December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Your Little Pony

by martys - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"Your Little Pony" is a very simple game - you get a pony and your only job is to keep it alive. I'm sure, you'll do the best you can, but sometimes the pony can be quite needy, so better prepare yourself for this challenge. Because if you do fail.. well, you'll see yourself. :)

This is my first Ludum Dare competition, so I'm really excited about this whole thing. Even though, this game might not be the most difficult or elaborate, I had so much fun making it and I hope that you'll enjoy playing it just as much.

BTW the pony graphics were created using a Pony Creator (available at: http://generalzoi.deviantart.com/art/Pony-Creator-Full-Version-254295904), which I consider to be a content generation tool (as peculiar as it is). I truly hope that it can be regarded as such cause I have no intention of abusing Compo rules. :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#52Humor3.73
#167Audio3.20
#284Graphics3.35
#524Fun2.83
#633Overall2.83
#650Mood2.55
#737Theme2.45
#873Innovation2.22
#998Coolness48%

Comments

Baknik says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:18am

Cute game. Loved the little song at the end :)

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:22am

2013-2013. Poor Pony! :p My question now is... if I'll play it in one month, will it say 2014-2014? :D

Jakub Koziol says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:22pm

Nooooo! My pony!
<clicks play again button>
<click click click click> ;)

TylerJones says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:27pm

Cute game but I couldn't hear any songs! I'm using FireFox.

skarab says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:35pm

;( so sad, I always wanted to have a little pony, then...

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:53pm

Shame on you to have done a game on MLP, hahaha ! But what a pleasure to make it die !
Joking, well played that's a good entry ;p

wbwelcomeback says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:54pm

This didn't work for me (Safari/Mac) I saw everything but the main area and the bars went down.

doitle says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:52pm

It got hectic... and I accidentally gave my pony diabetes... :( Then I got a snappy little song... This is a pretty fun entry. Well done. I also like how you establish the theme of only getting one pony... But you let us slide around that with enough clicking so people can check out the other endings.

Shigor says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:22pm

A bit boring at first, then too hectic button smash...

Moosefly says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:32pm

The graphics and ending song(s) more than make up for the simple gameplay. Well done, it made me smile.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]