December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Imposter

by Korwegian - Jam Entry

My attempt at a real entry for Ludum Dare 28.



Figure out which one of them is your real wife by asking only one question. Most answers are correct. Get it wrong and the impostor will likely kill you; if not, you'll have to live with yourself.

Aim with arrow keys, shoot with space.



Still in development.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#60Theme(Jam)3.57
#161Humor(Jam)2.83
#309Mood(Jam)2.79
#319Innovation(Jam)2.71
#356Audio(Jam)2.53
#407Graphics(Jam)2.68
#462Fun(Jam)2.30
#474Overall(Jam)2.47

Comments

Korwegian says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 11:48pm

https://www.dropbox.com/s/g4mq5l1qr8e6mek/OnlyOne.zip Sourcecode

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:58am

interesting... xD
made me lol

@TeddyNashor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:36pm

heh, damn, I shot my wife

WojWorks says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:39pm

Interesting concept, but needs to be expanded beyond what there is right now. Maybe having events pan out before the questions are asked?

LatFoued says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:02pm

hhhhh, this was absolutly funny. Just was a bit confusing on how to aim. Nice work.

mamoniem says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:04pm

killed the wrong person ;( ;(

Korwegian says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Their positions are randomized as well as the questions. You need to hold down the keys for a second to aim.

joekinglake says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Nice little game, but it needs more substance. I think the concept is cool it just needs further development. I really like the graphics.

Zemmi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:15pm

The questions that had a subtle difference in the answer like: "5:03" being way too specific a time for a scheduled class to start or knowing where in the school they met rather than only which school, were cool. But a lot of the answers felt really random and I would just guess blindly, although it is funny that picking a question like "Which of you is real?" forces you to guess.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:32pm

Web didn't work for me cause it would scroll up and down the page though windows worked and it wasn't a bad game nice concept.

travislucia says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:15pm

Took forever to realize arrows were aim...

Static 64 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:19pm

It's interesting, and the graphics are good, but I wish you weren't just guessing for the answer.

psychopsam says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:57am

Nice work. Simple yet insidious at the same time.

ob6160 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:47pm

Hilarious :D

Gamelabbers says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:17pm

Cool, simple :) I like the way you have to ask your questions in a way that you think the answer will give away the imposter, also shooting in the middle when I don't know the answer is a pretty effective interrogation technique, right? :D

xgeovanni says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:18pm

The idea is good but the implementation leaves a lot to be desired. That said, the music is fitting and you did set the mood quite well. What's up with the start menu buttons though? On Linux at their really oddly positioned.

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:18pm

This is exactly how I would solve this situation in real life. One question. Bam. Live with the result.

Yup.

Haha!

LandoSystems says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:36pm

An interesting idea, but I feel that winning is somewhat random dumb luck. Perhaps if there were many clues, either in the room or in backstory, or each said something contradictory...

I like the art style - I felt like I was playing an old Sierra game. Playing multiple times (cheating perhaps?) the "plot/setup" screen was getting annoying, perhaps make it skippable? Thanks for the game!

Opifex Ludus says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:47pm

Excellent game

kalth.streil says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:14pm

For me it's been real frustrating :(

Maybe it's not working as intended, but shooting was really annoying, since my controls didn't work properly and 2 out of 3 times I shot the air, with them saying just 'What?' (shooting yourself would've been much cool btw XD)

So since I have no idea if this is how it should be, I won't rate you yet :(

Norgg says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Haha, I like the idea and how subtle the answers are. Sometimes it felt like the set of questions were all useless ones though and shooting in the middle to get new questions seemed like cheating when it says you only get one question.

Korwegian says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:57pm

Kalth, there's a little delay with the arrows, you have to hold them down for a second. Also, try aiming down :P

Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:14am

Really cool game, the winning music was awesome!

GreaseMonkey says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:47am

Hey, sorry about the lack of Linux testing, I volunteered myself for making music, did two WIPs, then got a migraine and couldn't continue.

The button text doesn't seem to be showing up. I could possibly help you get a bugfix working somehow.

anvoz says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:37pm

Really fun game. Nice sound.

I shot on the ground a few times. Then I knew how to aim and... killed the wrong person.

GarethIW says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:47pm

Cool idea, but as others have said it was a bit limited with the just one question.

dremelofdeath says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:52am

nice game you got here. I really dig how you did the theme was implemented and I really like the flavor text and dialog

van noctar says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:28pm

Good game!

Jeremias says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Aiming with arrows was not really clear. I shot multiple times into the middle :D

Xanjos says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:08am

Pretty interesting concept. The music matched the mood pretty well.

GreaseMonkey says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 3:01am

Hard drive went read-only on me, so I had to back it up and get a new hard drive. Decided to install FreeBSD. The Linux version doesn't work, but the Windows version does... except I get the same problem with there being absolutely no text in the push buttons.

GaTechGrad says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:30am

Seems like a good start. At first I tried to click on the imposter instead of using the arrow keys/spacebar.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]