December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Bermuda

by Scifer - Jam Entry

^
Play it on Kongregate.com No downloads necessary!

Made in 48 hours for the Ludum Dare Compo, based on the theme 'You only get one'. We decided to make a puzzle thriller where you have to deduce an assassin from a selection of aircraft passengers. But make sure you hurry, the ground is rushing up to meet you!

Will update and edit this description a bit more later as our glorious leader is having internet problems and I had to upload our game from work. :D

Code by Dan Hayes
Music by Jack Odell
Art by Andy Etter & Daniel Francis

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#31Graphics(Jam)4.38
#32Audio(Jam)3.84
#62Theme(Jam)3.56
#63Mood(Jam)3.60
#142Overall(Jam)3.39
#184Innovation(Jam)3.10
#205Humor(Jam)2.58
#349Fun(Jam)2.66

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:58pm

Great...nice...The story is awesome... Congrats!

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:24pm

Great music & graphics. Love the concept, though a little skipping would be cool, at least for the initial text establishing the plot. If the second attempt cut straight to the plane - it'd add to replayability value. As it is it's tough to sit through the text again.

Scifer says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Cheers guys! Particularly glad you like the graphics ;) I agree with you about the 'Skip' button. Although I'm afraid our coder will be afk for the next day or so, so we wont be able to add any more content. Definitely worth noting for our next game though ^^

Jeremias says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:05pm

The graphics are really awesome and the music gives a nice touch, but the way the interface works could be better (skipping texts, selecting/deselecting a single person). Sadly, far too short :)

feizenbara says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:19pm

Very good looking and nice audio, but come on, but the start is sooooo slow once you retry.

Kayelgee says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:04pm

As others already said nice graphics and audio but a skip button would really be appreciated :)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Nice art. interesting concept.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Nicely done, love the graphics! Things got a little confusing for me though as I managed to select another character while one was already selected so that text started overlapping. Other than that, I liked it.

ACE says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:02pm

one word to describe the game... amazing

Toureiro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:19pm

Really solid entry! Congrats

Zerkruemler says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:20pm

Interesting idea. I would play it more often if it is possible to skip the 'intro'.
Keep on good work

Toureiro says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:20pm

Really solid entry! Congrats

Before Light says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:24pm

So many great aspect of this game: graphics, audio, story. Great job!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:36pm

good graphics and interesting setting, but you could have expanded on it a bit more. and there's really no way to tell which one's the culprit.

pele says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Beautiful Graphics. Very good sound!
The Mood is also very good. Did not like it that you have to go through the whole intro every time you want to replay.
Relates to the theme very well.

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:08pm

I really enjoyed this game :) Graphics are really smooth, and really cool. And so is the music. Very well played. I'll play that one again, and share to my friends :)

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:15pm

Mention "Web", not "Windows" for where to play the game. I didn't think I could play the game on my mac.

zeal says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:18pm

It sucked me in right from the beginning. Very good atmosphere and entertaining plot. Would love to play this as a point and click adventure with longer gameplay!

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Mention "Web", not "Windows" for the link to the game. I didn't think I could play the game on my mac. Usually, if I don't see MAC or WEB, I just skip the game, but by chance I saw your comment.

Oh, and very nice game. The story got me hooked.

Scifer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:49pm

There we go. Fixed it :3

StMatn says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:49pm

Awesome graphics and sound!
The story was really cool, though I didn't get how to figure out the culprit.
The mood was realy nice!
Thumbs up!

ricklesauceur says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Excellent, nice, i am jealous of your pixel art skills. Sadly, when i try it, the text was bugged, and cards overlap between each others.

GarethIW says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:38am

Great artwork and music. Like others, I wasn't sure if there was a way to figure out the culprit. That said, I'm not usually any good at these Clue-type games ;)

X-0r says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:35am

When I tried playing the game, the menu seemed to be bugged... The text of the previously selected NPC didn't go away, making it impossible to read any other description =/
The intro should be skippable, it's great to look at it once (amazing graphics, especially when the plane goes down. Perfect use of particle systems!), but when retrying the game, I'd rather jump straight into action.

Ras Lyon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:37am

Very cool! Great music, graphics, and mood. I wish I could speed up or skip the intro. If you choose the wrong person, it should just let you choose someone else right away. Also, because the way it was worded, I thought I was choosing who would live. So I was surprised! It'd also be nice to see them die...right?

DavidErosa says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:40am

A nice interpretation of the theme. A pity there's no skip option, as retrying the game is veeery slow :(

fullmontis says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:42am

I lov the graphics and audio, really outstanding, however there are a few things that I found annoying. First time around, I didn't notice there was a time limit when you have to choose the culpript, so I waited too long and had to watch the whole intro scene again without a chance to skip it. And I don't think that a time limit works well for a game of this kind. Also, I'm not really sure if there are enough clues to understand who the culpript is without some trial and error. Aside from this, I really enjoyed the game and atmosphere it created.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:42am

nice story :) cool gfx and music. i like idea but i prefer games with more player interaction. but still great job!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:45am

Awesome music and graphics! Good work.

Cory Martin says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:15am

Interesting game. I couldn't make such a decision in real life with such little information.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:07am

Looks simple amazing!

Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Excellent style! The presentation is top-notch, though it was difficult to grasp the underlying meaning behind the choice.
Only after a while I realized that we are killing the younger version of the killer! Very smart but more clues or more stages of deduction would help the game I think.
Awesome work!

taocayo says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:23am

The graphics and audio are excellent. Together they create a great atmosphere that fits a game of this type very well.

It seems the gameplay is a bit reliant on trial-an-error since there isn't enough information available to make a good decision. Maybe I'm missing a vital clue.

It left me craving for more! great work!

Jan 4, 2014 @ 4:25am

Really awesome graphics, nice game! I included this game in my Ludum Dare 28 compilation video, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/UY85Y9qNh3Q

loxo says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 6:01pm

Great graphics, audio and an interesting idea. Sadly if the short game is solved, there is no value in replaying it. So I would like to see different possible endings, more and more useful hints and more time to decide.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]