December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Lestac

by almightysuit - Jam Entry

UPDATE: we're making Lestac into a full game! You can preorder it on itch.io, more info is available on:

>>> http://amos.me/lestac <<<

Lestac is a bright and young man lost in a dull world. On his quest for a way out he will encounter several strange personages, which all crave for a special object (or two...). As a master of bargaining, Lestac will surely find a way to trade anything in exchange for some precious advice or items!

The game has an end - make sure to explore everything, there are hidden secrets all over the place!

============

Controls:

Arrows (left, right): movement
Down arrow: crouch
Space: jump
Down arrow + shift: pick up item
Shift: throw or use item

Choose and take each item strategically as you can only carry one at a time!

============

TROUBLESHOOTING - if you have problems with the game, please paste your app.log somewhere and link to it in the comments so we can see what goes wrong.

CHANGELOG:

- 1.0.0 Dec 17, initial LD72 release
- 1.0.1 Dec 17, crash fix on Windows/Mac where the game would keep too many files open
- 1.0.2 Dec 17, fix for disappearing items - they'll know warp from screen to screen even when not held by the player
- 1.0.3 Dec 18, more 'item disappear' fixes, along with
- 1.0.4 Dec 18, made it much easier to grab ledges

The changes above are minor, gameplay-breaking things that we've fixed - there's no new content, no new features, etc. - from the usual LD rules, that's fair game :)

============

Music, art, levels and code by Amos Wenger & Sylvain Wenger

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#5Audio(Jam)4.33
#8Mood(Jam)4.21
#28Overall(Jam)3.90
#31Graphics(Jam)4.38
#118Fun(Jam)3.31
#175Innovation(Jam)3.13
#194Theme(Jam)3.02
#258Humor(Jam)2.38

Comments

GravityScore says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:32am

Awesome looking game! Fun to play.

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:44am

The graphics and sound were amazing. And I love love love the edge-grab mechanic, so cool! It really adds that extra little "kick" to it :)

The building distances being different were a little confusing and it was kind of hard to tell which ones were which, but a fantastic entry! Definitely one of my favorites so far :)

Lianne Booton says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:46am

This is so beautiful, awesome work :)

Striwx says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:24am

I really love the musics overall !! (The mood was cool too) The gameplay was a little rigid

stvr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:58am

Created a white, large window and then instantly crashed. Win7 64-bit. The screenshots look pretty though!

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:58am

Loved it. Have to admit, I'm a sucker for exploration platformers and your game scratched that it. Excellent game, and I'm impressed with the amount of content.

afterisk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:11am

Excellent aesthetics and the environment was much bigger than I thought it would be!

almightysuit says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:11am

@stvr & others who have crashes - there's an "app.log" file created when the game runs, if you have problems, please send it to us! (pasting a link to a https://gist.github.com/ is fine!)

Mezzomatto says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:32am

Doesn't work for me. Glitches out early on. Nice music.

MrTedders says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:58am

wow that was a great platformer. I haven't played anything like this in a while. Great job on the art and sound by the way.

angelk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:04am

That's quite a large environment! I'm pretty amazed how much graphic and audio content you two were able to pull off.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:06am

This is beautiful. I don't know why I felt the compulsion to give all those lazy people what they want. It was maddening after going through the mushroom caves, though! I could either take a wheel or a football with me and I chose the wheel, and the first person I saw asked for the ball! :D Nice graphics, nice overall quality; but what is the connection to the theme? You only carry one item is it?

carrymove says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:07am

Atmospheric!

xgeovanni says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:13am

http://pastebin.com/zywjxxAn

Couldn't get the game to run properly on Ubuntu. It started, but I couldn't get anything to happen.

Mr.Cassels says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:14am

I got stuck faily early on, but It seemed like a nice game.
I appreceate haveing a linux download, and am hanging on to the game to try again later.

code-11 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:16am

The game is so beautiful, and the music is awesome. The gameplay is great, and responsive. The only thing lacking is captivating level design, but that takes time, and user testing, so it's understandable that the game doesn't feel super complete in that regard.

Lissar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:20am

Lovely exploration game! (My favorite kind of game). The music felt a bit at odds with the rest of the game though. It was a bit too hectic when I think something more atmospheric would have worked better.

chabuduo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:33am

Amazing really enjoyed it. nice subtle finish. awesome music and atmosphere . earth's gravity out of 10 !

kewry says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:21pm

Amazing game dude!

ninjacharlie says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:37pm

Really great game. I liked the graphics, music, and how much polish the game had. The only issue I had was that the NPCs had colliders on them. I understand that the key guy needed it, but the other characters sometimes made the platforming a little awkward. Other than that, it was one of my favorite games I've played for this LD :D

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:42pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5IpgU9ZhKtA
My first impression on the game :3 unfortenetly it was lagging badly because of the streaming app (I tried again without the streaming and it was fine resting at 60fps all the time.)

Raphy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:17pm

Great music and mood, impressive amount of content, well done. Gameplay felt kindda repetitive though.

Dmitrix says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:37am

I do like the music. :)

bitserum says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:43am

Awesome game. Really nice soundtrack and visual style. My personal favorite so far.

grifdail says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:36am

Amazing work ! Favorite so far !

moop says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:58pm

Fun gameplay, consistent graphical style and nice music.

stvr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:58pm

Hope this helps!

http://pastebin.com/f1hP93Us

almightysuit says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:28am

Hey stvr - the game requires OpenGL 3.0 to runfor now - terribly sorry, some Intel Chipset graphics just won't work :( I don't have a graphics card old enough to try and add support for that - for now!

rogueNoodle says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:07am

Super impressive entry - really interested to see where you take this post-jam :) That soundtrack is incredible!

mcapraro says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:21am

really nice graphics. i lied the game play although the controls felt a little rough at time. i could see some dialog making this even more rich

Dir3kt says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:33pm

Best game I played so far mood-wise :)

Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:34pm

fantastic music and graphics! gameplay reminded me of knytt. fun, good controls, oh -- and edge-grabbing! overall good design, but some of the back-tracking became kind of frustrating. did i mention how good the soundtrack is?

one of the best games i've played so far.

ismyhc says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:00pm

Very cool! I love the mood this game brings as well as the graphics and art style. Curious what language/framework was used to build this?

lasergans says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:40pm

Awesome game, really feels polished. Looking forward for the post LD versions! :)

almightysuit says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:43am

@ismyhc all the info about the language/framework/tools used to build the game is available in the postmortem: http://amos.me/blog/2013/lestac-the-making-of/ !

ploogle says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:45am

Nice graphics! The audio was killer, too. I actually couldn't figure out what to do after the gun that knocks you back, but I could tell this is a quality engine. The screenshots of later areas look promising.

ViliX says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:36pm

5/5 for great graphic design! :)

psychomonster says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:37am

Great unique style. Made me feel connected with the character. Music is awesome. I Love it!

AMSmirnov says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Music is awesome. Game have a very sad mood. Very depressing and hopeless world. Great work!

Dec 26, 2013 @ 10:44am

I really like music! Nice game.

01101101 says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 11:06am

Nice work! Lots of content, cool art style and really great soundtrack!

Gazok says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 7:25pm

Really nice graphics, music and atmosphere. The level design was very well thought out and expansive, given the time-limit. Unfortunately, "Fetch Quest Platformer #7" wasn't fun the first time.

Jan 2, 2014 @ 7:31pm

Its hard to make a good platformer, but this is definitely one of them! Very nice music too. Theres nothing I can really fault here this is a great entry 5 stars almighty great Jam

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]