December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

HotPotatoHorde

by ludotrix - Jam Entry

Local co-op mayhem with endless waves of infernal enemies. Team up, count down and get ready for the multiplayer action. But, as the theme suggests, you only get one! Strong team, different skills, colorful playing styles and versatile tactics - but only one gun. With only one shot. Yeah. You only get one. Each. At the time.

Master the timing, evade the horde, blast 'em to pieces and remember to toss the gun to the next guy. It's like a hot potato with once-in-a-round blasting power. Blast modifiers add to the devastation and horde spawners keep you busy. Dynamic levels challenge your gun-juggling skills to the point of mental breakdown.

IMPORTANT:
----------
- Download URL is a direct link to playable Unity web player version (browser plugin needed)
- 2-4 players on a same PC
- Individual player controls shown on menu screen
- Fire buttons are: SPACE/ENTER/Mouse1 (all buttons control the one and only gun!)
- You can change the control scheme from absolute (direction move) to relative (turning + forward/backward)

Enjoy!

After-Jam update: Fixed occasional bad lag and inverted gamepad y-axis.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#51Graphics(Jam)4.28
#188Overall(Jam)3.26
#214Mood(Jam)3.03
#234Innovation(Jam)2.95
#273Audio(Jam)2.84
#275Fun(Jam)2.82
#333Theme(Jam)2.58
#374Humor(Jam)1.95

Comments

Oye Beto says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:53am

Great visuals! I love how you worked with simple shapes but gave them life with the illumination, particles, bloom and other effects.

I'd like to see a one player mode where each life alternates a different weapon. I played it with 2 characters at the same time (which was pretty cool too).
Also, electronic/futuristic up tempo music would fit good.

GarethIW says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:18am

Lovely graphics, would make for a good geowars type shooter if it weren't for the theme limitation!

metkis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:37am

Really polished entry with some very fitting visuals and sound effects. Great work!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:58pm

Wow great visual indeed ! Really nice graphics. Amazing job !

Cheshyr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:36pm

very pretty... couldn't evaluate it well playing solo, but an interesting idea.

Venks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:39pm

Absolutely amazing graphics and I love that the game is multiplayer. I don't quite get how to control my weapon, but I did avoid everything for a few waves. Cool stuff.

OddballDave says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:48pm

Nice game. As others have said the graphics are great. I'm not sure the one gun mechanic added anything to the concept other than tying it into the theme though.

stromchin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:10pm

your graphics are better than mine :(

Diptoman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:36am

Amazing visuals! Was loads of fun. Shooters are always fun :D
The changing battlefield was cool. And the theme implementation was remarkable, sharing one gun among all players.
I'd love to see a one player mode for this, with an AI companion or something.

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:23pm

Whoa! This game is sooo polished! :) I was about to say TOO polished for a 48hours game... then I realised it was from the Jam hehe! :)

Anyway, it reminds me of Android Cactus! :D

Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:13pm

Very hard to play alone :pPpP. I liked the graphics and lighting alot!

Jgpicatoste says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:40pm

Very polished, very cool.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:58pm

Production values are fantastic, but a little difficult to judge without even a basic AI solo player.

occash says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:22pm

Great graphics! Thanks for good moood!

huhwhozat says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Graphics are very pretty but it's hard to identify what is what; more contrast would be helpful, as would a help screen or tutorial or something. I couldn't identify powerups at all. We got multishot sometimes but had no idea how. I'm not sure what it means when the players are white vs their original colors either. The amount of enemies spawning was a bit crazy, perhaps enemies should be destroyed after each wave too. Audio was sufficient.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]