December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Only One Earth

by DanielVF - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My wife had the flu. I had kids 4, 2, and 1. Somehow this game happened between cooking, shopping, cleaning, playing, and sweeping up broken ornaments off the floor.

Instructions
------------
Tower defense meets asteroids. Move constructed defense satellites into defensive position using your tug. Because asteroids break apart when hit, you'll need a multi layer defense.


Controls
--------
WASD = Move your ship
Hold Spacebar to pick up a satellite.
Release spacebar to drop it off into your current flight path


HTML5

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#299Innovation3.21
#694Theme2.53
#698Fun2.57
#713Graphics2.50
#772Humor1.47
#779Overall2.65
#807Audio1.13
#844Mood2.20

Comments

Kar says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:05pm

The game crushes when I collide with the grey square pressing spacebar.
The concept is fun, though

Rahazan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:06pm

Clicking spacebar on the moon seems to freeze the game.

cappelnord says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:08pm

Nice idea. I found it difficult to insert satellites into orbit, some kind of trajectory preview, or at least a tutorial, would have been nice. It also gets very confusing very quick and the physics act wonky sometimes.

loxo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:18pm

Sadly I had no luck running your game successfully. IE won't run the game at all. In Chrome the game stops, when I press space and in Firefox the controls seem to do nothing. I will try your game later on a different system again, because it looks interesting.

Idovoodoo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:21pm

Once you get the hang of it this is a really nice, clever game. Well done :)

DanielVF says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:31pm

I've fixed the bug with trying to carry a planet. ;)

Cappelnord, I'd love a trajectory preview too! I'll probably add one to my personal copy of the game.

xgeovanni says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:16pm

I know the movement is realistic, but it's pretty awkward.

Sebastian says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:28pm

So many people dead :/
Nice concept!

LatFoued says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:16pm

I think the game is cool, only thing is that im a bit of a color blind and i dont understand what's going on xD.

loxo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:06pm

The game is working now. It's an interesting game, really hard to control though. I like the simple graphics. Some sound effects would have been nice.
BTW: I think you missed to buy fuel in my game, to travel to the next planet.

Masadow says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:36pm

I did not understand everything, but still had some fun :)

Integershift says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:37am

The concept was awesome! But the spacebar made the moon freeze!

DanielVF says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:51am

Odd, that's been fixed for a while now.

Sean Noonan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:00am

Inventive take on Asteroids. Shame it's missing any audio feedback.

sanojian says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:39pm

Wow there are a crazy number of moving objects. Great job!

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:47pm

The game runs but it seems I can't do anything! :\
Would like to give it a proper try though!

DanielVF says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:21pm

Alan, are you using WASD to move your ship (the green square) around?

Fervir says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 6:29am

This game is really cool and fun to play.
Never played anything like this.
Very interesting, awesome job!

xrm0 says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 1:01pm

Nice

Jan 5, 2014 @ 7:19pm

It doesn't seem to work on my computer.

JaJ says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 8:33pm

It takes a while to get used to, but the idea is pretty clever.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]