December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

A Stone's Throw

by scoobyben - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Made with Python 3.2 and Pygame.
(I don't have much experience with making python scripts exectuable, so let me know if there are any issues. You should be able to run the executable on Windows as long as you have python installed)

The game is a fairly standard fare platformer, with one main difference - the player character is blind. You can use the sound of your surroundings to get around, and you have with you a stone which you can throw to help you map out the levels. You only get one stone, so if you lose it (down a pit, for example), that's it.

There are some enemies, who also make sound (so you can see roughly where they are), and they can be killed by hitting them with your stone.

(N.B. sound is represented by tiles lighting up on the screen. There is no audio in the game)

Levels are procedurally generated, with two playable modes - one with a set number of lives (which you can set in game), and another which is endless.


CONTROLS

a/d = move left/right
w = jump
left/right arrow keys = throw stone
q = quit to main menu
k = kill self

GOAL

On each level there is a key and an exit - you must first pick up the key (once you have it a key icon will appear in the top right), then find the exit.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#59Innovation3.79
#221Theme3.39
#438Mood2.85
#478Fun2.88
#482Humor2.27
#491Overall3.00
#838Graphics2.18

Comments

ossah says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Cool game mechanic with the sound! Controls were a bit fast for me but really enjoyed the mechanic. Has a lot of potential to be a great game if padded out more.

Donutttt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:35pm

A cool idea - but the field of vision makes it incredibly difficult. Maybe that's just me though. I had fun playing it regardless

Calciumtrice says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:20pm

Cool atmosphere, did a good job of capturing that feeling of scrambling about in the dark trying not to trip up.

severus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:22pm

I like the idea, but graphics is poor, especially menu buttons.

PEBKAC says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:30am

I did not enjoy playing this. Game mechanics seemed to work as designed, so it's probably just not my kinda game.

Alismuffin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:32am

This was an awesome idea, but I experienced some problems.
I found a door that said exit but I couldn't really go through it.
Other than that seemed to go fine! Great game design.

scoobyben says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:38am

@Alismuffin - I don't think I did a brilliant job of explaining how the levels work - you start in the middle , with a key on one side and an exit on the other - you need to pick up the key, then get to the exit. Sorry about the confusion!

Ditto says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:27pm

Pretty interesting, hitting enemies is hard, and it's kinda frustrating to miss and be forced to kill yourself because you can't get passed an enemy. Finding the key is very satisfying though!

bodsey says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:29pm

Really interesting idea. You should try and make a full game from that.

Capitals says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:29pm

It has some potential!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:33pm

Wow, very nice core mechanic. Loved the idea.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:38pm

Neat idea, it really needs some kind of effect or animation when you die though. Right now when you die you just get teleported right back to the middle which is a bit confusing seeing as you're blind.

Poupi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:39pm

The idea is pretty cool, but the controls are a bit hard to master

KeyMaster says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:15pm

Really nice idea and a good take on the theme. I think the controls could have used some work, and I also didn't think putting death pits in there was a fair choice. It basically screws you over even though it is not your fault. Otherwise great job!

d_0o_d says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:10pm

Cool game, interesting idea, but i had a low framerate...?

sam1373 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:19pm

Very good idea, but not very good execution.

scoobyben says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:41pm

@d_0o_d - I'm not sure what to recommend, pygame should be setting the frame rate at a constant 30fps, and it's been fine on all the machines I've tested it on

@sam1373 - fair enough, may I ask what I should've done differently to help me improve in the future?

scoobyben says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:43pm

@Doctor Brocolli - I agree, that's a feature I would've added but ended up running out of time.

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:11pm

Great concept and interesting mechanic. Maybe with better graphics the game would be amazing. Very fun and good job!

jadams says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Really enjoyed the core mechanic. Thought that the movement was a bit too quick and hard to handle.

I disagree with some of the comments that didn't like the pits, they added a needed element of danger that force you to take it slow (or take risks). Although losing the stone down a pit seemed excessively harsh and effectively resulted in death.

acp_ld says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:24am

interesting mechanics, good effort

I feel like the areas where you walked or threw the stone should be "remembered" and maybe even remembered across lives

also I didnt get any sound and this kind of game would be the perfect experiment with stereo sounds and simulated echos

finally for unforgiving platforming the controls should be tighter, for example having 1 jump per click rather than continuous jumping

Sylence says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:22pm

A great idea!

Kane says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:33pm

Promising idea, controls a bit unresponsive sometime, but the game was fun to play! nicely done!

Diptoman says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:53pm

Game controls are cool and simple. The increasing lives option was cool.. Innovative theme... Though I think the fps increased on my pc a bit. Also sound didn't work for my pc.

scoobyben says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:35pm

@Diptoman There was no sound (The "sound" of enemies and the stone is represented graphically). It's another thing I didn't have time to put in

GingerMess says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:25pm

A little weird, but interesting.

jomomomo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:41pm

Can't play windows games :-(

Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:48pm

Really great idea, and the mechanic was fairly well executed. Would have liked some sound to go with it.

peacegiverman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Awesome idea! There was a similar game in 3D on Kickstarter and I also wanted to make something like this.

I was confused by that flying creature. It's too fast and avoiding it feels more like luck than skill. Try to add some more polish next time: death animations/screen fades, audio, prettier menu,... such stuff.

Fenmar says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:31pm

I really like your game. If you want to have a look, I made a Let's Play with it :-) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=laFsCiGVj1M

Dec 24, 2013 @ 10:21pm

This game is really unique and cool! Too bad fraps wouldnt record it so I couldnt include it in my LD Compilation series...

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]