December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Zambles

by WeGuys - Jam Entry

*KNOWN BUG*
-Wave Number doesn't reset on game-over. (will fix as soon as possible)

You only have one medpack total in this game. Use it wisely!
Try to survive the waves of Zambles.
Get the highest amount of points as you can without dying.

Controls:
Q - Use medpack
WASD(ZQSD) - Move
LShift - Sprint
LClick - Shoot
RClick - ADS (not very useful)
R - Reload
MouseUp/Down - Change Weapon

Team Members:
Mitch - Code, Models, Animation
NotExplosive - Code, Models
HiTryx - Code, Ideas
Danny - Sounds, Art
ShadowFire3800 - Code

This game was made using CraftStudio.

IMPORTANT! READ BEFORE DOWNLOADING! You will need XNA 4.0 (Windows), or Mono (Mac/Linux) to run this game.

Also, be sure to share your score in the comments!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#189Fun(Jam)3.10
#214Humor(Jam)2.56
#295Mood(Jam)2.83
#295Overall(Jam)3.05
#356Graphics(Jam)2.90
#360Theme(Jam)2.48
#369Audio(Jam)2.47
#428Innovation(Jam)2.38
#998Coolness48%

Comments

Venks says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:45am

I won't lie this isn't the first Minecraft/Zombie game I've played, but none the less its solid stuff.

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:50am

The head bob mechanic gave me motion sickness, and it was very hard to tell what counted as a legitimate hit because they only die on the 2nd hit. The Aesthetic was nice and very consistent.

dremelofdeath says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:55am

I couldn't figure out how to get/use the gun. The zombies' faces were a little terrifying, haha.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:58am

Nice work ! Really great game I love it. You should have more comments you totally deserve it !

Berzee says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:58am

Impressively fully-functional!

I was thinking at one point that I was getting tired of kiting zombies, and then I turned around and there was a terrifying face in my face...so that was successful. :D

Random suggestion: better indication of when you manage to score a hit (zombie "ouch" noises, some kind of blood-splatter sprite, etc).

TaleLore says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:00am

Pretty fun, although I avoided the bridge when I realized you were immortal up there.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:06am

Pretty good. I killed the beebs, which is really what counts in the end. I couldn't figure out how to change to the gun, so I had to stab all the zombies in their block faces. Also you can use the medpack before you taken any damage, so be careful.

flatgub says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:21am

Either i was doing something wrong, or the zambles take way to many hits, I'm pretty sure i shot one like, 11 times before he eventually collapsed after i stabbed him. Also the gun shot sound was way too harsh.
-Flatgub

Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:34pm

good concept and i get some fun when i play, gj :D

MrBlade says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:54pm

Head bob is too much for this game, reminds me of Guncraft and L4D2 had a weird baby. I get pretty bad performance issues, but I think it's my end as nobody else is complaining about it. I agree with other people that there needs to be an 'ouch' sound for when you hit zambies. Some of the sounds a bit much for me. (too harsh.) Pretty good work!

louis.denizet says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:40am

Haha nice, where did you got the idea ? :p

TheWhiteLlama says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:07am

Damnit, it won't start on windows! To bad, this looks such promising!

WeGuys says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:51pm

@TheWhiteLama That's odd. This game was mainly developed on Windows (one of our team members was on Mac). Remember to install XNA 4.0!
-ShadowFire3800

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:01am

Scored 380! A solid entry, but why in the world couldn't I kill Bieber?

Articulated says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 3:21pm

OMG THE BEEBS

This was a fun game, impressive 3D environment for the time, solid mechanics. I would have loved some kind of health indicator above the zombies' heads, but I know that would have probably been too much to put in in the 48 hour period.

Overall, a solid game, but not so sure about how the theme fits in. Still fun though!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]