on your hands! My favourite part was when I discovered I could double punch the d-bags.

MaTX says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:54pm

I found it quite funny :D

The graphics of the guys especially were great!

MaTX says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:43pm

Not bad, but too plain and simple.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:10pm

It's almost like box :D

Yngar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:12pm

First place for music, hands down.

BradleySmith says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:19pm

Ahaha, this awesome love the take on the theme and humor in this. Good work! :)

occash says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:20pm

Good image of hands,but not for guys.

ALobker says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:40pm

I just punched everyone. Hey, it's a punching game. :)

whiteknife says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:00pm

Funny stuff.

glovecat says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:51pm

Good sense of humor and song!. Punch punch punch. Everybody deserves a punch.

Aaants says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:52pm

I'm a useless douche-detector it seems.

Really liked the visuals and sound effects though!

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:53pm

Okay, I have to admit I found this funny, props for the song in particular. Not much of a game though.

Nelien says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:55pm

Surprisingly addictive, and fun to beat up douchebag after douchebag. Still apparently I'm terrible at spotting 'em :P

somepx says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:01pm

Aaaarrr... eerr... weird and unexpected! A must try!!!

drkrunk says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:25am

That was funny and entertaining. Is everyone a douche? I just slammed everyone and it kept telling me that everyone was "extra-douchey." Great job!!

raisedmedia says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:28pm

We have some balance issues to work out, but not everyone is supposed to be a douche. Also, as you progress, you get more drunk.. your blinks get slower (giving you less time to identify the douches). We wanted to blur the characters and alter their audio, but alas the free version of unity doesn't allow it. We'll keep the original LD entry the same, and update the game at the root URL soon.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:03pm

If I ever have to handle a big amount of agression then i will play this funny game again... but it would be better with a little bit more challenging elements :D Funny!

Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:02pm

I had a difficult time telling the douche/non-douche's apart. Some of the guys I beat up were then labeled as "nice guys," but then some of the guys who were polite/non-douchey were apparently douches. A little differentiation would be nice, but overall, great work.

Jedi says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 3:29pm

It's hilarious! I could never really tell what made the nice guys different from any of the other douches, though.

I especially liked the audio.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]