December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Direction

by PaulRdi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A Puzzle game! You play a little drone and must get to the energy core!
However your energy supply is low which is why you can only make one move in each direction!

First time making a game with Game Maker^^

Have fun solving 9 levels :) And don't explode!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#221Theme3.39
#342Audio2.81
#356Innovation3.11
#389Fun3.00
#460Overall3.05
#908Graphics2.00
#1283Coolness40%

Comments

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:52am

I couldn't download the file, I got an error while saving the .exe file

PaulRdi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:12am

Huh, weird, I made an alternate download from Dropbox

Anheurystics says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:18am

Reading the description, it seems as if we have similar game mechanics. Interesting :)) What did you make this in?

gupta_shvm says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:18am

Interesting concept!

PaulRdi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:20am

I made it in Game Maker + a bit of Photoshop

stephan_h says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:21am

Download and play worked OK for me.

Nice puzzle gameplay.
Did take a while for me tackle the challenge at the beginning where you only have to move to the right out of screen. ;)

Toki Anholmes says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:24am

Hey nice main mechanics, and nice aditionnal mecanics too ! You should maybe accelerate the avatar's speed, so we will not have to wait so much time before making another movement. Also use the R button to directly restart the level.
Great work ;)

Mirroar says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:29am

"hit ESCAPE to rage quit" - It's not working D:

Anyway, interesting concept, this makes for a very nice puzzle game. The levels are well designed and tricky to beat. I wish the drone would move faster, though. It's a bit tiring to watch it trudge along when, especially when you make mistages and have to replay the beginning of a stage.

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:37am

Ow he alternative link is working! Great game! The power ups in the puzzles really are a nice additional factor. Nice work

majorcrampas says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:04pm

Good work buddy ;)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:32pm

Nice, thought fourth level is quite discouraging :)

louis.denizet says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:25am

good idea and realisation ^^

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:25pm

A bit of a twist to an old idea, nice to see there are multiple solutions to each level too. I've seen so many of these games that it felt pretty easy. The music was a bit annoying.

euske says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:53am

Quite enjoyed it. Some of the later levels were perhaps accidentally easy, but I liked the idea anyway. The music was nice too.

brogrammers says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:48pm

Nice nice nice nice. Got me hooked until the end. Nice even the little surprise in the ending : )

Atmospherium says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 3:51am

I liked this game a lot. It could use some polishing/balancing, but the basic puzzle design was brilliant. You took a few simple concepts and built some really challenging puzzles. I haven't beaten the game yet, but I will definitely give this another playthrough and keep going until I win. Great work.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]